We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardens, galleries, and a gluten-free cafe set the scene for a wonderful day trip”

Bermuda Botanical Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thirty-six acres of beautifully landscaped flowers, trees, paths, and ponds.
Bancroft, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gardens, galleries, and a gluten-free cafe set the scene for a wonderful day trip”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having read the other reviews, my advice: let go your need to know and you will find hidden treasures here.

It isn't a highly manicured affair dependent as it is on volunteers, but that provides a particular charm to the place. The gardens offer a mix of park, woodland, greenhouses, agricultural buildings and horticultural collections interspersed with walking/running trails and pathways with only general directional signs. It's free to enter except during the Agricultural Fair that occurs over 3 days in April.

The treasures include an enormous banyan tree that tempts kids to swing on its rope-like branches, a walled garden designed for the enjoyment of the blind, an original one-room home reminding one of simpler times, the best little cafe in Bermuda (Homer's Cafe) and the Masterworks Museum that provides new exhibits every 4 weeks as well as a semi-permanent collection. (On weekends, this is the place to get a general map of the gardens).

For those, like me, who are directional challenged, I will provide what you do need to know to get there: The gardens are one mile from the City of Hamilton and are open year round and daily from sunrise to sunset. Access via Berry Hill Road, Point Finger Road and South Road. Bus routes 1, 2 and 7 go to King Edward VII Memorial Hospital, which is nearby.

I do remember an elevator in the Museum building but cannot remember if there was a ramp entrance so cannot confirm that it is entirely wheelchair accessible. The majority of the paths are level and wide so all ages and abilities should be able to enjoy the environment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank greentara0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    49
    31
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“enjoyable tour”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Both admission and the tours are free. The tours are only a few times per week so check the web site for times. The tour is very informative. Our guide was very passionate about gardens and plants. It is a great way to learn about the local plants, shrubs and trees. Also a beautiful place to simply walk around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice flora and fauna from ancient times, but a very SMALL botanical gardens”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Having been born and brought up on a well-known Paradise Island in the Indian ocean with world famous botanical gardens.. the VARIETY of flora and fauna at the Bermuda Botanical gardens... did NOT impress me.

What did impress me was the quiet/silent energies there.. the ancient trees from pre-historic(dinosaur times) times, and their weird and wonderful shapes and forms(and leaves)... Very interesting to see this kind of flora and vegetation in the year 2012! I am used to seeing them on movies such as Jurassic park!

I felt like this beautifully landscaped botanical gardens.. could be my grand home and estate someday!
One can always dream huh?? :-)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AvatarOnEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Well kept, also visited the art show and had lunch in the cafe resulting in reduced price entry for art gallery.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“In disrepair, with weeds and unkept”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had been in the Royal Gardens in Cayman islands and was full of anticipation to visit what I thought would be an even better garden. I was sorely disappointed. FIrst, it is barely a botanical garden; it is more like a park. It was originally someones great house and garden and the retro fit to a botanical garden is very clumsy. But still, it could have been so beautiful, and I imagiine it has been that at other times. The garden we saw had too many beds with weeds, other parts were in frank disrepair and the labeling of species was uneven. In the office, the crew that should have been working on maintenance, appeared to be having a day long lounge.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Botanical Gardens also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Bermuda Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing