We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lifes a beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lifes a beach!”
Reviewed August 23, 2005

my family and I just returned to New Jersay fter a wonderful week at Elbow Beach. Newly renovated rooms worth the price. The beach was one of the top 3 on the Island, (hundreds of them), Mickeys restaurant on the beach was casual with fun staff and the seahorse grill had a great menu for our needs. The staff at the lobby bar were never too busy to chat and we enjoyed the live entertainment there. We rented scooters and doubled around the island ( great way to stop when and where you want). the one down side was the age of the old main building which is due for a renovation soon i hope?Special thanks to all the Bermudians (and international staff) who made our trip very memorable!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mauistyle60634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    258
    109
    89
    37
See reviews for
228
378
16
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2005

Disappointed after 2 days of breathing overpowering fumes from an acrylic spray used on a tub during renovations. Fumes were so intoixicating resulting in burning eyes, sore throat, etc. Promises made but no results in trying to come up with a solution. Our family was forced to find our own accomodations on another resort ruining 2 days of our 6 day vacation. Very disappointed in the lack of effort from them to try to correct the situation...not what was expected from what is perceived as a first class resort.

Would not recommend in the future

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2005

Beach is beautiful, great sea-scooter trip to pollockshields shipwreck 100 yards off the beach.

Food at LIDO restaurant above the water excellent.

Friendly service all around.
Rooms are not top shelf but are clean, if not in need of upgrade.
Overall a solid experience

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 27, 2005

We went to Bermuda for a family members wedding at Elbow Beach in July 2005. We spent the first four days of our stay at The Sandpiper (be sure to check my review) and we reluctant to leave, but we wanted to be close to the festivities so we spent the last three at Elbow Beach.

As far as rooms, Elbow Beach is a dichotomy. Rooms is the main hotel are musty and smelly with nasty carpeting, sparse furnishings, and small bathrooms. For over $500 per night these rooms are an abomination. Wedding guest who stayed in the main hotel were extremely disappointed at the quality of the rooms. Frankly, these rooms are a rip off.

Reading the reviews here, we booked a junior suite (Oleander) in the garden. The room was excellent. It was roomy, has high ceilings, a ceiling fan, a moderately sized bathroom, a nice balcony, and a great ocean view. We requested a crib and a fridge and these items were ready and setup in our room upon arrival.

The pool and beach are great. The service was spotty (hard to get a hold of staff) but they are in good shape and well maintained.

The restaurants were adequate but for the prices you will be paying you expect more. This seemed to be a problem all over the island and not limited to Elbow Beach.


Here are some Elbow Beach tips...

1) If you get in early, your room will NOT be ready. Be sure to pack a bag for the day since you will be hanging out at the beach or the pool. We checked in at 9 AM and got into our room at 2:30 PM. We heard stories from other wedding guests of not getting in to their rooms until 5 PM or later.

2) The family plan is a great value (relative value of course) as it includes a bigger room, taxes and tips, free breakfast, and a book of values such as baby sitting and beach activities.

3) Do NOT stay in the main hotel until it is rebuilt!

4) Request a fridge (free) and get groceries\drinks at the mini mart just down the street for lunch and snacks.

5) Check out The Paraquet (adjacent to the hotel) for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2005

After reading several posts below, it seems like Elbow Beach needs some love. Well, my wife and I just returned from a 10-day honeymoon at Elbow Beach, and I have to tell you that it was absolute paradise. The room, the amenities, the staff, the food -- all first rate.

Our honeymoon was my fifth visit to Bermuda, but my wife's first. Previously, I had stayed at the Fairmont Southampton Princess, the Sonesta (now the Wyndham), and Astwood Cove guest cottages (twice). Elbow Beach was far and away the best hotel I've stayed at in Bermuda -- and perhaps the best hotel I've stayed at in my life.

The true helpfulness of the staff could best be captured by the fact that we were guests at Elbow Beach during an island-wide blackout, caused by a fire at BELCO. Obviously, we were a little bummed that there was such an inconvenience on our honeymoon, but we took the opportunity to head out towards the Dockyard on the moped, and the power was returned to the hotel at about 6:10 pm -- just in time for dinner. The staff of Elbow Beach was gracious, accomodating, and best of all -- all meals, soft drinks, and water were on the house! I guess this is standard operating procedure for luxury hotels when something like this happens -- but we never felt inconvenienced, we never felt like we were missing out on anything, and hey, maybe we saved some money by not having to pay for food all day!

Obviously, Bermuda's an expensive island, but the front desk was very gracious, allowing us the complimentary use of a minifridge in our room. The Modern Mart is about a ten minute walk down South Shore Road, and we stocked up on non-perishables, as well as some beer ($18 for a 12-pack!), PB&J, etc. It definitely saved us some money to be able to keep food in our room.

The restaurants are fine. Lido is overrated and overpriced, but I think Mickey's is one of the best restaurants on the island -- and the picky eaters at Chowhound (www.chowhound.com) agree. We had some good breakfasts at the Seahorse Grill, and the Sunday brunch was really fantastic. The cafe next to the pool (Blue Ocean Grill, I think?) has some great food -- the cheeseburger and the Elbow Club are the two best.

We will definitely be returning to Bermuda, and God-willing, staying at Elbow Beach again. It is definitely pricey, but worth every penny. If you want to experience Bermuda the way you ought to -- living in the lap of luxury -- definitely check out Elbow Beach.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bostontobermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Barrington, IL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2005

I just arrived home home from a two week vacation with my family of 4. On this trip we stayed at the Hay-Adams in Wash. DC and the Elbow Beach for up to 5 days at each. I believe comparing the two is the best way to give you an idea of what you can expect from this location. Personally, I love old hotels for thier charm, however it takes work and if it's not done properly it fails and looks tired. The Hay Adams pre dates back to the beginnings of our country. It is obvious by the smaller Victorian feel of the hotel in the Lobby. However, I challenge you to find a rough edge anywhere in this hotel. No dust or anything can be found. Our biggest problem was the plastic keys did not work properly in our locks. However, lickety split it was fixed and resolved. If you are familiar with DC it is very very formal. I swear the men challenge each other to have a crisper collared shirt, but our noisy family of four never felt unwelcome or unwanted by this hotel. We had a quite chuckle of how they would run to open our door. Nothing was ever too large an issue. They seemed psychic at times. More details under Hay Adams of this web sight.

Elbow Beach has many assets. Great location and many places to eat. Food was excellent through out. The workers seem to be struggling and really wanting to please you. I believe they are running in to trouble with not enough staff to get the job done. I always wanted to bring a wipey with me to wipe off the tables. The crispness is not there. I would go as far as to say the hotel chain is letting down thier superb staff of good people. The bathrooms in the public areas need to be cleaned and well done. Yes, you can wash painted surfaces. When a carpet is mildewed replace it. The bar upstairs is especially troublesome. Hire some people to support these fine people who are minding your guests. It's funny, but the guests of this hotel really enjoy the benefits of this hotel and tend to stay put going from the bar to the restaraunts and so on. How lucky for the Mandarin-but they have to rise to the occasion and keep it crisp.

The beach front is short probably 2 people at least to cover the demands of the guests. When you finally get someone to to help you with a drink he is wonderful, but just over worked.

Yes, I am harsh on this company. I have stayed at thier hotels before and they know better than this. Walking from the pool down through the gardens to our room was so creepy because they would never clean the cob webs and they were everywhere above and below and all around. Just a swiping every month or two would keep this under control. In the last 3 months I have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental San Francisco, The Peninsula, Chicago, and The Four Seasons, Chicago. They are five star and unique in thier own ways, but they all have "that crispness". The Elbow Beach Hotel needs to either lower thier ratings to 4 star or hire the proper cleaning staff to make this place shine. In the morning this place should smell delightful, not tired from the night before.

A side note-It is expensive there. It is not really safe to rent the scooters. Too many people on the road not looking. All the locals warned us and they were right. We had a good time exploring the island and we spent about 2000. more than we normally do. I've heard the Cayman's are the same way. Watch your valuables-take only what you need.

The locals are delightful......Get Bill Bailey and family to take you around in his fun taxi.

If hotel was ranked a four star- I would have given it 5 stars!

Get your act together Mandarin!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Need2ski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We recently returned from Elbow Beach and had a great stay. Based on the recommendations in this site, we reserved a Premium garden room which was near the beach. The room was new and modern with plasma TV's and marble bathrooms. It was kept very clean. The only downside is that it is a bit of a walk to the main hotel and pool. But this was not a problem because the paths to the hotel are a pleasant walk and it is easy to get the shuttle to pick you up if needed. This hotel has the nicest combination a beach and pool. The beach is clean and beautiful and the pool is big and deep. Both have plenty of umbrellas. Both are clean and well maintained. The service at both facilities are great. We will return soon. I think if they fully renovate all of their rooms they will receive more consistent reviews. The food was not great but I we prefer to dine out and it is a sort cab ride into Hamilton

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paget Parish
6.3 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
825 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,801 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,079 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elbow Beach, Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Property: Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Address: 60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elbow Beach, Bermuda 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbow Beach is Bermuda's only luxury beachfront resort. Lanai-style patios are featured with each of our 98 guestrooms and suites, spread amongst 50 acres of tropical gardens sloping down to the longest private pink sand beach on the island. Each of our elegantly appointed rooms and suites have been enhanced with modern in-room entertainment systems, luxurious soft furnishings, iPod docking stations, personal espresso machines and upgraded bathroom facilities. Facilities include a holistic spa, swimming pool, fitness room, recreation lounge, tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elbow Beach, Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Hotel Paget
Mandarin Oriental Paget
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Paget Parish
Elbow Beach Hotel Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing