We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old town feel”
Review of Fort Hamilton

Fort Hamilton
Ranked #8 of 62 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the 1870s to protect the Royal Naval Dockyard, this fort now provides spectacular views of the bustling city of Hamilton and its harbor.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“old town feel”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

cruse ships overcrowd the place when they get off the ships they crowd the town fast.they had two ships when i was there

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank frank I l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    102
    35
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
380 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend a day”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We took the ferry to Hamilton and hiked to this very old fort, up a hill, with beautiful views. Cool on a hot day, original buildings, lots of interesting information available, and stunning views from the fort walls.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherylandBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty arboretum”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was not a fort as I thought, but an arboretum with some very pretty flowers. If you are not into flowers, it wouldn't be worth the long walk up from the center of town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie2115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A lovely little haven in Hamilton!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We live in Bermuda but had not gotten around to visiting Fort Hamilton - we really wish we had earlier - it is beautiful! Stunning views, great for photography. Immaculate gardens , explore the fort by going down the endless stairs to see the courtyard gardens and beautiful jungle type walk. This place is clearly very well loved and looked after and it is not to be missed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Supermom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quite a hike on a hot day, but beautiful, and great views”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had taken the ferry to Hamilton, and were doing our own walking tour. This was our furthest stop, and it was quite an uphill walk to get here. Thankfully, we stopped and got some water bottles before heading up. The fort itself is very picturesque, with great views of the water and other parts of the island. Worth the trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JackieDS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Hamilton also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Fort Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing