We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming guest house in a surprisingly good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warwick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granaway Guest House & Cottages
Reviewed June 18, 2009

My husband and I just got back from a long weekend (babymoon) in Bermuda. After looking at a number of reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to take a chance on the Granaway, and were pleasantly surprised.

Firstly, we weren't expecting a sea view from our room (we were in the Pink or Rose Room) from where we could watch the sunset right from our bed. There is also a small balcony on the second floor just off the dining room where you could sit and look out onto the sea. It was also very quiet despite being right off of Harbour Road.

We had read others' negative reviews about the distance to the ferry dock and bus stop, but despite being seven and a half months pregnant, I managed to get around pretty well. (The trick to getting to the ferry, as our hostess Carol advised us, was to walk along the golf course instead of on Harbour Road which is very narrow and has no pavement. You just had to watch for golf balls...) Warwick Parish is centrally located on the island; although you won't be surrounded by shops and restaurants like in Hamilton, it's a quick (~15 mins) ferry ride away to Hamilton. From Hamilton you can then catch the ferry to the western tip (Naval Dockyard) or the eastern tip (St. George's). To get to the south shore beaches you would take two buses to get there.

We enjoyed the breakfast that Michael and Francisco served us every morning on fine vintage china, and the company of the other guests around the dining table. We had warm toast, fresh muffins, a small cup of cut fruits, and either boiled/poached eggs or hot waffles every morning, and freshly brewed tea or coffee poured out of antique silver pots.

Don't expect five star luxury because you won't get it here. But if you're looking for a charming b&b which makes you feel like you're visiting family, you may find this place right for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAPCambridgeMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 125 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2009

I just returned from staying at this guest house and it was a very memorable experience. Besides the great room amenities (full cable TV, complimentary high speed internet access, microwave, refrigerator), the two hosts Carol and Mike were extremely generous and friendly, and truly welcome you, very much as previous reviewers have mentioned.

Breakfast was good, very British inspired, tea, toast, muffins, and eggs.

Some minor things...they are located closer to the ferry stop than the bus stop however the road to walk to the ferry has NO sidewalks so you must walk carefully, and as previous reviewers have noted the roads in Bermuda are narrow and very curvy. Also the bus stop is a steep walk up a hill, so I would recommend this hotel more for the active and fit. It's also not that direct to get to the beach, you have to take two buses or walk and the walk is very strenuous (up and down hills). However once you get on the bus or ferry, it's only 15 minutes to Hamilton, where you can then connect to buses and/or ferries to other parts of the island.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed here for five days and loved it. The ferry is about eight minutes away, the bus no more than six minutes including a short incline. We are both in our late sixties and found the walks easy even though I have two artificial knees. The hosts are wonderful and there's a terrific restaurant (Blu) about six minutes away across the golf course. We woud return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReddOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

My wife and I have never stayed at a B&B before, but after staying at the Granaway, we are convinced it was the way to go. We stayed there in late May (I'm a little late in writing the review) for our honeymoon. After a long trip from California we were pleasantly greeted by Carol and Michael. We were welcomed as if we were family and they made us feel right at home.

The house is great, each room is very clean, good in size, and has it's own bath, seating area, refrig, and microwave. (our room had a great view of the water).

Breakfast was fantastic, consisting of fresh baked muffins, bread, fresh fruit, and eggs, juice and coffee. (you could either eat at the dinning table which had a great view of the water, or in the garden which smelled beautiful from all the flowers.)

The location was perfect !!!! We couldn't have asked for a better location. Only a short scooter ride to south beaches and only a short ride to Hamilton for evening entertainment. Also, you could walk to the golf course.

This is a great place to stay because when you return from your day, you feel like you are coming back to your own house. It's quite, private, and Francisco will take great care of you if you need anything for your room.

Carol and Michael were great host and they are happy to share their wealth of information about the Island. Granaway helped us have a great honeymoon !! Thanks Carol, Michael, and Francisco.

Todd and Mary

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginiaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

HITS
Considering hotels are US$300 and up in Bermuda, paying US$170 per night for a last minute trip wasn't so bad. The room we stayed in was very large, had a king size bed, was very clean and had space for us to keep our belongings. Carol was away, so our interactions were with Michael and his helper, Francisco. They are very nice and welcoming and MIchael provided helpful information (when asked) particularly on how to get around, a dive shop recommendation, accommodated a feather allergy, etc.

The upstairs has a lovely sitting area and view of the ocean, as did our room. Because Michael didn't have someone checking in the day we left, he let us have a late check out and come back to our room and shower and change before our flight, without an additional charge, which was very nice.

Our room had a fridge, which came in handy. Their helper Francisco helped us with luggage, and a good deal on bus passes.


MISSES
By way of background, we are a couple in our mid 30s from NYC who travel frequently and have stayed quite comfortably in spartan bungalows in Puerto Rico, homey B&Bs in the Catskills, and fancy resorts in the Dominican Republic. You get the picture. We go with the flow, depending on where we are and what we need. That being said, there are some expectations we had, taking into account we were at a B&B in Bermuda at $170 per night, that were not met.

Breakfast is at 9am. We had to leave earlier than that to make it to the dive boat, and were told by Michael they would set something out for us to have to eat in the morning, but on both days we needed this, nothing was left out for us. Michael did apologize on the last day, when we did actually get to have breakfast. It is a good thing we didn't rely on this and had brought some snacks with us, or we would've been out for 6 hours without having eaten anything at all - as there really is no place nearby to get food. If you plan on doing morning dives, don't count on having any of the Breakfast of the B&B part of this place, just the Bed! When we did get to eat, the breakfast was very good, but was somewhat sparse as mentioned in other reviews (the lone piece of french toast looked a bit forlorn on the plate by itself, but the chocolate muffin was divine).

We were told in advance that beach towels were provided, so we didn't bring them along. What was provided on each day, however, were stained frayed towels that were smaller than bath towels and had a bad smell to them - they really were inadequate for going to the beach.

Our A/C was also in need of some repair - it made a lot of noise at night and we woke up when the compressor turned on/off. To be transparent, we didn't complain about it, however. There are sometimes nice breezes, so you don't always need the A/C.

The outside grounds are somewhat neglected. The pool was in need of a cleaning and the chairs set out by the pool had cobwebs and had dried droppings (looked like it was from small fruit fallen from nearby bushes). The inside of the home, however, particularly the upstairs dining and sitting area were well taken care of with beautiful antiques.

OTHER INFO
We didn't mind the 15 minute hike up a steep hill to the bus stop, nor the 30 minute hike to the beach as we walk frequently where we leave -- but if you don't rent scooters, you will need to hike to the bus or the ferry or pay for expensive cabs to get around, as this B&B is not within walking distance of towns or beaches unless you mind relatively steep walks up and down roads that are narrow, have few sidewalks and fast speeding cars and scooters. It's about a $15 cab ride to Hamilton, and a $30 cab ride to the B&B from the airport.

No amenities in the bathroom except a small bar of soap. This is the norm for some B&Bs, while others provide shampoo, hairdryers, etc. so just know to bring your own.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ladyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

This is our second year in a row staying at Granaway and once again it was a wonderful vacation. Carol and Michael are really lovely hosts. It is like visiting family and they are just delightful people. Their helper Francisco is just wonderful as well. We always look forward to breakfast while staying there and they never disappoint. Everyday it consists of fresh baked muffins, toast, eggs and fruit. Chatting with other guests during this time is a great way to start the day. It is such a nice time in the morning to share stories with everyone.
Last year we stayed in the guest cottage which was really nice. It has everything you would need to dine in if you wished while staying. Also, it has a private yard surrounded with beautiful flowers.
This year we stayed in the main house. Really, for us it was better since we never once used the kitchen in the cottage the year before and felt a little detached from everyone. Our room (the blue room) has a comfortable queen bed, large bathroom and plenty of closet space/a/c etc. They also decorate it with many personal touches reflecting Carol's great style. All the rooms come with a microwave, mini refrigerator, plates, glasses etc for making a snack if you wish. The rooms are cleaned immaculately daily when you leave for the day. You really have an amazing amount of privacy there too. Most of the time you feel as if you are in your own private residence!
The view from their veranda just off the dining room is spectacular. You overlook the Harbor and the sunsets are breathtaking. They have one of the most beautiful pools as well. it also is immaculately clean which is amazing considering the gardens and Palms hovering around it. I never have seen a speck in that pool! Also, I swear they use practically no chlorine, it seems like pure fresh water. It was only about 86 degrees too when we were there. Nice for an evening swim.
What else to sat about Granaway....we love it and adore Carol and Michael. We appreciate the history of the house and how hard they work to keep it as pristine as possible. But it is an older house. Keep that in mind, we live in one in Phila so we understand. Sometimes it is the imperfections that make it perfect. We look forward to returning for many years to come.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cheriev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

If you're tired of staying at hotels that all look the same and offer the same amenities, then you must stay at Granaway Guest House in Warwick, Bermuda. Carol and Michael Ashton treated us like part of their family from the moment we arrived until the time we left. Granaway is a beautiful historic home where we felt as though we were still in the 18th Century. Situated on a hill overlooking Hamilton Harbor, we experienced breathtaking views of the stunning blue harbor from the front of the house, and the lovely gardens surrounding the peaceful outdoor swimming pool from the back of the house. Breakfast was served in the gorgeous backyard garden on the many beautiful, sunny days Bermuda has to offer. However, on the occasional rainy morning, we were served breakfast in the Dining Room, which has the most amazing view of the harbor there could possibly ever be! In the Dining Room we also enjoyed dining with the other guests who were from all parts of the world. After just a few short minutes, we felt as though we'd all been life-long friends and even promised to stay in touch with each other after we left! We've been on many vacations in the past, but our stay at Granaway was the most enjoyable we've ever experienced! We will definitely stay with Michael and Carol (and Francisco, who we also adore!) the next time we go to Bermuda!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DawnStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick Parish
1.2 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
894 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
849 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Aunt Nea's Inn
Aunt Nea's Inn
#1 of 1 in St. George's Parish
46 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,141 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granaway Guest House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granaway Guest House & Cottages

Address: Harbour Road | PO Box WK 533, WK BX, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick Parish
Price Range: $130 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Granaway Guest House & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granaway is a Bermudian bed and breakfast. The manor house was built in 1734 and is a registered historic property. There is a water front patio excellent for relaxing and watching the sunset or for swimming and snorkeling in the summer. The pool is set in a lush walled in garden area. There is a gate onto the Belmont Hills Golf Course. Breakfast is served in the dining room, in the garden or in your room if you prefer. Granaway has a central location in Warwick Parish and it is only a 5-10 minute walk to either the ferry or the bus. All rooms have a water view, cable TV and wireless access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granaway Guest House And Cottages
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Hotel Warwick
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing