We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bermuda by way of b&b....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warwick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granaway Guest House & Cottages
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Granaway House, Bermuda.. This old house on the harbour was a nice alternative to the pricey hotels down here it was fairly comfortable but alot of things need updating i.e bathroom in general, shower, lighting ,etc.... seems its not being maintained the way it should .... we were in the royale room . nice view of the harbour. wasn't the cleanest place i ever stayed but we managed ... bed had a few miles on it but my back didn't ache in the morning .. nice pool out back very private in fact it was a bit chilly we were there in spring but in summer it would be great for a late night skinny dip with your honey ... we enjoyed our selfs here we met some very nice people .. breakfast wasn't what us americans would call a big meal every day mostly the same thing .... holy cow the same damn thing again !!!.. All the mornings it went like this first a very small mediocre fruit cup boring really wheat toast not buttered .. some form of and egg, coffee or tea.. a little variety would have been nice... french toast ??? how about pancakes? One day I think we had scones and small sausage links .. anyway the place was friendly 10 minutes to Hamilton. Overall we enjoyed it but you get what you pay for ..

3  Thank normanMorrisCountyNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 124 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights last week. I was told over the phone that the ferry was 5 minutes away...across the street, even...if you have been to Bermuda, you will note how narrow the roads are and walled in...you absolutely take your life into your hands to reach it. Then if you want to travel by bus, you have to make about a 20 min. walk up and down large hills the other way to reach the bus stop. This place is so isolated that once you leave for the day, you cannot return because it is too hard to do. There is not a store within 20 minutes. If you forget something, you are just plain out of luck!!!
The room was ok, but the TV something like a 17" screen, the bathroom from 1950 and the breakfast practically non-existent. Oh, I am sorry we ran out of eggs! Typical breakfast: 1 egg, small juice, coffee with MILK, very small cup of fruit and rolls. The last morning the eggs ran out and we were offered cereal! Also the pool is not heated and kind of neglected. In fact the whole place needs a lot of work, inside and out. The pictures on their website do not reflect what you will find there. I would NOT STAY HERE IF I WERE YOU, UNLESS YOU LIKE TO BE ALONE!!! and I mean REALLY ISOLATED!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackjackOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

My friends and I just returned from our stay at Granaway, and we all had the best time! Carol and Michael are quite simply the most gracious hosts. By the end of our trip, they were like old friends. Carol made sure we had everything we needed while we were there. She made reservations for us, called cabs for us, and gave us many suggestions of places to try and places to see. We stayed in the Palmetto room and were very pleased! It was very comfortable with a large King bed and two couches, one with a pull out bed. It also offered ample privacy. Breakfast was served each morning promptly by Francisco, who's so nice and very funny! :) Overall, It's a very friendly establishment with the perfect location, close to the ferry and Hamilton and also to the famous South shore beaches. It is also awesome that Granaway has a pool. It's not your everyday B&B. Spending some time at the end of each day by the pool made it bittersweet. We are all thrilled that we chose to stay at Granaway and will definitely be returning! Thanks for an amazing vacation!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lbcooch8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CitySurfer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank seanraleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank peppersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

Stayed: October 2005
8  Thank K_The_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick Parish
1.6 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
842 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fourways Inn
Fourways Inn
#4 of 5 in Paget Parish
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
544 reviews
10.5 mi away
Aunt Nea's Inn
Aunt Nea's Inn
#1 of 1 in St. George's Parish
44 reviews
7.7 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granaway Guest House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granaway Guest House & Cottages

Address: Harbour Road | PO Box WK 533, WK BX, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick Parish
Price Range: $130 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Granaway Guest House & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granaway is a Bermudian bed and breakfast. The manor house was built in 1734 and is a registered historic property. There is a water front patio excellent for relaxing and watching the sunset or for swimming and snorkeling in the summer. The pool is set in a lush walled in garden area. There is a gate onto the Belmont Hills Golf Course. Breakfast is served in the dining room, in the garden or in your room if you prefer. Granaway has a central location in Warwick Parish and it is only a 5-10 minute walk to either the ferry or the bus. All rooms have a water view, cable TV and wireless access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granaway Guest House And Cottages
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Hotel Warwick
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing