We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The hosts make the house a home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingston House B&B
Save
You added Kingston House B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The hosts make the house a home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our hosts were excellent. I like being around REAL human beings when travelling and Kingston House is warm and inviting but Harry and Marlie (Marley) go out of their way and further than others in making sure your stay is great.

We were unfortunate to come during a rainy time and on one particularly rainy morning Harry ran out, in a downpour, to pick us up some Portuguese doughnuts. Harry and some of the house mates had been discussing the eateries in the area and there was an expression of a sincere desire to try them. I couldn't believe he was so kind as to run out and pick some up. I hate to even type that because I know they are an awfully busy couple and I'd hate for anyone to feel let down if he doesn't do the same....but I wanted to post that so you know exactly the type of people you will be staying with.

We stayed in the Palmetto Suite upstairs. I was fond of the room and its size. The place in extremely clean. There is a ton of literature on Bermuda and the hosts are FULL of information. The most interesting part of staying at a B&B is the house mates that are leaving or coming in and how we all help one another navigate the buses, the island itself, and the best places for this and that.

It was an outstanding vacation, even with the rain. I loved all the Bermudians we met and if we go back I hope to stay at Kingston House again.

One short note to newcomers to Bermuda. If you don't rent a moped (we didn't) the walk to the bus station is just short of 1 mile so I highly recommend for the ladies that if you have cute shoes to wear out to an outing or for the evening that you bring a bag that's fashionable that will fit some good walking shoes so you can change into your cute shoes when you want to. OR...the cab ride to and from the house with the destination being the city of Hamilton....only costs about $8-$10 per trip (depending on how you tip). Had we to do it over, there are a couple of times we wouldn't just taken a cab into town..like when going out to eat dinner at a nice restaurant. I gave this rating as Very Good instead of Excellent only because of that walk, not that it was that bad or that the location isn't good, but having to walk back and forth to change clothes for this outting or that outting became tiring to us. The location is Very Good. Everything else is EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unctina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
You were such good sports to put up with all that rainy weather! Walking along the narrow roads or riding a scooter is not fun in the rain. For anyone reading this, our very long, lazy summers are usually dry and gorgeous but Bermuda depends (almost entirely) on rain water so we get out there and do a rain dance every so often...sorry about that--BTW, it wasn't us, must have been the neigbbours! Glad you enjoyed the Portuguese pastries and had a good time in Bermuda. We're especially happy that we helped to make it a great Vacation. We'll try to arrange some extra sunshine for your next visit! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    22
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
171
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Almost don't want to share this amazing B&B! I stayed here with my sister & friend on our first girls holiday in 16 years of friendship - Marlie & Harry (the King of Pembroke!) and of course Digby made our stay very special and we are already daydreaming about coming back. My sister & I stayed in Bird of Paradise and our friend in Palmetto.

The beds in BoP are so comfy and just what we needed after cycling along the Railway Trail.

Everything is thought of at Kingston House and we loved the little extras such as beach towels, snorkels, aloe vera from the garden for poor burnt skin, free wifi and the personal recommendations.

The breakfast was great, very healthy and just what you need when it is so hot outside. The endless pool was perfect for relaxing in after a day at the beach / hike / bike ride.

The walk down to Hamilton probably takes around 10 minutes, you do have to be careful due to narrow Bermuda roads but the road is not too busy and you just have to use common sense. If you are walking at night I would recommend a torch (which Harry & Marlie can lend you) or getting a taxi if you are nervous. Or if you ask very nicely Harry might give you a lift when he is heading down to Hamilton!

Things I would recommend you do when you come to Bermuda -
Paddle Boarding at Daniel's Head (SurfsUp) - so much fun, turtles pop up to say hello and it is very quiet and picture perfect.
Cycling along the Railway Trail - we did this from Hamilton to Rockaway and got the communter ferry back. Again you do have to be careful cycling on the road until you get to the start of the railway trail. We hired our bikes (or peddle bikes) from the hire place on the road heading up to Kingston House and they were very helpful.
Try the smaller beaches - everyone seems to go to Horseshoe Bay which is lovely but you can find completely deserted beaches. Try Church Bay & Tabacco Bay for amazing snorkelling, Jobson's Cove (just off Warwick Long Bay), Shelley Bay and John Smiths Bay for easy swimming, Elbow Beach is also lovely.
Go to the Crystal Caves - they are amazing and the guides are very funny!
Climb the Lighthouse for a breathtaking view.
Have a Dark & Stormy / Rum Swizzle.
Botanical Gardens and visit the Masterworks Gallery
Visit Dockyard and if you are looking for things to take home or presents go to the craft market, the art gallery, glass factory and pottery place.
St George's
The ferry from Hamilton to Dockyard is really nice and is a good way to see Bermuda.

We bought a months pass for bus & ferry from the ferry information centre - it was cheaper than a week's pass. $48 I think.

Restaurants - Rustico (Flatts), Beach House (I think - close to Tabacco Bay), Micky's (Elbow Beach), Wahoo (St Georges) - just a few I can think of! We didn't eat out that often and saved a fair amount of money by picking up things from either Miles or the supermarket at the end of Front Street (which sells Waitrose stuff!!).

We also went out on Friday & Saturday (apparently Friday is the better night to go out if you like that type of thing!) and ended up in the Pickled Onion on Front Street both times as it has great live music.

Sorry for the verrry long review but we want to make sure everyone loves it as much as we did.

Kingston House is such a precious find - stop reading this and book!

Room Tip: Pick the Bird of Paradise House - comfy beds and lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLCRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
So glad you decided to share your wealth of great tips...and lovely compliments! You're pretty much spot on with your recommendations, especially the smaller or maybe less well-advertised beaches--there are so many gorgeous places here, honestly...and wonderful restaurants, artwork, crafts, historical sites...and of course our national beverage, the Dark & Stormy! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a helpful review. See you next time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Marlie and Harry are the hosts with the most! The B&B is lovely, comfortable and a wonderful home away from home. From Harry's "Ten cent tour" on arrival, to Marlie's gracious hospitality, I cannot say enough good things about our experience at Kingston House. The Bird of Paradise room was lovely. Look forward to returning next year! Thanks to the Powells (including the Digster) for an unforgettable vacation.

K&B

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsKittyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for putting us on your favourites list! It's so nice to hear that you had a great time here and we look forward to your next visit when we will do our best to see that you have another awesome vacation. Cheers, Harry, Marlie & the 'Digster'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mableton, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our second stay at the Kingston House. Harry, Marlie and Digby (of course!) make your stay as pleasant as could be with their attention to detail and friendly advice/recommendations. We will surely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your terrific review. We look forward to welcoming back any time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie and Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Marley and Harry are absolutely the best hosts that one could have, and to have their hospitality in such as beautiful place as the island of Bermuda made this mini-vacation one of our best. Every question we had - answered. Every request we made - met. Every concern we might have had - not a chance to have. We didn't have much time, but the time we had was enjoyable and peaceful. We were in the Frangipani room, which was a nice comfortable room with a queen bed, right off a main area. Once the door was closed, the room was completely blocked from any activity that might have been happening in the house. There are only three rooms, so the guest list is pretty selective, but breakfast can be enjoyed with others in the main dining room where you can hear the gentle sounds of the fountain over the pool (we over slept a bit but didn't miss the great scones and orange ginger jam!) This will definitely be one of the stops we make on our next trip to Bermuda.

Room Tip: I think Digby sleeps right off the Frangipani room, and he gets a bit anxious when Marley and Harry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your terrific review--you are far took kind! We're glad you had a nice stay at Kingston House and we were able to help you with your extra night at the (gorgeous and friendly) Royal Palms. Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a quick 3 night stay at Kingston House B&B. What a wonderful spot. Marlie and Harry took great care of us...offering travel tips, delicious breakfasts, great conversation, and even their pup, Digby, to satisfy our dog fix. A beautiful home with lovely gardens and patio. Comfortable room with private bathroom. The shared kitchen was very convenient, offering dishware and use of a refrigerator for storing beverages and food. This also allowed us to pick up dinner at the local market and eat candlelit out on the patio. Excellent location about a 10 minute walk to the center of Hamilton. Convenient scooter rentals right down the street. We look forward to our next visit. Thanks Marlie and Harry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
It looks more like Digby, the wonder dog, is getting his 'human fix'! It would seem that he likes our guests better than he likes us... Thank you for your lovely review and photo. We enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I just came back from a 4 night stay at the Kingston House and it was wonderful! I usually do not sleep well away from home and the bed in our Jacaranda Room was comfy! We ate a delicious breakfast of scones, jams, yogurt, homemade granolas and breads and fresh fruit every morning. Marlie and Harry were so helpful as to where to go and what to see, and even gave us a ride to the ferry terminal on a rainy morning. The house is so quaint, reminded me of an inn I stayed at in Cape Cod, and Digby the Dog was friendly, greeted me and my husband at breakfast and told me when our food delivery had arrived! The pool was cleaner than any resort and the landscape was a tropical paradise. I do not have enough good words to say about this place and the people. It was very hot and humid this time of year, but the air conditioning in the room was a relief! The whole experience was a treasure, but I hate to give away the secret of this place for fear it will be booked solid if we ever decide to come again. I think it is even better than staying at a big resort because of the care they gave to us. If we come back, it will definately be here!

Room Tip: The Jacaranda is one of the smaller rooms with one queen on the first floor. Bigger rooms are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynniepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We're so glad you had a nice stay at Kingston House and enjoyed your first trip to Bermuda. It was great to see you both get out there and try everything from beach combing for sea glass to scuba diving and zooming around on the scooters for the first time. Well done! We look forward to seeing you next time--maybe go for a bit of paddle boarding or a helmet dive?! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 3,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
6.3 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Property: Kingston House B&B
Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing