We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granaway Guest House & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warwick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granaway Guest House & Cottages
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We loved this b&b for so many reasons. First we found out this beautiful estate was once owned by a Russian Princess whom they bought the house from. The garden is so full of surprises around every corner with lots of places to sit and relax. Everytime I walked to my room I saw a different flower. We had two 10y/o boys with us so they of course did not care too much for the flowers, but they loved the pool and the dock where they fished everyday.
We stayed in the cottage which had a nice kitchen, sitting area, and outdoor patio and yard with a water view. The breakfast was yummy every morning with something different on the menu. At breakfast you could get to know the other guests and talk to Carol and Michael the owners, who are nice and interesting. We really felt good being there just by their welcoming hospitality. Some mornings we got a complimentary ride to the beach from Michael and made our way back by taxi, this worked out well. We walked to the bus stop a few times to go into Hamilton, the walk is up a hill then down, it took about 10 minutes for us to get there.
We often times rent a house so we don't get the same type of experience as we did in this b&b.
We can't wait to go back and have my sisters 50th birthday here.

Thanks again Carol and Micheal

Peggy and Jim

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegpog31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    25
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
69
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Granaway in July 2012 for our belated honeymoon / 2 year anniversary. I loved the old style charm and the grounds and pool were amazing. Francisco was extremely attentive and cooked a mean breakfast. Location was near ferry but the walk on the narrow road with no sidewalks was no fun, especially at night. We opted to rent a scooter which turned out to be a lot of fun once we got the hang of driving on the left hand side of the road. Our vacation was action packed with a fishing excursion on the Jolly Roger and a high speed jet ski tour around the island. Snorkling at Tabacco Bay was fantastic. Loved the accomodations and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Granaway is a very charming historic house right on Harbor Rd with 3 comfy guest rooms and a lovely cottage. Each guest room has a small fridg and microwave in addition to TV and AC. Bathrooms need to be updated a bit, but are serviceable. We had the Captain's room which is the smallest room and close to the road, but very comfortable and quiet except for the singing tree frogs at night! Breakfast is served at 9a.m. in a lovely, airy dining room with a beautiful view of the harbor. Carol, the owner, must be master gardener; the gardens are just as charming as the house itself, full of interesting flora which Carol will tell you about if you're interested. Swimming pool is great after a day of sightseeing. 10 minute walk to either the ferry , which runs to Hamilton, or to the bus. We opted for the 3-day transportation pass rather than renting scooters (easy!). Back gate goes to the Belmont golf course and a short 5 minute walk to Blu...an excellent restaurant. Both Carol and Michael are great hosts, and offer helpful suggestions for whatever your interests might be....dining, snorkeling, sailing, history, etc. All in all, a great place for a relaxing getaway with Bermudian charm and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fillysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay in this lovely guesthouse during mid-July 2012. Both Michael and Carol Ashton were friendly and very helpful hosts, and Francisco's attention to detail helped to make our stay extra comfortable.

The location of the guesthouse is very good, with a great view over Granaway Bay, although a reasonable walk from any of the main bus routes. It is quite close to a ferry terminal, although we wanted more flexibility to explore the island during our relatively short stay so hired a scooter.
Against comparable accommodation in Europe we felt that the nightly rate was a little expensive, although in the context of Bermuda hotels/guesthouses seemed pretty good value for money. Would definitely recommend for couples.

Matt & Juhee

Room Tip: We stayed in room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt8190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

great 2 nights at friendly guest house during the newport BErmuda race week. Michael and Carol were accomadating and the breakfast were great meeting people from arround the world. The pool and gardens are lovely and peaceful and very convenient for ferry and golf and dining at the Belmont

Room Tip: Great view from front rooms of harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank622
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I went back to granaway after not having stayed there for five years. The guest house was just as we remembered. The owners carol and michael we so warm and friendly and of course the breakfast was terrific. I would highly recommend granaway to anyone looking for a pleasant restful stay in Bermuda. Frank OReilly Fairfield ct

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Everyone you interact with here is friendly, sweet and makes you feel very welcome. The house, view and location are stunning. The breakfast was quite special and there was great care taken with the preparation and the presentation. If you like charming old houses and appreciate gorgeous grounds, this is the place for you. We'll be back - with children next time!!

Room Tip: This is a b & b ! We were in the rose room, but I would think all the rooms would be lovely, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick Parish
1.6 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
7.7 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granaway Guest House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granaway Guest House & Cottages

Property: Granaway Guest House & Cottages
Address: Harbour Road | PO Box WK 533, WK BX, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Granaway Guest House & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granaway is a Bermudian bed and breakfast. The manor house was built in 1734 and is a registered historic property. There is a water front patio excellent for relaxing and watching the sunset or for swimming and snorkeling in the summer. The pool is set in a lush walled in garden area. There is a gate onto the Belmont Hills Golf Course. Breakfast is served in the dining room, in the garden or in your room if you prefer. Granaway has a central location in Warwick Parish and it is only a 5-10 minute walk to either the ferry or the bus. All rooms have a water view, cable TV and wireless access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granaway Guest House And Cottages
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Hotel Warwick
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing