We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating style”
Review of Kingston House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingston House B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This was my first stay in a B&B for vacation. And it was a super experience. From the homemade breakfast treats to wifi availabilty, anything you needed was made available. The owners like to sit and get to know their guests, even giving me a ride in town to get a bus pass on my first day there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navigator556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 270 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

Marlie and Harry are the most personable couple one could hope to encounter when first arriving at a new destination. They are interested and interesting and their guests pick up on the hospitable atmosphere that permeates the fine house. The Palmetto Suite is quite spacious, with a balcony that is perfect for sunning while overlooking the heated lap pool. The entire property is beautifully maintained - fully tiled floors and patios, lush gardens in every yard, immaculate (but comfortable) living areas and you'll love the heated towel hangers.

Breakfasts are hearty, healthy and personally prepared by the couple who request any preferences in advance so that special needs can be considered. Harry boasts that their coffee is the best on the island. I know that it was good enough that we did not even bother trying any other options.

The walk to town is not long but it can be an adventure. Narrow roads are a fact of life in Bermuda as are drivers who may appear suddenly around any curve.

Room Tip: The upstairs suites are very spacious. The downstairs rooms appeared to be of a good size and quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomCost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Harry & Marlie are to be congratulated on creating a very special B&B experience. A most interesting couple hosting what was for us a very enjoyable week of great breakfast discussions - often presided over by Harry! Meeting the other guests - learning and sharing - demonstrated that a B&B like this has the edge over any top-class hotel, and H & M provide all the nice touches that make you feel welcome, 'at home'-comfortable and interested to come back again. This was such a good experience.

Just 5 mins walk away is a lovely small supermarket (expensive as you'd imagine) with great quality produce and then another few minutes further on and you're at the waterside in Hamilton and access to ferries and public buses. Although used to driving on the left we never got the courage to rent a scooter - maybe next time - but it didn't stop us getting all over Bermuda.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Ours was a couple's get away from the kids, so equal measures of peace, quiet and tranquility were in order. The island in general, and this B&B in particular, were excellent at all three.

Harry and Marlie have an absolutely awesome place. It's a beautiful house with very nice rooms. They keep the whole place in top shape, their rooms are comfortable (we stayed in Jakaranda), there's plenty of room to find a comfortable spot for reading a book and relaxing (both inside and out), the breakfast area is lovely, and their service is top notch. You just can't go wrong here.

Harry also went the extra mile of giving us a driving tour of the road from their B&B to the downtown area (which you can walk to in about 20 minutes), pointing out some restaurants and places to check out, and just generally showing us the layout of the area.

The only two things I would mention as an FYI are:

1. The included breakfasts are continental style (i.e. fruit, cereals, baked goods, etc). It's not a hot breakfast with omelets, pancakes or the like (Harry/Marlie - other than offering your rooms from free, this would be the only thing I could suggest as a possible addition/improvement. Maybe offer eggs on Mon, pancakes on Tue, and so on?). The food is definitely good and you don't go hungry, but the style is just something to keep in mind.

2. The roads outside of the downtown area are narrow and don't usually have sidewalks, and are actually walled off to mark where private property begins, so you're forced to walk on the road itself. Just make sure you walk against the traffic (so cars see you), wear something visible in the dark (a flashing bike light, for example, since there are no street lights and it gets very dark very fast) and remember that they drive on the left side of the road.

So as I said in the beginning - it's a great place to stay and you just can't go wrong here. Harry and Marlie are excellent hosts and will make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidCatriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Everything about our February 2001 stay at the Kingston House B&B was perfect. Harry and Marlie were great hosts: knowledgeable, extremely helpful and very considerate of our wishes and needs. Each morning we had great conversation with the best coffee ever. The Bird of Paradise was a spacious, clean and comfortable room; Hamilton just a short walk down the road. The yard is divided by shrubs and palm trees into "rooms" where you can find a private seat to relax. There is also a lap pool.

Room Tip: The Bird of Paradise room is the largest of the three rooms. (There is also a suite). Its porch is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJWSterlingHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Kingston house in Jan. 2012. Everything about our experience was perfect! Not only are the host warm and friendly, but their knowledge about the island and ability to make your getting around the island easier was above and beyond expectations. The location is perfect-5 minute walk to Hamilton center. The room was spacious and Digby the dog was so much fun to play catch with one night. We would highly recommend this place and cant' wait to book our next vacation with them. Thanks again Harry and Marlie!!
laury&pauldoliveira

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laury D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Harry and Marlie could not have been nicer to me. Their house is charming and equipped with everything you need. They give you just the right mix of information and space. At times I had the entire place to myself. You get a shelf in the fridge so you can stock up.

The Hamilton Princess is just a short walk down th road so you can stop there for a drink or to get a cab home. Get a dark and stormy, you will love it!

This was my first trip to Bermuda and I loved it although the weather didn't exactly cooperate. There was quite a storm, but the house made you feel cozy and safe.

Thanks again you guys. I hope to see you in November. Give Digby a hug for me.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Frangipani room which is right off the kitchen. It was a little noisy in the kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canarycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Aunt Nea's Inn
Aunt Nea's Inn
#1 of 1 in St. George's Parish
45 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,135 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range: $115 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing