We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can leave your table...and walk right into the surf”

Mickey's Beach Bistro and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“You can leave your table...and walk right into the surf”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my 3rd time at this restaurant...but my 1st lunch experience. I was expecting something wonderful and was not disappointed.

Vasi, our server, was so terrific! He knew when to interject himself into the conversation (as in listening to us wonder how to get somewhere or do something) and then making himself scarce. The food wasn't killer but was above average. Location is divine -- each table's shade was provided by a large umbrella and the view was to DIE FOR!

Wish I was there right now!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GypsyAtLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    110
    40
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome location..but one waiter needs to take the snooty down a notch it's not Pretty Woman" afterall..”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

No qualms about the location, food or most of the staff.. but.. this. one. waiter.. really needs to take it down a notch..
We were not guests here. But we were snorkeling Elbow beach. While we were snorkeling, another staff (a very nice guy) came by us on the beach with menus from Mickeys and asked if wanted to order beach side? Since it was really windy and we were getting sand in our faces we asked if we could go to the restaurant (since we were not guests) and he said of course. So after cleaning up a bit in the nearby shower off. We entered Mickeys dressed just like many others who were at the beach. I think we cleaned up nicely sun-kissed and all, cover ups all that.
We ordered cocktails and the Sushi platter to start. (We had several "waiters/runners" so far so good..then the storm came up and we decided (after they had cleared our plates, silver) to stay and storm watch and we order another drink for me and another appetizer. I'd say we were up to about $100 spent in about an hour thus far on 2 cocktails, a beer and a d. coke and sushi platter (which good, was nothing more than California rolls, tuna rolls) I think 6 bites total and a platter of calamari) never mind, we don't care necessarily about the $ we are on vacation, enjoying the view and each other.
So after we ask to see the menu again we start to get the "vibe" from this guy like he's irritated? that we want to order more? It wasn't like we were the only people here ordering food. next thing, our food comes and he literally plops it down with a very snooty "enjoy" all the while knowing there are no plates, no silver nothing and runs off. So I catch him as he's "running away" with his snooty little Norwegian? accent ( I don't think he was Bermudian) and politely ask for utensil and small plates. Now I've been in Food and Beverage industry for some time. I get it. I worked in very upscale venues and waited on blah blah blah.. that doesn't excuse this behavior. We enjoyed ourselves nonetheless. Once again, price doesn't mean "class" a lesson he apparently has yet to learn.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waterbabywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy858
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fairy tale location”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This restaurant provides the tri-fecta of upscale cuisine, unbelievably beautiful views and great service. Going to Bermuda and skipping out on the opportunity to have a 5 star dinner at a table on the beach would be a sin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting on the sands”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Mickeys restaurants sits on the sands at the Elbow Beach Hotel, Bermuda. It is a perfect setting, under the shade, looking out to the beautiful turquoise sea. Although a bit pricey, the food was very nice. Had calamaris for starters and a very tasty, well presented chicken mango salad for mains. Other guests chose the burger, (acceptable, but nothing special) noticed large pizzas being served nearby.
Although the food is pretty average, the setting makes it more special. Service good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Issi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect beach restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved this restaurant. Come later in the evening and enjoy a beautiful sunset by the beach.
Food was great. Most delicious shrimp dish. Nice service. Atmosphere, food and beautiful setting add up to the perfect last meal on our vacation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickey's Beach Bistro and Bar also viewed

Paget Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Mickey's Beach Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing