We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our Home in Bermuda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingston House B&B
Save
You added Kingston House B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
“Our Home in Bermuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The owners, Marlie & Harry are the reason we both fell in love with the Kingston House. They're both so very gracious, helpful and spirited. With drives downtown in Harry's new electric truck, to Marlie's breakfast with the beach reports, they made us feel like one of their family.

The rooms, decor, gardens and pool set an atmosphere that immediately let us relax and fall into a stress-free vacation. Sitting out on the pool deck early in the morning with Marlie's home-roasted coffee, or having a late afternoon drink and swim, was so peaceful and memorable.

Only a scenic 15 minute walk to downtown, we went shopping and took advantage of the great public transit system with ease, and enjoyed everything that makes Bermuda unique. We stayed in the Jacaranda room on the ground floor, and were extremely pleased. The breakfast room, common sitting room and the "refrigerator" were all used each day and the room rate was very competitive. I have to mention the heated towel racks, used daily to dry our bathing suits. A very nice added touch.

Choosing vacation accommodation is always a risky venture, but staying with Harry & Marlie has no downside.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper room with a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    22
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
171
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Marlie and Harry are the owners and operators of the Kingston House B&B. They were amazing and truly made our honeymoon experience better.

We stayed in the Palmetto Suite. It was a very big room with a beautiful bedroom area and a separate room that included a large day bed, flat screen tv, etc. Off of this room was a private roof top patio that had very comfortable outdoor furniture.

The downstairs part of the house is equally nice. It includes a kitchen area where you can store your own drinks, food, etc. Off of the kitchen is a gorgeous patio and pool. This area includes a gas grill. We actually cooked on the grill one night for dinner. It felt like you were in your own home!

The breakfast is served each morning and they roast and brew their own coffee. Yes - they roast their own coffee beans!!

The location is extremely close to downtown Hamilton. Most roads do not have sidewalks. So Harry and Marlie gave us some tips on the best route for walking from town to the house. If you are alert you will be fine. And if you get nervous there are taxis everywhere that can take you door to door.

The price, hosts, other guests and proximity to town make this place a hidden gem. The location forced us to explore the entire island. If we had stayed at one resort we probably would have never left and would have missed a lot of great experiences.

Grab a multi-day bus/ferry pass in Hamilton. The station is only a 15 min walk from Kingston House. From the bus or ferry terminal you have endless options.

Whether or not price is of concern to you if you want something different than the typical hotel/resort this is the place. We are already talking about going back.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite if you are traveling with young children or if you like having a bigger space. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JG41MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a lovely stay in the Palmetto Suite. It was a very large room. We enjoyed the scones everyday at breakfast. We used the pool often too. The owners are around and provide tips and information. We walked to town and used buses often. The walk is fine but wear comfortable shoes to do it. We also brought a small light so drivers could see us at night on walk home. We would return. The space for items in fridge was helpful as was the beach cooler. Bermuda is a beautiful island! Best beaches I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Like being upstairs and having a larger room in Palmetto Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandriava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I cannot fully express how grateful I am to Marlie and Harry Powell for making Kingston House such a gracious and inviting place to spend a holiday.
As a child, my father's airline passes allowed us to visit my Bermudian grandparents once a year. Until I found Kingston House, I feared I could not afford a Bermudian holiday ever again. However, not only is this guesthouse affordable, it is also offers first-class hospitality and a welcoming environment. The owners are 'hands-on', and obviously work overtime to provide for every practical need.
I stayed in the Bird of Paradise room for the second time in two years; this time for seven nights, from June 25 to July 2. This room has a wonderfully comfortable adjustable bed for my chronic back issues. It also offers a balcony which overlooks a beautiful front garden. I actually got up early (on holiday!), just to sit on the balcony to enjoy the fresh, early morning sky, the vibrant colours, and the sounds of the birds.
As a single, Christian minister in his 60's, I enjoyed the quiet and solitude when I needed it, and the delightful company of several fellow guests in the evening, as we shared food and drink from our sections of the ample guest refrigerator, while relaxing next to the endless pool. Everyone enjoyed describing their adventures of the day.
When I returned my rented scooter on the day of departure, the walk back to Kingston House was only five minutes. What else can I say? Great location, great people, great holiday!
Arthur S.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I just came back from a 3 night stay here. Marlie and Harry were gracious hosts, and the room/house was terrific. My wife was a little apprehensive about staying in a bed and breakfast instead of a hotel, but she admitted that this turned out to be a great decision. The breakfast was delicious, the room was very clean and spacious, and Marlie and Harry were very helpful and kind. We also made friends with another couple staying there, which was pretty cool. It’s a 10-15 minute walk to the heart of town. It was one of our best vacations, highly recommend Bermuda, and the Kingston House.

Room Tip: We stayed in the birds of paradise room, very large, peacful and has a balcony. I'm sure the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

While I may only be repeating what others have written, we were so pleased with our stay that I feel compelled to add another great review. We stayed in the Palmetto Suite for 4 nights. After a long and frustrating flight, a short 30 min. cab ride (about $30) from the airport brought us to the Kingston House. Harry warmly met us and even took us on a short 10 cent tour of the town (in his new electric car!) to get our bearings and show us where the grocery store is etc.

Our room was clean, bright and spacious. Complete with a terry robes, a large furnished balcony and lots of closet space.

While not a "hot" breakfast, breakfast is more than adequate with yogurt, homemade granola, fresh fruit, fresh baked scones and bread etc. Very good.

They really have made an effort to provide anything that you could possibly need. Such as small kitchenette area where each room has a shelf in the fridge, dishes, cultery, wine opener, coffee/tea, filtered water, umbrellas, beach mats, towels etc. These extras are really appreciated.

The walk into town is only about 5-10 min. I wouldn't say it is "dangerous" but there is no sidewalk. Just be alert. Most of the other guests were pleased with the bus system and ferries. My husband and I rented scooters for 3 days from Smatts. It was one of the highlights of our trip and we enjoyed the freedom it gave us. We covered the whole island in the time we were there. And found the locals to be very patient with us on the road.

One rainy evening a cab failed to show up to take us to dinner, and so Marlie insisted on driving us into town herself. Very nice!

This B&B is fantastic value in Bermuda. The proximity to town was very convenient. My only question is when can we come back?

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Palmetto Suite which has a large balcony (facing rear garden), and a sitting room/tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Marlie was a great host and spent time showing us everything when we arrived. Nice breakfast, 10 minute walk to town and a lot cheaper than hotels like the Princess (which is only a 5 minute walk away). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 3,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
6.3 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Property: Kingston House B&B
Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing