We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another great visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grape Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grape Bay Cottages
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is our second visit to Grape Bay Cottage and it as good as last year.
Lovely Calvelette collected us from the airport, not forgetting her dad's rum swizzle, then Maria's welcome - it was great !
The cottage is just what we need, especially being next to a gorgeous beach.
Bermuda is small but beautiful, we've found new things to do each year.
Would come back every year if I could.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Den1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed in the Beach Home for a week in June. The Beach Home is a beautiful, pristine, spacious cottage with a simply breath taking view of the ocean and just steps away from a gorgeous private beach. The cottage is centrally located on the island but isolated enough so that the only thing you hear at night are the waves and the Bermuda equivalent of crickets. We loved it.

Maria and Doug are outstanding hosts. They patiently helped us through a problem of our own making before the trip. They arranged taxis to pick us up and drop us off at the airport. Our ride from the airport was from a delightfully nice woman, Cal, who took us to a grocery store along the way and gave us a delicious bottle of rum swizzle when we arrived. While were there, Maria and Doug frequently checked in on us and even stopped by a couple of time. Early one afternoon, we asked if they had snorkeling equipment; they dropped some of before night fall. They were very attentive and social and friendly in doing so. When we learned we left an important personal item behind, we called only to find out they already found it and were in the process of shipping it home to us.

There is a reason for all these glowing reviews. My fiancé and I go on a big vacation every year. We have been to great places but never been to the same place twice; there are so many places we have not yet seen. That being said, we already have plans to Bermuda's Grape Bay Cottages next year. It is just that good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed in BEACH CREST for 5 nights and had the most magical time. We are so glad we chose Grape Bay Cottages rather than a beach resort. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bermuda. The cottage really allows you to immerse yourself into the breathtaking surroundings in a more intimate way. Even though the 2 cottages are next to one another, the gorgeous landscaping provides for the perfect amount of seclusion. It was out own piece of heaven right here on earth.

Maria and Doug are very thoughtful and caring hosts. They truly want the best experience for their guests. The cottage was well appointed, and very clean, with everything you need for a comfortable stay. We picked up groceries on the way to the cottage from the airport and got everything we needed for the week. We barely left once we set eyes on the space and the waters right out front...

If you're travelling to Bermuda and are eager to stay in a more comfortable, private and serene setting, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcbnsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

read all the reviews and you will know that Grape Bay cottages are something special in Bermuda. As a Bermudian, I can tell you that this is as close to as you can get to experiencing true island life. this not a fancy resort surrounded by other vacationers, but an oasis for the mind.wake up and fall asleep to the sound of the surf, listen to the sparrows and kisskadee's sing, go for walks on your own private beach ( only local residences) watch parrot fish swim by your feet. We rented both cottages for family and friends...cooked fresh fish on the grill and relaxed..took our friends to all the "best" beaches, but they loved grape bay the best!! ask for Calvalette to taxi you to and from the airport, lovely person and her rum swizzles are excellent! Maria and Doug are wonderful people, We've been staying here for over 12 years book early!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Thank you Maria for a great two weeks in Beach Home. The villa was clean and tidy, plenty of towels and a very comfortable large bed overlooking that amazing beach. Indeed all mod cons. Thanks also for helping with our first big shop and all the tips about getting around the island and arranging out taxis to and from the airport. Our weather could have been better for February but it could also have been far worse! We shall miss our lively conversations, the odd drink or two and the friendliness of all those we encountered. Watch out for my paintings of the sea from the villa!

Room Tip: The bedroom overlooking the beach is perfect if you like to hear the surf when dozing off to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a special piece of paradise! Maria and Doug are perfect hosts. You feel like they're old friends who take good care of you - from the yummy rum cake to their advice on things to do in Bermuda. We felt at home in Beach Home. I'm so glad they make this perfect beach cottage available to those of us who don't have such a treasure in the family. It has everything you could ever need - from books and games to comfortable beds and a patio that has the most wonderful view and sounds of the ocean waves.
Cal, Calvin, and the other taxi drivers that Maria can connect you with were absolutely wonderful. They know and love their island - and share that knowledge with you. (As well as Calvin's terrific rum swizzle!) They made our early 50th anniversary visit so very memorable. We loved all their stories as they drove us from one end of the island to the other.
Bermuda is a special place with lots of history and intermingled cultures and food - and beauty beyond description. Bermuda, Beach Home, Maria and Doug, and Cal and her crew made our trip one of the best we've had.
I can recommend this place without reservation! I feel we experienced the real Bermuda - much more than if we'd spent the time in a hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ELIZABETH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you are looking for a tranquil vacation by the sea, look no further. These efficiency cottages are just steps from a pristine and very private beach. The beds are comfortable. The kitchen works. The patio on the upper cottage is a great place to grill a wahoo steak and enjoy your morning coffee. Maria is a great host. What's not to like?

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ijklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paget Parish
1.7 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grape Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Bay Cottages

Property: Grape Bay Cottages
Address: Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Paget, these two, two-bedroom beach cottages are a great escape for anyone looking to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Both have a fully equipped kitchen, TV and wireless internet. A 10-15 minute walk from main bus routes and grocery store or 10 minute taxi ride into the City of Hamilton. Each cottage sleeps 4 adults comfortably. Monthly winter rates available. We respect our guests privacy, therefore, viewing is by appointment only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grape Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grape Bay Cottages Hotel Paget
Grape Bay Cottages Bermuda/Paget Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing