We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very charming stay”
Review of Dawkin's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dawkin's Manor
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Paget Parish
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This was our third visit to Bermuda, staying at Dawkin's Manor once before. It was chosen because of the price, proximity to the market, bus, cycle rentals, and beach. I had also exchanged e-mails with the owner and found her to be friendly and someone of good character in my opinion.

On this second visit we were greeted by a friendly Celia Dawkins, who presented us with a boquet of flowers and a welcoming smile. She lives on the property and maintains a safe and secure environment for her guests. Her ways are simply Bermudian. She is not rushed and as with most Bermudians, will exchange pleasantries before attending to "business". If you are in a hurry, seeking a brisk come and go experience, this is not for you. If you want to stay with someone you could call a friend, this is the place.

The guest house sits on a parcel of land that is well kept with flowers and nicely trimmed vegitation. The front drive has a gate which is closed at night and we are expected to lock doors behind us in the evening, simple precautions we also take at home. The side yard is comfortable yet not spacious but it is well lit at night, offering good security. The pool is not large but it is adequate for a manor of this size. Tables, chairs and pool loungers were also available.

The suite was spacious and clean with basic housekeeping supplies. Paper towels, dish soap, coffee sweetners, salt and pepper were some of which you would not find in a typical rental. Yes, there were no coffee filters but we also have to bring them where we vacation in Mexico. No big deal. The beds were comfortable, with plenty of drawer and closet space in the bedrooms. The bathrooms were clean with no shortage of hot water and the linens were changed regularily.

We would surely stay again as this accommodation suits our lifestyle and the owner is now our good friend.

Room Tip: Exchange e-mails
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 62 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

As a participant in the Marion Bermuda Race, we were looking for an economical place to rest up and have the family join us for a few days on wonderful Bermuda. Dawkins Manor is simplistic and quiet, if you're looking for grand luxury you should seek a major hotel or very expensive lodging. Ms. Dawkins is always available so if you need something you just need to ask and she'll gladly help out. This is the perfect place to get a scooter and tour the island or if you want a taxi all you need to do is walk to the end of the street, we got a taxi everytime within five minutes. The grocery store is very close and there is a very good "local" restaurant just up the hill. If you wish to take a short walk to the beach, its really not that far and the beach ...Elbow....is awesome. Enjoy.....

Room Tip: Go for the two bedroom apartment on the second floor ...two separate rooms and a separate great room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paniolo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We just completed the Marion Bermuda Race (offshore sailing). We were exhausted. Dawkins Manor was very welcoming. Exceptionally Clean. Cecelia could not have been more helpful and accomodating. We had different crew members coming and going, teenagers, etc. We booked several rooms with kitchenettes but we also had access to a full kitchen and lounge just for us. The location was super convenient to RBYC where our boat was. Also a great market right on the corner. Also a good diner up the street. Short easy walk to beach. Laundry facilities were key! Nice little pool. Not fancy but a great value compared to the super expensive resorts - especially if you have to take care of a crew, do laundry and restock the boat for the trip back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Incentive362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Internet, beach towels, local phone calls are all additional charges. The kitchen is not equipped with basics such as potholders or filters for the coffee pot. The stove was dirty. Dish liquid was watered down to extend its usage. The roll of paper towels was not replaced. The owner's dog starts yapping at 7am daily. Ants are everywhere. A few changes could have made a world of difference, but the owner's strong suit does not seem to be customer service.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
7  Thank dosomethingbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed at Dawkins Manor during the week of 6/13/2011. Very clean efficiency suites. I had my full kitchen so I could cook at night and take off for the day. It is a 5 minute walk to Elbow Beach so there was no need for a bus or cab. it is also about a 2 minute walk to a market so it was near everything you could possibly need. The Manor does have a nice pool, you can enjoy drinks by in the evening and slo has an outside grill you can use also. Very nice area and close to a bus stop also. The Owner is very polite and wants to make sure you have a great time in Bemuda. I would recommend Dawkins Manor for anyone who wants to the feel the comforts of home while still feeling you are secluded in paradise. Enjoyed my visit very much.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maryk03087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Pros/Cons

Pro- Full kitchens...Con- Appliances don't all work too well
Pro- Private bath...Con- Hot water is in very limited supply
Pro- Walking distance to the beach...Con- You have to walk through 2 other "private beaches" belonging to other resorts to get to the public beach
Pro- Daily maid service (fresh towels, linens, washes dishes etc) Con- She knocks on the door every morning asking to come in, sometimes before 10 AM.

We traveled to Bermuda in the Spring of 2011 and stayed at Dawkins Manor. After spending about a week in Bermuda and seeing the other available properties that were available, we thought it was a good deal for the price. The units advertised online are as they are described. This is not a luxurious place, however Bermuda is very expensive and for about $200 a night you get a decent place within walking distance to the beach and a grocery store. Despite the negative reviews, the owner seemed to be a sweet lady. Her curiosity regarding the itineraries of the guests is pretty innocent, she asks what you're planning on doing with your day, what time you might be getting back etc, it might seem intrusive to some but I suspect that it's only because she is trying to be accommodating. Either way, she's got a small but loud dog who religiously barks and alerts her when anyone comes or goes no matter what time of day or night.

If we ever go back to Bermuda, we'd probably stay there again. It's relatively inexpensive and conveniently located. Not as bad as people said. If you want to stay in a gorgeous, ocean front, all inclusive place with a private beach etc, this isn't your spot. It's good if you're on a budget and just want a place to sleep, quickly shower and make some food.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SNTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I loved my stay at Dawkins Manor. Celia Dawkins couldn't have been more pleasant and attentive. She worked hard to accomodate our every need. I actually felt like family and extended my home to her when she visits the states.

I will say the 1 bedroom apartment that we stayed in was simply decorated, yet very comfortable. It had 2 air units that were more than sufficient, a newly outfitted kitchen with brand new appliances allowing me to make breakfast and snacks as my teens required. The bedroom was spacious with the most comfortable queen size beds making getting an early start difficult.

And it couldn't be more perfectly located. Everything was within a 3 minute walk: the market, bus stops, and a beautiful beach.

If you are looking for lavish accomodations Dawkins Manor won't be right for you. But if like me, you want to be comfortable, have more than a bedroom to hang out in, and be able to have some some food and drinks back "home" to save a little and please everyones needs, this will be perfect.

I loved Celia Dawkins, her Manor, and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bajosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paget Parish
9.0 mi away
The St. George's Club
The St. George's Club
#1 of 1 in St. George
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
872 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fourways Inn
Fourways Inn
#4 of 5 in Paget Parish
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 5 in Paget Parish
976 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawkin's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawkin's Manor

Address: 29 St Michaels's Rd, PG BX, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range: $240 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dawkin's Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dawkins Manor provides visitors a "Home away from Home." Each suite has a fully operational kitchen, there is barbeque on pool deck as well as portable ones in store should several guest need to cook out at the same time. We pride ourselves in keeping our guest "SAFE" with modern Security devices, plenty of lights around the property, an electronic gate and a watch dog. Our state-of-the-art generator powers the entire property during power outages so our guests are never without electricity. Chauffeuring our guest on a rainy day or getting them to their appointments on time when taxis are not available or late or taking them to the airport is one of the owner's greatest pleasures; anything to keep her guest happy. Quiet, serene, peaceful, safe, hospitable and homely is Dawkins Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Dawkin's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawkins Manor Paget
Dawkins Manor Hotel Paget
Dawkin's Manor Bermuda/Paget Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing