We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach for quieter families.”
Review of Elbow Beach

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three hotels line this beach, making it popular with tourists; you might want to avoid this place if you're not into the Spring Break college kid party scene, which tends to crowd the beach during the Easter season.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great beach for quieter families.”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

A great beach for quieter families who want to enjoy the serf, and some amenities with the family away on vacation. Recommended.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank BestWorldReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    109
    23
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beach getaway without the crowds of Horseshoe”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My family traveled by cruise to Bermuda in late August (the week of Hurricane Irene). We spent three days in Bermuda and went to three different beaches: Elbow, Horseshoe and Church. If you have very young kids, go to Horseshoe because they have a little cove area for the wee ones. And if you are looking for crowds (think holiday weekends at the Jersey Shore), again go to Horseshoe. And if you like fighting bus crowds for rides home, again, visit Horseshoe. But if you want your own space and not share your vacation with thousands of others, this was the beach to go to.

The walk from the bus stop was about 1/2 a mile down a hill (and up the hill on the way back) so this is not for those with walking troubles. I went with my wife and two sons, 15 and 10-1/2. We are not the most physically athletic and the walk was fine for us. BTW, our cruise's excursion group said something about huge broken staircase where you have to climb and jump - absolute BS if you hear that.

The "public" beach was between two seemingly fancy hotels (no clue what the names were). Facing the beach, I went to the hotel to the left, which had a bar, and was able to order drinks for my family. We even used the rest rooms and changing rooms there. Horseshoe has a large public changing room and snack stand, which is quite convenient - for this you have to walk a little on the beach to use someone else's facilities which might make some uncomfortable but we had no problems.

The water at all the beaches in Bermuda was incredible. We liked having all the space to ourselves. And we also like to snorkel - took a catamaran trip out to a reef which was our highlight - but my kids don't do as well at it. There were a few reefs that we were able to swim out to and the kids did a much better job snorkeling here and we really got to see nice fish. It'll be a bit hard for 6/7 year olds, but my 10 could do it (but he is a good swimmer).

We went to this beach twice. Because of the passing storm, the waves at all the beaches were pretty strong but my kids, my wife and I love to body surf and get knocked down by the waves so it was fun for us. Incredible sand all around for playing and building in too. Easily my favorite beach.

Also, the bus ride is a LOT easier from here than Horseshoe, even though it was a longer ride from the dockyard. Why? Because buses headed back to the dockyard are often crowded by the time they get back to Horseshoe or fill up quickly there. And not too many people ride to Hamilton and take the ferry back which I have to tell you was much nicer.

PS - Some of the reviews here are specific to the resorts on the beach. I am writing about the beach that anyone could publicly access, not the resorts.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DadLikesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Elbow Beach”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Excellent location. Great beach for families. Low tide in July. The resort allows you to use their showers and washrooms, which are very clean. Better than visiting a local beach because you actually get a smaller crowd and you can have a nice meal buy the ocean.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth....”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

First, my husband did not want to go since it was a Bermudian National Holiday, we were afraid the beach will be crowded.
Second: our ship was docked at Dockyard and the taxi fare was quite expensive.
We found 2 other couples to share the taxi with and we went to Elbow Beach.

We did not regret our decision. The beach was pristine and the sand was one of the finest that we have seen in the Caribbean. It has that pinkish tint so particular that you can only find in Bermuda.
The public portion of the beach is sandwiched between two private beaches, belonging to hotels.
There were chairs and umbrellas for rent and the guys who rent them will set the umbrella for you since it is quite windy and if you don't dig deep enough, the umbrellas will get blown away.
The water is extremely clear despite a strong surf. It was so relaxing and not crowded at all.
We will definitely go back and spend more time there the next time we will be in Bermuda.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank stefanny28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Avoid the crowds of Horseshoe Bay Beach here”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Bermuda is chocked full of awesome beaches .....but during High Season they can be crowded ..... so try Elbow Beach public access and you will find a very clean and private 1st class Pink Sand Beach ready for your enjoyment . There are no changing facilities here like there is @ Horseshoe Bay Beach but you will enjoy less crowds and more room to enjoy your day .

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank dbusby625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elbow Beach also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
St. George, St. George's Parish
 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Elbow Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing