We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Fourways Inn(Paget Parish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dawkin's Manor(Paget Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palms Hotel(Hamilton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elbow Beach, Bermuda(Paget Parish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sandpiper(Warwick Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Syl-den Apartments(Warwick Parish)
View Hotel
Clairfont Apartments(Warwick Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveler rating
600
234
51
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
234
51
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeau rivageone bedroom suiteinfinity poolgolf coursefree shuttlewater shuttlepublic ferryhotel ferryfull kitchenhamilton harborhuge balconyfrench restaurantfree ferry to hamiltonblu restaurantgolf clubshuttle service to the beachhot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
641 - 646 of 914 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Newstead for a wedding (4 nights), and when checking in, we were pleased with the overall appearance of the property and our rooms. However it did not take us long to realize that so many important elements were lacking and it made our experience frustrating and miserable.

I guess it started with that the free hotel shuttle did not come to pick us up at the airport, although we scheduled three weeks prior. (We later found out they did not have our return shuttle reservation in order either). The front desk staff were right out unfriendly, and I was spoken to very rudely by one of them on one occasion. Even going into the lobby was uncomfortable- it seemed like we were inconveniencing them- they were more interested in chatting with one another.

I must mention that this hotel is under receivership, which is apparent as there was never a manager present and the staff overall at the hotel seemed very untrained in the service industry. When ordering food by the pool, it would come out without any silverware, plates or napkins. This happened on numerous occasions. The breakfast at Beau Rivage, although not bad food, usually took up to an hour (slow service) and often they got the order wrong. The housekeeping would often clean our rooms at 3:00pm when we would get back from the beach etc, which is too late in my opinion.

Overall, a hotel without professional staff and management makes a frustrating experience- especially when paying $$$ (Bermuda in general is expensive).

I do have to mention that one person who always had a smile on her face was Betty Ann in the pool bar. She was lovely- but unfortunately the only one.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay, ask for one of the cottages near the water.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AniWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSB084, Front Office Manager at Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Good day AniWard,

Thank you for choosing Newstead Belmont Hills and thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us. We take all feedback very seriously and will address the comments in all areas you have mentioned.

Feel free to contact me if you wish to discuss further.

Regards,
Kamila
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Belmont and were very impressed. We had a suite of 3 rooms with a patio that overlooked Hamilton Harbor. It was the perfect size for our family of 5. The rooms were nicely decorated & very clean. We enjoyed the infinity pool which has a spectacular view of the harbor. We had dinner in the resort's restaurant. Expensive but a great meal! Really delicious souffle! The only down side is that there's no beach with the resort. My boys didn't seem to mind because we rode all over the island on mopeds. If you have younger children & need easy access to a beach, you may want a different place.



  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2goawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Truly enjoyed our stay in May. Weather was great. Staff was very helpful including the guy that drove us back and forth from Blu restaurant as well as the beach at Coco Reef.
Definitely recommend this hotel due to its central location on the island.
Also really enjoyed the service of Betty Ann at the pool bar. She was great!
Would definitely come back to this property - it was well priced for Bermuda and the amenities it provided.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenR032777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our family recently stayed there to attend a wedding at The Reefs. Our rooms were beautiful. The staff was very friendly and ready to help for any queries. Located across from Hamilton with a complimentary ferry shuttle ride available getting around was a breeze. The restaurant food was amazing and room service was top notch. Loved this place, would never consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite is the way to go!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

After carefully reviewing many hotels in Bermuda for a weekend getaway from Boston we decided to stay at the Newstead; it turned out to be a great decision. The good...the location is great, we chose the Newstead over some others since it was close to the variety that Hamilton offers, it has a great pool, and was cozy. We had a studio 210, with a king-sized bed that was down from the main building and close to water, it had a nice set of lounge chairs outside and good little kitchen to store some breakfast, snacks, and wine we picked up in Hamilton. Very clean and modern and the housekeeping staff was very good. The front desk staff was great, made reservations for us, provided great advise, etc. We rented scooters and had a beach-hooping day so don't worry about not being on the beach, in fact we used the beach at CoCoReefs at Elbow (they have a reciprocal agreement with the Newstead) as well as Horseshoe and Long Beach.

Dined or drank at, Bolero (great) , PortOCall (best for drinks) , Pickled Onion (feel like a chain but good for light lunch), and then SeaBreeze (good tapas) and the other beach restaurant at Elbow Beach.

Now for the 'less positive aspects': We only had lunch at the restaurant on the first day, we dined outside but when I first walked into the restaurant from the inside building it just had a wet/mildew smell that I could not get out on my head and since the lunch was only OK we were not in a rush to dine there. I wish the water taxi ran a little more frequently (like maybe one 'late' night return from Hamilton or a little later on Saturday afternoon. The Friday Happy Hour was certainly a good deal (drinks were $6 instead of the typical $12-$15) but the that aspect of the staff could have been a little nicer (pool/bar staff). Finally it is great the wifi is free but you get what you pay for, it was in-and-out at the room and the same by the pool/restaurant.

Just a tip, Wednesday and Friday seem to be the popular/fun night, Saturday all is open but Friday's is bigger and on Sunday a lot is closed but there are still options. A taxi to Hamilton or Elbow beach ran about $10.

There might be nicer hotels on the island but I think you would be hard pressed to find a better value, while in Hamilton we stopped by the Fairmont and considering the price it would be a good value too but the Newstead just seemed much more intimate and perfect for the long weekend getaway. We were very happy and just recommended it to some friends for an upcoming visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews