We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Friendly, Quiet, and Affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robin's Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pembroke Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robin's Nest
Burlington, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Super Friendly, Quiet, and Affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

Did a last minute quick getaway to Bermuda in Mid-July. Found it hard to find last minute accommodations, but finally got a room at Robin's Nest.

Taxi ride from the airport cost about $35 (including tips etc). Robin's Nest is about a 15-20 minute walk north of Hamilton tucked away in a suburban neighborhood. We got a nice room (#2) on the top level of the "apartments" with a distant sea view and overlooking the pool. The room was quite spacious, clean, and well equipped. There is cable TV and free Wi-Fi access as well.

After we arrived and got settled in Renee offered to drive us down to the grocery store and bus station in Hamilton (we choose to use the bus system during our short stay and didn't rent scooters). This was a great help as I think initially it would have been difficult to find on foot (taxi costs approx $10 to central Hamilton from Robin's Nest).

If you choose to use the bus from Robin's Nest the bus stop is close and the bus system is great, except that route 4 (the loop that goes by Robin's Nest) ends at either 6pm or 615pm depending on the day. We didn't find it a big deal as we just did things in the area in the evening (such as Spanish Point and Admiralty Park which were a close walk down the road). Bus passes are they way to go as the the bus drivers are not supposed to accept cash, just tickets or passes. Bus is the most affordable way to travel and it can get you just about anywhere on the island and also includes the ferry service.

One night the owners family had a little get together and invited us down to for some food and socializing. We felt welcome and enjoyed our time listening and learning a bit about life in Bermuda (was definitely a high lite of our trip).

All in all if we do return to Bermuda some day we hope to stay at Robin's Nest again.

Thanks to Renee and her family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeisterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Wonderful stay here. My client booked this room for me. My client (he's a local) said he books all guests here. The room was great. Extremely clean, large, nice decor and the air conditioning was amazing. It came with a functional kichenette, and a safe. The owner was very helpful and very pleasant. Since I was on business and driven everywhere the location was not a concern. If I was here for a pleasure, it would be a little difficult getting to the tourist areas. The Hamilton waterfront is 2 miles away or a $12 cab ride, each way. Bermuda does have a great transit system though But if you want a beautiful quite spot the Robins Nest is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carletonbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

We have just returned from a seven night holiday with our two sons at Robin's Nest . We received a very warm welcome from Renee who was waiting for us on her driveway when we arrived by taxi. After dropping off our suitcases Renee offered to drive us to the local supermarket for groceries.
Robin's Nest is situated in a quiet residential area, but it is very hilly so not suitable for disabled people. It is a short walk to North Shore Road, which is convenient for the local bus. We had a one-bed cottage which was set away from the main pool and studio apartments. It was spotlessly clean and in the lovely Bermudian decor. There is a spacious kitchen/diner, lounge with twin beds at one end and seperate double bedroom. There is a small private garden with table, chairs where we ate our meals.

We bought bus passes for seven days which we used on all the bus routes and the ferries. Check the timetables as some buses finished after 6.00pm. All buses arrive and depart from Hamilton and the only thing to remember is buses stopping at pink stops go to Hamilton, and buses stopping at blue bus stops come from Hamilton. Ferries are a lovely way to travel and we used them regularly. Taxis were excellent when required, especially when travelling from and to the airport as suitcases are not allowed on the local buses. We didn't hire mopeds as the roads seemed very busy with traffic. We actually witnessed a moped accident where the young man was killed.

Hamilton is ten minutes by bus and thirty minutes if walking. Be very careful when walking as there are very few pavements and some of the roads can be scary.

Food, drink and eating out is very expensive. We found is slightly cheaper to eat out at lunchtime, then eat back at the cottage for breakfast and evening meal.

The locals are very friendly and helpful and will point out various places to see which are free. We enjoyed the Wednesday evening on Front Street where the street was closed to traffic after 7.00pm and the locals organised music, dancing, stalls, children's funfair.

The small local beach is at Admiralty House a short walk up North Shore Road, but there are plenty of much bigger beaches within walking distance of the bus stops.

Altogether we would certainly return to Robin's Nest.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuchtravelledEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

We just returned from a 6 day stay in Robins Nest. We booked our room directly from the owner. It is located in a residential neighborhood but is only a 5 minute scooter ride to Hamilton. The proximity to Hamilton is very convenient.

Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool with distant views of the ocean. The room was very spacious, everything was very clean. The apartments were recently built, so everything is very new! A small kitchen came in handy especially because eating out in Bermuda is very expensive.

We met Renee, the owner, and her son, and they were great. Very hospitable and helpful!

We had a great time, and will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank edap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Robins Nest from the 13th- 20th July 2008 and we had a brilliant time. We had a warm welcome off Renee as soon as we arrived (after our taxi getting lost and having to phone, she was waiting for us on the drive). We asked Renee where the nearest supermarket was, and when she realised we would be walking she said there’s no way we were walking and she’d take us there, and an hour later we were in her car (and it was only a 10-15 minute walk away).

Our apartment was lovely, most importantly it was clean, and really nice and spacious. There was plenty of storage space, with a well equipped kitchen and a lovely balcony with distant views of the sea. There’s a lovely pool, which very rarely had anybody in it, and the whole place just seemed friendly.

If you don’t mind a walk, then its within easy walking distance of Hamilton, it took us about 25 minutes. The only downside to the walk is there’s no pavements for most of the way, and it’s a narrow road which is reasonably busy (well, for Bermuda anyway!). We hired a scooter from Oleanders for the week (after a failed attempt for them to find Robins nest, even though they deliver there all the time, we picked one up from Hamilton) and it’s a great base to see the island.

We really loved Robins Nest, and it was at a good price, especially for how lovely it was. We’d definitely go back, and would recommend it to anybody wanting a relaxed, slightly off the beaten track, safe place to stay with lovely hosts who leave you to get on with your stay but are there if you need them for anything.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

I moved to Bermuda in June 2008 and stayed at Robins Nest for 2 weeks whilst I found a perminent place to live.

The apartments are modern, clean and come with a small kitchen area (microwave, fridge, oven).

There is a local store 5 minutes walk away, a great (but small) beach (Admiralty Point) 15 minutes walk away and Hamilton is a 30 minute walk away. The apartments also have ample scooter parking.

The area where Robins Nest is located is a little off the beaten track - it's a residential area and there are no other hotels in the vicinity. This means that most of the Islands main attractions will require you to take a taxi, bus or a scooter (ie you cannot walk to them). Whilst Hamilton is only a 30 minute walk, the heat and lack of pavements (sidewalks) mean it isn't an easy option...

If you're a business traveller/new resident on a budget or you're a tourist looking for a good value apartment and don't mind being "out of town" then I recommend Robins Nest.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank matbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

Robin's Nest is a really great place stay - we rented two units for our family in August . The rooms were very comfortable and clean, with excellent air conditioning! We mostly had the pool to ourselves, the gardens and the view were beautiful and the Robinsons were friendly, helpful folks!
It worked well for us to walk down to the bus each morning, bus around all day then catch a cab home at night. The proximity of Robin's Nest to Hamilton really helped!

  • Liked — How relaxing it was there
  • Disliked — The noisy frogs
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Waratah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke Parish
0.7 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
4.0 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robin's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robin's Nest

Property: Robin's Nest
Address: 10 Vale Close, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pembroke Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Robin`s Nest Hotel Pembroke
Robin's Nest Bermuda/Pembroke Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing