We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 thefts occurred”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paget Parish
Reviewed October 14, 2007

This Hotel is in a fabulous location secluded but fairly central to action. The sea cannot be safely accessed from the beach but the setting makes up for it. The Hotel could do with a total refurb but you spend most of your time appreciating the setting. Unfortunatley whilst there we had things taken from our rooms and one from the beach, wallet, ipod etc and the police said that it wasnt the first time that they had been called there, so make use of the safe !
This hotel is more personal than Aeriel Sands next door and suited us much better.

Stayed: October 2007
8  Thank gunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 982 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2007

Just retuned from a wonderful stay at Coco Reef. The reviews of this resort are pretty accurate. The views and beach location are outstanding. However, the rooms are not 5-star, but they are clean and functional. There is no resort on Bermuda with a better beach access, and if having a room on the ocean is important to you, this is the place.

I was thinking I would be envious of the Elbow Beach Resort next door, but not at all! The distance between that resort and the beach below was a real hike, and didn't look pleasant at all. We shared the exact same beach, so I enjoyed having the patio access without climbing a huge hill every day.

I highly recommend the buss pass. The busses are clean, safe, and easy to figure out. They can get you anywhere, and to Hamilton in about 15 minutes -- cheaply. If you go to Hamilton, try eating at the Lobster Pot if you want Bermudian lobster and great fish. If you're a snorkeler, be sure to visit Church Bay Beach, there's a bus stop and it's easy snorkeling right off the beach.

The only other resort I would consider is the Reefs, but you'll pay more and be far from Hamilton. We booked on Expedia and got a great rate. The included breakfast was a great deal, too.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cardoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Tranquil is a great word for Bermuda because it's such a tiny island and doesn't have much nite life. Weather was perfect in mid 80s with a nice breeze, nights were also great and not humid at all. Maybe because of the side of the island we were on, we missed a couple big rainstorms and just got a couple showers at nite. Weather was great . We didn't opt for the scooters but the 3 or 4 day transport pass worked best. Make sure you get the one that is for bus and ferry pass and not coded any one color or the routes and times are restricted. Buses also only run till around 9:30 (we kept missing them and taking taxis home late). And its way quicker to take bus to Hamilton and ferry wherever.

About the hotel: very tropical colors, clean, quiet and is up on a hill. Our room was a standard size, nothing fancy. Except for some dusting issues room was clean, don't drop food or the ants will come! Then you clean up and they go away. Hotel food expensive but very tasty with nice view on the ocean and over the pool. Pool was decent size but we used the beach. You will need comfy shoes as there is quite a hike down to the beach so that explains no bar service beachside which we missed but no biggie. Our beach was pretty small due to huge rocks which was scenic but not for swimming. Going 4 steps over to Elbow Beach hotel was no problem and there are no issues with beach sharing but seating is limited so be there before noon. Sand is soft with gorgeous clear water which was pretty salty. Goggles help. Surf kept coming in and was pretty strong all day so caution to non-swimmers. We were happy with our choice of hotel and location. IIf you stay at this hotel there is a great food place right up the hill called the Paraquet which was great for bkfast and lunches,we had a bkfast plan though and enjoyed all the buffet options (hot & cold) .

There were always at least 2 big cruise ships in and they seem to co-sponsor the limited nite entertainment. Shopping is expensive. We did this Hartley Undersea Walk which was expensive but great fun, you got to hold this big friendly grouper and see really different colorful fish. We had some issues with getting our digital pictures send up to us though and we paid a lot for them.

Overall we had a nice stay but wouldn't stay for more than four days. The staff were all pleasant and helpful (Unray , Gina, Barbara were great!). I have already recommended it to my friends. I used TripAdvisor when making my hotel choices and was soooo glad I didn't stay with my first choice of the Grotto Bay Beach which looked like it was in a harbour not a beach and we heard that place has major issues!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank mwgnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

We spent 4 glorious nights at this lovely small hotel, over the Labor Day weekend. We booked the trip through US Airways Vacations, & got a very nice rate, including transfers. We chose the Modified American Plan, which included breakfast and dinner daily --- an incredible bargain. I was familiar with the property (previously known as the Stonington Beach) from a stay at the nearby Harmony Club.

My experience was very similar to the others expressed in recent reviews. The rooms were clean and comfortable, modestly sized, with spectacular ocean views. The beach and pool were both just a few steps away. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the service was commendable, especially Darnell the bartender, and the waitresses GIna and Claudia. Even the maintenance crew would stop their chores to chat and offer friendly advice. The food was astounding, much better than I expected. There were weekly specials, with a choice of 4 appetizers, 4 entrees, and 4 desserts, or you could order anything from their regular menu. Between myself and my wife we tried every special, plus several other offerings. All the food was outstanding. The breakfast buffet was limited, but offered eggs, French toast, pancakes, fresh fruit, home-baked bread and pastries (often warm from the oven), omelets made to order, granola, yoghurt, etc. The dining room is lovely, and you can also eat outdoors on the patio and enjoy the view.

The location was just perfect, located directly adjacent to Elbow Beach, the largest on the island. My wife and I took a 30 minute beach walk every morning, through the softest sand you can imagine. Coco Reef also has their own small beach, protected by picturesque rock formations, and protected from the wind. It is true that there are lots of tiny ants that get on your feet, and then inevitably into your room, but we never found them to be objectionable. Sometimes there were a few gnats as well, but not objectionable.

I found the artwork to be charming, not offensive. However, it is primitive in style, more typical of Caribbean art than what one might think of as British. The overall decor of the hotel is extremely pleasant, from the mirrored entranceway to the warm coral stucco walls, and the antique furnishings.

I travel a lot, but this may be the most enjoyable short vacation stay I've ever enjoyed. I'll be back in future!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Hitman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

We planned this last miniute vacation to our favorite Island...Bermuda. (We have been here 5 times before...4 crusies and one stay at The SouthHampton Princess) This time time we wanted to try a smaller hotel on the beach. What a perfect choice we made! We spent 5 beautiful, relaxing days here at Coco Reef (August 27-31, 2007). The service was outstanding and the staff was very warm and friendly. Our room (414) had a gorgeous ocean view and was very comfortable, clean and bug free. The grounds were well cared for and beautifully landscaped. The food was good although the dinners were a bit overpriced. We did try other local restaurants as we toured the island. No complaints there. The beach was gorgeous...crystal clear blue water and soft pink sand....fabulous! The resort does need to invest in a few more beach chairs and umbrellas. If you did not stake out a space on the beach early, you were out of luck. We plan to come back again next year and we recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a quiet, relaxing island vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Toots56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed at the Coco Reef for 4 great nights in August. With some of the reviews that were posted I was a bit worried. Upon arrival we were told our Ocean Front Room would not be available that night that we would have to make a switch the next day and would be staying in an Ocean View Room. We were promptly taken to our room that was a bit outdated, but very clean and did have a gorgeous Ocean View. The waves were crashing against the rocks! The staff had sent a fruit tray and a nice bottle of wine for our "inconvenience". The next day we were at the beach all day,came back to find our new Ocean Front Room was ready and our bags had been taken to the new room. Again, the room was outdated but the view and the location to the beach were outstanding. Had we not been moved we would have been very happy in the Ocean View Room. The front desk employees were always pleasant and accomodating with any request. We felt extremely safe at the Coco Reef and would definetly go back. Two women traveling alone. Oh don't let me forget all the mentions of bugs on the reviews- yes we saw small ants - tips are don't leave any food in your room or anywhere outside your door! Rooms 105 and 301 are awesome.

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank RitaBoston_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed at Coco Reef during off-season, and it was absolutely gorgeous. This is a place for couples. It felt like we had the entire place to ourselves. The staff was very nice. The manager is wonderful-- he directed us personally to our room and offered to give us a ride into town after we checked in. The rooms are cozy with a perfect view of the beach. Our room came with a portable heater which we didn't think we'd need, but at night it got chilly so it was a nice amenity to have. This is a smaller property, so it was very quiet and secluded, and very relaxing. There is one restaurant there and we had buffet breakfast each day; it was pretty standard fare. At night we walked next door to the big resort to go to the nightclub (elbow beach). I was so glad we weren't staying at the bigger hotel because it was very noisy and there were kids everywhere. There is a small pool attached to the main building, next to the restaurant. The pool itself is unimpressive but the view of the ocean is incredible. I felt like I was swimming right next to the beach. Speaking of which, this resort is right on the beach, so everyone can leave their rooms and walk directly down the stairs to the water. There were a lot of bugs on the sand though and we didn't lie down on the chairs long because it was very annoying. I definitely want to come back here, I highly recommend it for couples and people who want a relaxing, low-key, beach getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank malajemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paget Parish
1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
890 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
844 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,144 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,092 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Resort Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Address: 3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range: $216 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Resort Bermuda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Beachfront Hotel located on Bermuda's magnificent South Shore, just steps from the beautiful pink sand beach and only 10 minutes from Hamilton.Coco Reef "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Coco Reef Resort Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Hotel Paget
Coco Reef Hotel Bermuda
Coco Reef Paget
Coco Reef Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Paget Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing