We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Nearby Hotels
Elbow Beach, Bermuda(Paget Parish)
$675
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$656
$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$616
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Southampton(Southampton Parish)
$1,328
$999
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Reefs(Southampton Parish)
$660
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$2,740
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambridge Beaches(Sandys Parish)
$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Bermuda(Hamilton Parish)
$965
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dawkin's Manor(Paget Parish)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (998)
Filter reviews
998 results
Traveler rating
437
372
113
44
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
372
113
44
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco reef resortthe busocean frontelbow beachbeautiful beachday passquiet hotelwicker furnituregrocery storegolf cartbeachfront roommini fridgethe general managerbit datedbeach chairs and umbrellasmodern martyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 998 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Coco Reef from Sept 18-24 and we were not disappointed with our choice. The location is perfect for us for what we wanted to do, which was go to the various beaches and do some snorkeling and jet skiing. The resort is about 20 minutes (by bus) to Horseshoe Bay and 25 minutes to Church Bay. If you want to go into Hamilton, it's about 15 minutes. The resort itself was great. The staff was extremely helpful. Marley recommended a great place for us to go on a jet ski tour. The General Manager, Dr. Ken Watson went out of his way to make our stay really enjoyable. The room was VERY clean. If you want to stay at a place right on the beach and at an affordable price, I HIGHLY recommend Coco Reef. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Greetings from Bermuda.

All of us here at Coco Reef are delighted that you had such a "Great Vacation" here with us on the beautiful island of Bermuda, and thank you so much for your wonderful comments.

Thank you also for your recommendation for others to visit us, and we hope that you also come back to see us again one day at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Ken Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed Sept. 18-22 for our honeymoon and were extremely happy with Coco Reef. We wanted a luxurious feeling but still affordable, and it was. It's on a beautiful beach, very clean and well maintained, staff are attentive, and the food at the restaurant is superb. On past trips to Bermuda I have stayed at Valley Cottages and an Inn, and Coco Reef is now my favourite. This was my husband's first time in Bermuda and he also would go back to Coco Reef. The Manager Ken and staff (Steve) were friendly and helpful. The taxi ride from the airport is $30 (with tip), and takes about 20 minutes. Hotel is also a 15 minute bus ride into Hamilton.
We had a room on the top level which had a private balcony and view of the ocean. They did provide us with beach towels, and there is an iron and hairdryer in the room.
The bed was comfortable and there was a bathtub, TV, small fridge, and air conditioning.
We saw two cockroaches and a few ants in the room (very normal in Bermuda - even at high end places).

Tips to make your trip more affordable (Bermuda is expensive):
Bring sunscreen (sunscreen in Bermuda costs about $15).
The grocery store is a 5 minute walk from Coco Reef (there is a slight hill to go down). We bought breakfast and lunch food we could keep in our fridge (juice, bread, peanut butter, fruit, cheese, crackers, sandwich meat, snacks, soda, etc.). Don’t leave food out in the room (bugs). We ate a meal in a restaurant only once a day. We also bought alcohol from the grocery store to save money. But make sure you do eat a meal at the restaurant in Coco Reef – the food is really good with a view of the beach you can’t beat. The wine list is good and make sure you try a ‘Dark and Stormy.’
The bus is very easy to take and you can buy bus tickets at the hotel. The bus runs every 15 minutes during the day (every hour at night).
Bermuda is a wonderful place with lot’s to do. We felt safe (do exercise precaution as crime exists everywhere), but we had a wonderful time and the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveleverywheres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Greetings from Coco Reef Bermuda.

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, and for choosing Coco Reef for such a special occasion as your honeymoon.

We are all so glad that you really enjoyed your time with us on the Island Paradise of Bermuda, and also that you really appreciated everything that we have to offer.

Thank you especially for mentioning my team, and also how much you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We hope that you return to visit us again at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort" on your anniversary.

Regards.

Ken Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

we visited the first week in September - just got out before tropical storm Leslie. The hotel is a collection of units on the hillside just above a beautiful beach. Sand really is pink; water really is turquoise, people really are friendly.
The rooms are equivalent to full size hotel rooms at better U.S. hotel chains - like Marriott - but with tiled floors. great views from nearly every room - all ocean views. Housekeeping was friendly and efficient. The staff, including the manager, were very friendly and helpful. Their restaurant turns out some of the best food and value on the island, along with rum drinks and a reasonable wine list. Beach had plenty of chairs - although some were the canvass uncomfortable types.
We have stayed at many other places in Bermuda - including adjacent Elbow Beach, Southhampton Princess, Surfside, and Sonesta. Coco Reefs is a better value and much more comfortable than others. we will most definitely stay there next trip!

Room Tip: you really can't pick a bad room, but second floor give you a private balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Greetings From Sunny Bermuda.

We are all delighted that you had such a great vacation here with us at Coco Reef Bermuda, and thank you very much for your wonderful comments.

We are especially grateful for your review as you have visited Bermuda many times in the past, and you mention that you enjoyed your time with us at Coco Reef more than some of the other resorts on the island. Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bermuda's Best Beach Resort one day soon.

Ken Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our seventh stay in Bermuda, and Coco Reef has by far, the best beach we have seen. It is just a few feet away from most rooms. It is absolutely beautiful!!! We enjoyed all this hotel had to offer. Location is fantastic - close enough to get to Hamilton or Southampton by moped. We will certainly be back to this place as soon as it is possible.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pulcur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Greetings from Coco Reef Bermuda.

Thank you so much for your kind review and we are so happy that you had "The Best Vacation Ever" here with us in our own corner of Paradise.

Comments such as yours, from someone who as visited Bermuda seven times before, is wonderful praise and I thank you personally.

We are glad that you enjoyed everything that we had to offer, and please come back and visit us at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort" again.

Ken Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a first-time trip to Bermuda and Coco Reef. I picked Coco Reef after doing much research on TripAdvisor. After viewing many other hotels, I too, chose Coco Reef for the close proximity to the beach and the small, intimate size of the resort. Most of the other hotels seemed to be perched high on a cliff with difficult access to the beach. Not so at Coco Reef. Although situated on a hill, our ocean front building was only a staircase away from the sand. Stepping out from our patio onto the grassy lawn overlooking the ocean, we usually had the lounge chairs there all to ourselves. The view was just mesmerizing!

Our room was a bit disappointing, as everytime we went in and out of the screen sliding door, the door would fall off the track and into the room. Maintenance fixed it twice, but we finally gave up and left it off the track and leaned it against the glass door. My husband was annoyed by the small, dated TV that hissed so loudly he couldn't hear Monday Night Football very well!

Thanks to other reviewers tips, we too utilized the Modern Mart a short walk away. We purchased breakfast and lunch items and ate on our patio. A quart of milk was around $3.50 and a quart of orange juice $4+, but that is about what local restaurants charge for one soft drink!
Dinner at CoCo Cafe was absolutely delicious. Don't miss the toffee sticky pudding for dessert...heavenly! Ate one dinner next door at Elbow Beach's Mickey's restaurant. We had terrible service. Took 15 mins. for someone to initially come and take a drink order. Very slow...there for 2 hours!

We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the island on our own thanks to Oleander Cycle rentals, which picks you up at the hotel. Don't miss the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse...the absolute best value in all of Bermuda! Only $2.50 admission to climb to the top and spectacular views of the island!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovedthefalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Greetings from Coco Reef Bermuda, and thank you for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary.

We are delighted that you found the views captivating, and fully enjoyed the tranquility that surrounds us here at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Please accept my personal apologies for any inconvenience that you may have encountered, and be assured that we are attempting to repair any problems we may have.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding your dining experience with us, we have a team of wonderful Chefs who use only the freshest ingredients and always try to excel. I am extremely pleased that you especially liked the Sticky Toffee Pudding as it was actually "invented" by Francis Coulson, the owner of the hotel that I initially trained at many years ago. If you would like the original recipe just let me know.

We hope to see you again one day on the beautiful island of Bermuda.

Ken Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews