We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awful cancellation policy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of OceanWinds Villa & Bed and Breakfast

OceanWinds Villa & Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
OceanWinds Villa & Bed and Breakfast
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful cancellation policy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I made my reservations way in advance of my trip which was scheduled for June, but decided to cancel. I canceled my reservation in April, almost 2 months prior to my scheduled arrival and I was still charged a $100 cancellation fee. Do yourself a favor and stay at Clairfont Apartments. For the same price, you can get a very clean, nicely furnished one- bedroom apartment just a five-minute walk from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tcasey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Beatiful location. Meridith and John are very warm and hosptiable hosts, and gave excellent advice for dining and shops. We had use of the front guest room with ensuite, the main lounge/living room and the front veranda which overlooks Warwick's Long Bay, Jobson's Cove and Stonehole Bay, just a few minutes walk down to the beach. Horseshoe Bay and two nice places to dine are within walking distance. Bus stops are within 200m, with buses normally every 30 minutes, giving easy access to Hamilton, St. Georges or Dockyard. The room is not large, but comfortable with a king size bed, small table, small fridge and A/C. Having spent a week on the island and seeing many areas and hotels, we believe we stayed at one of the best kept secrets on the island and would be happy to return to Oceanswinds

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ambassador2C520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I can honestly say that, after staying at Oceanwinds, I'll seek out B & B's in the future before looking at hotels.
There was plenty of room for my father and I to spread out (since they offer exclusive use of their living room with satellite tv) and the bedroom was generous in size and VERY relaxing. In fact neither of us has slept that well in a very long time.
The beaches across the street are world class and very quiet and access to the ultra-handy public transit system is less than 100 yards away.
If we were going back to Bermuda we'd definitely seek out Oceanwinds again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

We needed to change our reservations, and they charged us $80! When we clarified how unclear the webpage's cancellation policy is & we were not aware we would be charged so much, they responded that it was our problem. After 2 emails, they stopped responding. We were so disappointed, we felt it was important to warn future visitors to READ THE CANCELLATION POLICY CAREFULLY before booking. No matter WHAT the circumstance, they will NOT return your money if you cancel. There are other reasonable hotels/B&Bs that have more reasonable cancellation policies. We never got the chance to stay here nor would we due to the inflexibility of the owners.

Sincerely,
Dissapointed from Massachusetts

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
4 Thank mass123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Warwick Parish hotels

Midwest, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

My husband and I spent the last week of May here, flying in on a Friday afternoon, and leaving the next Friday morning. Meredith arranged a pickup at the airport for us, and a ride back the following week. Our taxi driver stopped at a grocery story along the way, at our request, and for just a bit more money, and waited while we stocked up on sandwich fixings, fruit, wine, and snacks. We brought liquor with us from the U.S., and with these items, we had the makings of a picnic whenever we wanted, and drinks on the porch every evening. This has to be one of the best porches on the island, and it overlooks the most beautiful stretch of beach too. We spent many happy hours here looking at the Warwick Long Bay, watching the traffic on the South Road, listening to the kiskadees during the day, and the frogs at night, and some evenings chatting with our hostess.

Our room was very clean, simply furnished, and quite comfortable. The room and bathroom are fairly small, but we also had use of the adjoining living room, and that room led to the porch, so we never felt that it was too small. Though we were sharing a house with our hosts, it felt very private because they stay in the back part of the house when they are home, and they are both busy and gone a lot of the time. Meredith was very helpful every day, answering our questions, and often joined us on the porch (at our invitation) and had a glass of wine and chatted with us. She's a lovely and interesting person. The house is right on the South Rd. and is steps away from a bus stop, and the whole island is accessible by bus. Across the road, and only about a two minute downhill walk is the end of Warwick Long Bay. From that beach you can walk about 1.5 miles (I'm guessing on this...it took us about 30 minutes to walk), to Horseshoe Bay, which is always noted as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. With the exception of Horseshoe Bay, we were amazed every time we were on the South Shore beaches that there were so few people there. It was like having your own (nearly) private paradise.

If this house has any negatives, it is that there are no restaurants that are really close, but you can take a quick bus, cab, or scooter ride to dozens that are along the South Rd. in either direction. We didn't miss any meals! We'd go back to Bermuda in a minute, and would always consider a stay at Oceanwinds.

  • Liked — Proximity to South Shore beaches and great host
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jflyte22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

We spent 4 days in Bermuda which I would say is just about right. Warwick is an excellent place to stay if you like to be in proximity to some of the best beaches on the island. Merdith and John only have one room in their bnb and that room overlooks the ocean. We chose this guest house as accomodation in Bermuda is very expensive, a 2star hotel was about $277/night and Ocean Winds is about $150 plus tax. The breakfast consists of a glass of juice, toast or a bagel, a small portion of fruit and cereal. The lighthouse which is a short bus ride away does very appetizing breakfasts. You also need to put your crockery away in the dishwasher to deter ants and bugs( we spotted a large roach) so if you are used to being pampered then this wouldn't be the place for you.
On the downside, there is no lock on the door to our room, however they really do give you your privacy. They also allow you to use their tv room though I did sometimes feel that I was imposing a little on their space but perhaps that's just me.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved the perfect location of the guest-house and the hospitality of the owners. Meredith knows an awful lot about the island and is extremely nice and helpful.

  • Liked — The views of the ocean.
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sordnaxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conneticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Dwight and I, being confirmed B&B types, found Oceanwinds to be exactly what we were looking for on our visit ever to Bermuda. It was like being in a friend's home that felt like our home. Our room had everything we needed (loved having all those clothes hangers - that never happens). The view was real - not a touched up photo. It is just as the web-site shows it and can be seen from the porch and our adjacent room. Hearing the waves at night was frosting on the cake. Our hosts - Meredith and John - gave us all the help we asked for and yet they completely respected our privacy. It was hard to leave.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel10conneticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick Parish
2.8 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
2.4 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 3,166 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OceanWinds Villa & Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OceanWinds Villa & Bed and Breakfast

Property: OceanWinds Villa & Bed and Breakfast
Address: Clouds Avenue, South Road, WK02, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick Parish
Hotel Class:2.5 star — OceanWinds Villa & Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your OceanWinds Villa & Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanwinds Villa Hotel Warwick
Oceanwinds Villa & b&b
Oceanwinds Villa And Bed And Breakfast
OceanWinds Villa & Bed And Breakfast Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing