We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, casual accommodations with friendly, enthusiastic hosts.”
Review of Kingston House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingston House B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, casual accommodations with friendly, enthusiastic hosts.”
Reviewed March 2, 2009

The accommodations and breakfasts were marvelous. The knowledge of the hosts made Bermuda come to life as the locals see it. You don't get this in a hotel! The hosts generosity including a ride in the 'green rocket' to visit our son & friend elsewhere on the island made our third trip to Bermuda a 'new' experience. The relaxing 'common areas' that were available to us were much appreciated on our one rainy day in our week. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    22
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
187
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Friendly and knowledgeable hosts, great, generous breakfasts; the best treatment we have ever had in a B&B!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Braesyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

My sister and I were 20 and 22 at the time of our trip. This place is great for young people! It's close to the main strip, it has internet, a pool, great sized rooms... Oh and a free assortment of movies in each room if you're looking to stay in one rainy afternoon.
I fell in love with their dog Digby!
My parents were concerned with having their two young daughters in an unknown place without security and knowledge of the area. Marlie and Harry provided that safety and gave my parents all of the information they wanted prior to booking . They have daughters around our age, so we really bonded with them during our stay.
Bermuda is a beautiful place, but I wouldn't go back unless I could stay at the Kingston House.

  • Liked — The Hospitality
  • Disliked — The (short) walk to the main strip
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorneville, nb, canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

I concur with other posters - no problems, and better than expected.

Great owners.

The walk to the Hamilton Princess, which anchors the lower left corner of the shopping/restaurant block in Hamilton, is about 250 meters down the road.

So that's how close you are.

Kingston House is an excellent home away from home - we stayed in the Palmetto room upstairs, which is two rooms with a big balcony and good bathroom, and it was quiet and restful.

The plentiful, carb rich breakfast got us going for the day, and in Bermuda, filling up before heading out is imperative fore the health of your wallet.

Great value, great advice, funny conversation, and comfortable, quiet stay.

  • Liked — Value, Cleanliness and Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank avardwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsted Keynes, West Sussex, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

My boyfriend and I have just spend the best time at the Kingston B&B. We have fallen totally in love with Bermuda.

Marlie & Harry are THE perfect hosts and we looked forward to our breakfast every morning as Harry would have us both is stiches, fantastic sense of humour.

Marlie is the perfect hostess too, with a lifetime of knowledge of the island. We both felt so at home immediately. Kingston house has a wonderful, friendly, laid back atmosphere.

The rooms were above our expections, we really can't find any faults, we would both throughly recommend this charming B&B to anyone.

We hired a scooter for 4 days and had a ball, there wasn't a part of the wonderful island that we didn't explore. There is a scooter hire shop a very short walk from Kingston House "Smatts".

We can't wait to return.... Book NOW!!! And enjoy!

  • Liked — Harry & Marlie
  • Disliked — The mosquitos! But they only liked me, no one else!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lollypoprosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

What a fantastic B & B. Harry and Marlie were wonderful and did everything possible to make our stay in Bermuda as pleasant as possible.

Kingston House is a wonderful old house in a great location. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, the food is great.

Well I could go on forever about how good it is but it has all been said by previous reviewers....

JUST GO THERE AND ENJOY IT!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Frampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderson, sc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

You’ve read the sterling reviews of the Kingston House and especially Harry and Marlie. Can they really be that good? My wife and I stayed with them from 7/29 – 8/4 and our vote is a resounding YES! This was our first visit to Bermuda. We decided to stay at the Kingston House, based on TripAdvisor reviews, a couple of guide books, and on-line research. Our expectations were high. They were exceeded. Harry and Marlie are knowledgeable, friendly, and genuinely care about their guests. We had many interesting conversations on topics ranging from A to Z. The Kingston House is definitely on our list of places to stay again.

On the other hand, we were not as happy with our choice of when to go to Bermuda. First, even though we live in the south-east USA, we are not hot weather people. It was too warm for us. Outdoor activity left us hot and sticky. Second, the end of July brings the back-to-back holidays of Emancipation and Somer's Day. This is a big deal on the island, with an East vs. West Cup Match (Cricket) on each day. For nearly ALL practical purposes the island is closed, including “tourist” activities. Without very careful planning, you’ll have nothing to do!

We also had an unfortunate event at the house. A couple showed up with two teenage children. They were loud, drunk, smokers, at three in the morning. Woke up the house and neighbors! Harry discretely and swiftly modified the behavior.

  • Liked — hosts
  • Disliked — island closed for holiday
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank djbfreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgehill Manor Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Property: Kingston House B&B
Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing