We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Carefree, Comfortable and Cleansing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granaway Guest House & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warwick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granaway Guest House & Cottages
Save
You added Granaway Guest House & Cottages to your Saves list
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carefree, Comfortable and Cleansing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our 4th trip to Bermuda but the fist time we stayed on land. What a great vacation!! Bermuda remains safe, clean and utterly relaxing. The weather was fabulous, the water was refreshing and the beauty of the land and sea scapes never ends.

We searched the internet to find places to stay and became enchanted by the Granaway Guest House. We liked the central location. We were intrigued by the age of the home. There were lots and lots of positive reviews. So, we booked it.

If you are looking for a modern, luxurious resort with lots of amenities and constant activities then you are not suited for Granaway. However, if you are looking for a reasonable getaway location with unique ambiance, delightful conversation, open and caring attention and don't mind doing a bit of walking then nothing can beat Michael and Carol Ashton's wonderful home.

Each succesive Breakfast topped the one from the day before. The location has a beautiful view of the sound. The back yard garden and the pool are excellent. The harbor-side dock offers the best sunsets and a great place to swim and float. The bus and the ferry stop very nearby. Your hosts are exceedingly accomodating often offering a ride to the beach in the morning, allowing occassional use of the main kitchen and the back yard grill. Their right-hand-man, Francisco, is extremely attentive, making me an early press of coffee each morning as I sat on the balcony and read before the other guests arrived for breakfast.

Did I mention Olive and Maverick? As with most domesticated cats, if you don't want her near you Olive will find your lap. Maverick is always on the job making sure all is well. He's a great companion and loves getting his pets.

Some reviews mention road noise and mustiness in the downstairs rooms. I cannot argue, indeed this can be the case. The road noise begins to recede in ones mind after the first day of relaxing and the mustiness is a nartural by-product of a home of this age in this sub-tropical setting. I've experienced worse in modern hotels in places like Puerto Vallarta and even on Oahu. Pump up the air conditioning a bit to mitigate the problem..

We would definitely call Granaway our home-away-from-home when we return to Bermuda again.

Room Tip: The Cottage is great, and more private if you want to be more self sustaining. Of the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    25
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
69
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I traveled solo to visite my friendsin bermuda i stayed at granaway in harbor road for 7 days i loved it so much i enjoyed breakfast in bed with the view of hamilton in my window , swiming in the pool and sitting in the garden , i dont like pets but their doggie is so adorable i miss him so much oxoxox, my favoriate part is the sound of little frogs night time :) u dont hear that in new york ;)

i recommend granaway .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I recently had a wonderful stay at this fantastic guest house (we stayed in the cottage where we could use the kitchen to make local treats such as Bermuda Rum Cake and Bermuda Lemon cake - the latter recipe is on the cutting board on the wall!)

How we made room for anything to eat after the fantastic breakfasts (thanks Francisco!) I'll never know but we managed anyway...

Michael and Carol are the perfect hosts and go out of their way to make sure you have everything that you need for your stay and can help you organise anything that you want to during your stay - they really went out of their way for us.

We really hope to make a trip back their soon and can't recommend it highly enough.

If you are going to Bermuda and planning on staying here we are very jealous of you!

Laura and Francois Lepeltier

Room Tip: We had the cottage - quiet and peaceful with our own garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights while waiting for an apartment at Greenbank (all in the family). The single regret is that it should have been longer! A beautiful room overlooking Hamilton Harbor ... grounds that rival the Botanical Gardens with a pool. My personal highlight was using the Ashton's kitchen (with their gracious consent) to prepare Zuppa di Pesce from a recipe I picked up for fish stew in Amalfi ... all in all a magic visit!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My daughter and I just spent a week in Bermuda and stayed at the Granaway Guest House. Everything was wonderful about this vacation and better than expected. The location is perfect (5 minute walk to ferry, 25 minute walk across island to the beautiful ocean beach, 5 minute scooter ride to restaurants, 45 minute scooter ride to the Dockyards, 45-minute bus ride to St. George's Island), our daily morning mile swims in the harbor were heavenly, the rooms were lovely, the gardens were beautiful, the breakfast and accommodations were excellent. Carol and Michael were the best hosts.

I highly recommend this guest house not only as a convenient location to access the features and attractions on the island, but as a place to stay where you will not be disappointed and you will be treated extremely well.

Best regards,
Mona & Lauren

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We loved this b&b for so many reasons. First we found out this beautiful estate was once owned by a Russian Princess whom they bought the house from. The garden is so full of surprises around every corner with lots of places to sit and relax. Everytime I walked to my room I saw a different flower. We had two 10y/o boys with us so they of course did not care too much for the flowers, but they loved the pool and the dock where they fished everyday.
We stayed in the cottage which had a nice kitchen, sitting area, and outdoor patio and yard with a water view. The breakfast was yummy every morning with something different on the menu. At breakfast you could get to know the other guests and talk to Carol and Michael the owners, who are nice and interesting. We really felt good being there just by their welcoming hospitality. Some mornings we got a complimentary ride to the beach from Michael and made our way back by taxi, this worked out well. We walked to the bus stop a few times to go into Hamilton, the walk is up a hill then down, it took about 10 minutes for us to get there.
We often times rent a house so we don't get the same type of experience as we did in this b&b.
We can't wait to go back and have my sisters 50th birthday here.

Thanks again Carol and Micheal

Peggy and Jim

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegpog31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Granaway in July 2012 for our belated honeymoon / 2 year anniversary. I loved the old style charm and the grounds and pool were amazing. Francisco was extremely attentive and cooked a mean breakfast. Location was near ferry but the walk on the narrow road with no sidewalks was no fun, especially at night. We opted to rent a scooter which turned out to be a lot of fun once we got the hang of driving on the left hand side of the road. Our vacation was action packed with a fishing excursion on the Jolly Roger and a high speed jet ski tour around the island. Snorkling at Tabacco Bay was fantastic. Loved the accomodations and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick Parish
1.6 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granaway Guest House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granaway Guest House & Cottages

Property: Granaway Guest House & Cottages
Address: Harbour Road | PO Box WK 533, WK BX, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Granaway Guest House & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granaway is a Bermudian bed and breakfast. The manor house was built in 1734 and is a registered historic property. There is a water front patio excellent for relaxing and watching the sunset or for swimming and snorkeling in the summer. The pool is set in a lush walled in garden area. There is a gate onto the Belmont Hills Golf Course. Breakfast is served in the dining room, in the garden or in your room if you prefer. Granaway has a central location in Warwick Parish and it is only a 5-10 minute walk to either the ferry or the bus. All rooms have a water view, cable TV and wireless access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granaway Guest House And Cottages
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Hotel Warwick
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing