We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will be disappointed”

Bermuda Botanical Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thirty-six acres of beautifully landscaped flowers, trees, paths, and ponds.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“You will be disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

First of all, there are no signs for this place but the entrance is right by where they are building the new hospital. Get off the bus there if you want to go. The museum/gift shop was not open the day we visited. I don't even know if I actually saw where you go into this. We sure couldn't find it! We saw the building but there was no clear doorway marked at all.
I've been to the St. Louis Botanical garden and this does not even compare in the least. I have more flowers growing in my own yard than they had here. As others said, it could be VERY lovely and they have the weather for it to be beautiful year round. A pity as they have tons of room and a good layout, just not many flowers. I did manage to take a few pictures of what they did have though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tgsauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    48
    28
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stow, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a disappointment! Terrible signage to find the place. First, we wandered around trying to find any information at all, after a visit to the wonderful adjacent museum: turns out, the maps, etc. are at the museum -- who knew?! Wandered around and found mostly run-down gardens, desperately in need of weeding and attending. The person in the museum said they depend of volunteers, so the care of the gardens are rather hit-or-miss. A pity, as it could be a glorious place and a wonderful tourist attraction.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vacation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not a lot to see. It was just okay. Expected to see a lot more, but didn't. It looked more like someone's attractive yard.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fritzala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth going”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Disappointing - not enough signs or info to tell you where you are or what you should do. I have been to other gardens and this does not compare. Could be lovely however.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KD716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Let Down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

A big let down. Unkempt, and sparse selection of plants and trees. You would surely be better off taking a walk in Bermuda's beautiful countryside. The only positive thing I can think to say is it was free to get in.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Uptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Botanical Gardens also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Bermuda Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing