We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Set your expectations that this is more a very good park and garden space, rather than a Botanical Garden.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bermuda Botanical Gardens

Bermuda Botanical Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thirty-six acres of beautifully landscaped flowers, trees, paths, and ponds.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
853 reviews
394 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 645 helpful votes
“Set your expectations that this is more a very good park and garden space, rather than a Botanical Garden.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was difficult to decide how to review this one, but as it is promoted as a Botanical garden then I feel duty bound to review it as such.
But for future visitors the key is to set your expectations correctly and then you will not be disappointed.
If you set your expectations that this is a Botanical Garden in line with others found in major locations, you will be disappointed. As others have mentioned there are virtually no information boards or signs and those that there are more confusing than assisting. And virtually no information plaques on the plants and trees. This was a big disappointment as there are a lot of interesting plants and shrubs where it would have been useful to know what they were.
Also, as others have mentioned, a lot of the beds are overrun with weeks and had the appearance of not being tendered. And for our visit during the off season, the tropical houses were locked up and you could not enter.
But, then you have to weigh this up against the fact that there is no charge to enter and the gardens are maintained by volunteers who give up their time to do so.
So if you consider this fairly large space to be more a parkland and garden area to visit and relax in rather than the Botanical garden it is promoted as, then it actually becomes quite a good attraction, and would qualify as a five star location, especially as it is now combined with the Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art in the grounds, which turned out to be a very good visit.
However, I was expecting a botanical garden, and in that respect I was very disappointed and think this is yet another outdoor attraction that could be made so much better with a bit of joined up thinking by the Bermudan tourist board and Parks committee. Fortunately the art gallery and photographic display in the Masterworks Museum saved the day and made the whole thing a worthwhile way to spend a few hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    47
    25
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfectly Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I am lucky enough to live in Bermuda and this is one of my very favourite places on the Island.Entry is free as are the tours. It is not immaculate with perfect landscaping and why should it be, it is a beautiful place. There are lots of little gardens within to be explored and one in particular with a fountain which is stunning. The house itself is stunning and the little cafes are nice and serve delicious cakes! The kitchen garden is very pretty too. Well worth a visit, ample parking.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Supermom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gardens, galleries, and a gluten-free cafe set the scene for a wonderful day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having read the other reviews, my advice: let go your need to know and you will find hidden treasures here.

It isn't a highly manicured affair dependent as it is on volunteers, but that provides a particular charm to the place. The gardens offer a mix of park, woodland, greenhouses, agricultural buildings and horticultural collections interspersed with walking/running trails and pathways with only general directional signs. It's free to enter except during the Agricultural Fair that occurs over 3 days in April.

The treasures include an enormous banyan tree that tempts kids to swing on its rope-like branches, a walled garden designed for the enjoyment of the blind, an original one-room home reminding one of simpler times, the best little cafe in Bermuda (Homer's Cafe) and the Masterworks Museum that provides new exhibits every 4 weeks as well as a semi-permanent collection. (On weekends, this is the place to get a general map of the gardens).

For those, like me, who are directional challenged, I will provide what you do need to know to get there: The gardens are one mile from the City of Hamilton and are open year round and daily from sunrise to sunset. Access via Berry Hill Road, Point Finger Road and South Road. Bus routes 1, 2 and 7 go to King Edward VII Memorial Hospital, which is nearby.

I do remember an elevator in the Museum building but cannot remember if there was a ramp entrance so cannot confirm that it is entirely wheelchair accessible. The majority of the paths are level and wide so all ages and abilities should be able to enjoy the environment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank greentara0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
582 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“enjoyable tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Both admission and the tours are free. The tours are only a few times per week so check the web site for times. The tour is very informative. Our guide was very passionate about gardens and plants. It is a great way to learn about the local plants, shrubs and trees. Also a beautiful place to simply walk around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice flora and fauna from ancient times, but a very SMALL botanical gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Having been born and brought up on a well-known Paradise Island in the Indian ocean with world famous botanical gardens.. the VARIETY of flora and fauna at the Bermuda Botanical gardens... did NOT impress me.

What did impress me was the quiet/silent energies there.. the ancient trees from pre-historic(dinosaur times) times, and their weird and wonderful shapes and forms(and leaves)... Very interesting to see this kind of flora and vegetation in the year 2012! I am used to seeing them on movies such as Jurassic park!

I felt like this beautifully landscaped botanical gardens.. could be my grand home and estate someday!
One can always dream huh?? :-)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AvatarOnEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Botanical Gardens also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Bermuda Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing