We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wondeful time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wondeful time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

What a wonderful visit my family and I had at Elbow Beach.

Although the Mandarine is no longer there the (New Management is wonderful). Everyone was very friendly to my entire family. Even though there was not alot for the kids to do they had a great time and the mangement team said they are working on being more child friendly. (To my husband and I that is very important to use because we love having our children with us.) They also said they are bringing back the Kids club as they were decorating it as we were there. How nice.
They also have babysitting services if needed. My children also had a great time when we were eating at the Sea Breeze restaurant because they played soccor with all the other children. The day we were leaving Mickeys opened up. This restaurant is great and right on the beach as we had lunch our children had lunch and also built sandcastles.
The beach is beautiful, soft pink sand and bright blue water.

They also had a couple of weddings there while we were there. Wow how beautiful.

Houskeeping great, complimentary water and wonferful friendly staff.

Thank you again and can't wait to see all the new changes coming to Elbow Beach. Heard the hotel might be coming back. So Excited and bet the views will be unbeilavable.

Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    248
    105
    87
    37
See reviews for
213
366
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wormleysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I arrived at Elbow Beach on opening day after being either closed or in the midst of new management taking over (3/31/14). My business colleague was the first person to check in and I may have been the 3rd! The staff was very attentive, since we were the only guests at the hotel for a day or two.
I found that the room was very comfortable - king bed, sofa, desk area, outside deck and a very spacious bathroom with a separate shower and tub.

The beach area was nice, but don't plan on going for a loooong walk on the beach. The beach area extends past both sides of the Elbow beach property for only about 1/6 mile before it becomes rocky. Just one thing that was a little annoying, but if you don't mind walking back and forth on the same stretch of beautiful beach - no problem.

I ate breakfast at the hotel on two mornings and had lunch twice. It was lovely to eat and look out at the ocean. The staff was wonderful and service was terrific. The food was good and had good portions.

I enjoyed my time at Elbow Beach; it certainly was one of the better 'work' locations that I have had. I hope to come back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shipokemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here over easter wknd. when we booked about a month ago, it was part of mandarin oriental - when we showed up, it was no longer managed by mandarin oriental (and no one emailed us about this). Upon showing up, we were disappointed bc there was no door man. There was no one to greet us at all, until we walked past the lobby to the check in counter. Our room was not ready, so our luggage was tagged to be put into storage (we arrived at abt 11am). We didnt mind and went to have lunch instead. Of the 3 restaurants, only 1 was open (Mikey's bistro was closed the entire time we were there - i dont think they will be open for another month - and even though there were 2 remaining restaurants, the kitchen is the same). We took a golf cart down to the beach/restaurant area - they were in between (1145am vs. 12pm) their breakfast (where they served eggs) and lunch (where no eggs are served) and the waiter refused to budge so that the kitchen will prepare scrambled eggs for our 3 yr old daughter while we waited and ordered from the lunch menu. The food was mediocre at best and def not worth the value we paid. We had 6 meals there (3 were bkfast, 0 alcoholic drinks) and spent $1k. One night we ordered room service (no food after 9pm!) - and instead of chicken noodle soup, they gave me alphabet soup. Kinda unprofessional. One day, we ordered a fruit smoothie and it was so bitter, it was undrinkable! Cleaning service was good other than the fact that wifi didnt work for a day and a half until they finally sent an IT person, and they forgot to give us shampoo & conditioner until we requested it. Nice that they gave us bottles of water though. The pro was the beach - the attendants at the beach were wonderful, the sand, the water, the cleanliness of the restrooms and how it was usually empty. If not for the beach, this hotel would not even get 3 stars.

Room Tip: ocean view is a def but there are def a few close to the beach where your balcony faces/is seen by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GraceyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was our third visit to Elbow Beach, and once again we had a wonderful stay. From the immaculately maintained grounds which are spectacular to the stunning beach itself, the setting is one which when visited, will stay forever.

Minor criticisms: the main part of the hotel is not used which is a shame. On our first visit in '09, the main part of the hotel was used for dining and a bar which created an excellent atmosphere - having re-visited in '10 & '13 it is a great shame that this part of the property is not used. The food and beverage experience has declined as a result (the onsite restaurant is run independent), although the staff at Mickey's had improved their attitude towards Elbow Beach residents in '13 when we returned from '10 when we were a little underwhelmed.

Quiet, tranquil but superbly located hotel - very easy to get into Hamilton and to navigate arround the island (which itself is well worth the visit). The staff were very friendly, calm and attentive - on two of our visits we had a Hurricane ('09) and a Tropical Storm ('13) and on both occassions, staff ensured that we were safe, comfortable and kept entertained. Spa is first class, and gym, although small, is well maintained, clean and airy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmb8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
309 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at the Elbow Beach Hotel for 6 nights w/c 7th April 2014. There were a lot of mixed reviews on Trip Advisor about this hotel however as the hotel was managed by The Mandarin Oriental (up until 31st March 2014) and based on the fact it was right on the beach we decided this is where we wanted to stay. The grounds are approximately 50 acres and on the grounds there is the main hotel (the rooms in the hotel are not used) and lots of other guest blocks. We chose a premier ocean room with king bed. Our room was situated in the Alamanda block. There are around 9 rooms per block and depending on which room type you choose will depend on which block you stay in. Our block gave us a view of the ocean however other blocks do not.
The hotel had been closed for 3 months because of the change of management. We checked in at the main hotel (thank you Sandy for your help) and were then driven down to our room by Webster (such a lovely friendly man) who showed us into our room and the amenities. We were very happy with our room. We had a king size bed with a sofa, workstation and TV which had plenty of storage space. Walking from the bedroom to the bathroom, on the left hand size is a large wardrobe with plenty of hangers and hanging space as well as a chest of drawers. Opposite is the double sink with large mirror. In the large bathroom there is a bath, wc and separate shower. We had a terrace with 2 sunbeds and gorgeous views overlooking the ocean. The room was very clean. Housekeeping came twice a day. One of the things that really annoys me about hotels is the lack of bottles of water or bottles of water you have to pay for. Bottles of water should be free in hotels and this was the case here. We had complimentary water, which was replenished as and when we needed – we had 4 bottles in the fridge when we left!! Wi-Fi – very important for us… worked perfectly in the room. All you had to do was accept the terms and conditions and you were logged in. When we left the hotel our devices connected automatically to the Wi-Fi when we returned. We saw the pool area (attached to the main hotel) but did not use it as we spent our days visiting the island.
We did not have room service however we did have breakfast in the Seabreeze restaurant situated on the grounds - once – it was very expensive for what you got which was a standard breakfast menu!!!
The private beach… A 2 minute walk from our room and you find yourself in paradise. The sand was so beautiful and soft to walk on and the turquoise water was amazing. We walked along the beach most days…
Overlooking the beach was the hotel bar… we spent a lot of time here mainly because of the staff… The barman Shayne was brilliant. A really nice guy who made our stay at the bar each evening very enjoyable and our bar bill very high!!! Marvin was also really nice but we only saw him a couple of times. The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed but professional at the same time.
We really couldn’t have asked for a better hotel, with a better beach in a better location. Everything worked well and if we were to return to Bermuda we would return to the Elbow Beach Hotel…

Room Tip: The Premier Ocean View room is a must ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I'm a little behind with my reviews,but my wife and I stayed here for our 20th anniversary. We will definitely be back. Our suite was right on the beach, suite was large and well done. Although most of the grounds and building exteriors looked a little tired, the interior of our room was modern and stylish.

The staff was great and very helpful.
The beach was fantastic.

Just a few minors annoyances:

Beach service was non existent where we sat which was in front of our room. Which is away from the main dining area on the beach. This was disappointing, but only a minor annoyance. It would have been nice to get a frozen drink or two without having to schlep up the beach to get it.

The fitness center was underwhelming. If you like to work out with weights this ain't the place. Just a few treadmills and a few weights.

The two annoyances are far outweighed by the positive experience we had there. We will go back.




Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DELTABRAVO93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed over July 4th week for 5 days with my boyfriend. We came to Bermuda for a wedding, and chose to stay offsite at Elbow Beach. We LOVED it! The beach itself was amazing, the room was nice, and the food was excellent -- loved the green juice and muesli for breakfast and great salads and seafood salads for lunch. Had a great time and would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paget Parish
6.3 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elbow Beach, Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Property: Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Address: 60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elbow Beach, Bermuda 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbow Beach is Bermuda's only luxury beachfront resort. Lanai-style patios are featured with each of our 98 guestrooms and suites, spread amongst 50 acres of tropical gardens sloping down to the longest private pink sand beach on the island. Each of our elegantly appointed rooms and suites have been enhanced with modern in-room entertainment systems, luxurious soft furnishings, iPod docking stations, personal espresso machines and upgraded bathroom facilities. Facilities include a holistic spa, swimming pool, fitness room, recreation lounge, tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Elbow Beach, Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Hotel Paget
Mandarin Oriental Paget
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Paget Parish
Elbow Beach Hotel Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing