We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good and so-so” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Certificate of Excellence
new canaan, ct. usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good and so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

first....the good. locations is awesome. get a room on the beach. there are some rooms in the back of the resort. while we were there, they were vacant.
the beach was great. although it is literally next to the elbow beach resort, there were only a few people at any time on the beach in front of the resort.
we ate most of our meals at elbow beach restaurants...they were wonderful.
the so-so.....the resort is "tired". old beach chairs....peeling paint...the rooms are dated with typical pastel floral bedspreads. the staff was nice but when we asked for help choosing where to rent mopeds, where to dine, where to scuba dive...they simply handed us brochures and offered no assistance. the grounds needed upkeeping...
i just had the impression if they spent just a little more money to spruce up the place, it could be a nice place.
all in all....i would stay there again simply based on price and location. the view is awesome...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peajays5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    335
    99
    41
    27
See reviews for
127
472
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

Cracking location - close enough to Hamilton (the western end of the South Shore Road), right on Elbow Beach, Modern Mart (try their baking - delicious!) on your doorstep and close enough for the full array of wonderful beaches along the South shore of the island. We really liked the feel of Coco Reef, very relaxed and informal with all accommodation reached by outside corridors so you don't feel like you're stuck inside a large hotel. Fabulous views of the beach from I would think all the rooms with a very generous sized balcony. Bed was large and extremely comfy (didn't have a problem with the sheets as mentioned in another review) and bathroom well equipped with amenities such as toothbrush, nail files etc - top rate! Coffee machine in the room too. We had little contact with the staff but when we did they were all great. Didn't eat in the restaurant - the menus looked good but were on the pricey side to be honest. Very nice grounds and central areas. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughes_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

Located in the middle of the island right on a beautiful little bit of beach. Casual feel. (Slightly worn furniture.) Friendly, accommodating staff. We utilzed mini-fridge, supplied coffee and tea kettle, and supermarket just down the long driveway. - It appealed much more to me than the neighboring higher class, more crowded hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brindledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

Good --- the site is gorgeous, the beach is beautiful, all rooms having a balcony is nice, all the people who work here are just great
Bad --- 1. The sheets all thru the hotel do not fit the bed. They are too small and you wind up sleeping on the mattress cover. 2. The breakfast -- for a 25 dollar breakfast the 'home fries' are just like McDonalds. There is absolutely nothing special about the breakfast and you feel like you are getting ripped off. Everyone says that the food is so great but, after the breakfast we decided not to eat dinner here and, in any case, who wants to eat if there is just about no one in the restaurant??? Isn't turnover important in deciding where to eat. (Apparently the resort has generally been only about half full through the summer), You are better off walking along the beach for 3 minutes and eating in Mike's Grill in Elbow Beach.
Ugly --- there is absolutely nothing ugly about Coco Reef. The ugly is right down the beach. Whereas the Reef clears away the residue seaweed and the beach is beautiful, Elbow Beach leaves it and it looks trashy. Makes you happy that you chose the Reef.

Coco Reef, with a small additional investment to deal with small things (well, the sheets are not a small thing), could be at the top of the heap. Additonal note: You won't believe the Sunday brunch at the Henry VIII restaurant. I'm sorry that I have gotten old and can't eat as much because the array of food is spectacular for 30 dollars each. It rivals the brunches in Vegas.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rudy205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Usually stay at a larger resort in Bermuda but decided to try one of these smaller ones. The hotel is located right on the water which has a gorgeous view of the blue Bermuda waters. The hotel was quite empty due to the recession but the staff was so good to us. The food was excellent. Ate one dinner, one lunch and several breakfasts and every meal was out of this world. Chef's are talented. Lobby quite attractive. Conceirge was convenient to use for dinner, taxi and golf reservations. Pool area very attractive. Located right next door to Elbow Beach Resort which was nice so we could often run over there for a change . Enjoyed their two restaurants also. No entertainment at this resort but Elbow supplied it. Walked 45 minutes to Hamilton twice. Ten minute taxi ride. Really got to meet a lot of Bermudians since many work at the hotel. Quite interesting stories they shared with us about Bermuda. You don't get that experience at the larger resorts. Sometimes we would run into the staff on our walks. so friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We just got back, glorious week! Walked the beach everyday and we were so glad that our resort was at the end of Elbow Beach. Very lovely walk early in the morming and at the end of the day! Restaurant food was out of this world! We took advantage of the meal plan for most of our stay, but dined out to try local restaurants and found "The Paraquet" just up the road to be a nice casual change. Bus access was perfect at short walk to the main road. The 2 day bus pass lets you ride all bus routes & Ferry trips for a reasonable cost, as compared to a taxi ride and you see beautiful scenery along the way.
The staff was pleasant and met our every need. We had one rainy day, but the trip was a dream!
We will definately return!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upstateNY_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

The Great- The hotel has an awsome setting right on a beautiful stretch of beach. Excellent swimming, walking, jogging, etc. Also it really is graet to be so close to Hamilton for evening excursions, escepially if you do not want to eat at the hotel every night.
The Good- The food at the hotel was quite good. We had 2 lunches, dinner and desert. One tip for thrifty travelers is the Paraquete dinner up the road. Good option. The service was a mixed bag but mostly very accomidating.
The Bad- The price. The over physical appearance of the hotel is nice. It is not 4 star luxury/elegant. Mimor complaint given this is Bermuda.
The Ugly- Only one. The Tennis Courts. Rough shape. I understand they are going to tear them down and build Condos.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jarvis.lambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paget Parish
0.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Resort Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Property: Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Address: 3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Reef Resort Bermuda 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Beachfront Hotel located on Bermuda's magnificent South Shore, just steps from the beautiful pink sand beach and only 10 minutes from Hamilton.Coco Reef "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coco Reef Resort Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Hotel Paget
Coco Reef Hotel Bermuda
Coco Reef Paget
Coco Reef Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Paget Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing