We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Hotel when visiting Bermuda” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great Hotel when visiting Bermuda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Palms Hotel for 14 nights and there isn't a single day that we were unhappy about. The staff is just fantastic, the facilities are absolutely clean and modern. You are treated like family from the time you check-in and up to the time you leave. The complimentary breakfast is very good and Ascots Restaurant is excellent. If one wishes the hotel is within easy walking distance to Front Street, bus terminal, ferry terminal, shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a room on second floor overlooking the outdoor swimming pool and it as excellent. We don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Harry O,

Our staff really enjoy what they do which is proven by your kind comments. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review of your experience.


We certainly hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    76
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
102
454
36
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have been to Bermuda numerous times since 1978 and have stayed at lots of hotels which are fine. If you want a feel of how Bermuda really is then stay here. The service, cleanliness, attitude, etc. are all great and just a short walk to downtown Hamilton. I kinda want to keep it a secret.

Room Tip: If you smoke, get a room with an outside table and ash tray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
7 Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Joseph W,

How awesome that you would like to keep us a secret, that means so much to us, thank you! We certainly hope you will continue to travel to Bermuda in the future and choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Royal Palms Hotel was all I hoped for as far as location and local ambience, when you chose a hotel online you are never quite sure. The grounds (which are very large and pretty) were beautifully maintained and the hotel also was up to scratch. The staff were so warm and friendly - I have never experienced such friendliness and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were good and the restaurant was fabulous - on our last night we were generously presented with a fabulous dessert for the two of us . We had a seven night stay and could walk quite easily everywhere. Our room had all the amenities you would possibly need and the only drawback was perhaps a mustiness that is due to the high humidity in Bermuda.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Marialouise2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Location: We loved being just outside Hamilton - close enough to restaurants and nightlife, but far enough to feel secluded! The hotel is on a quiet street surrounded by gorgeous greenery and fabulous gardens.

Facilities: It looks just like a large B&B - charming, inviting common areas, immaculately decorated, very pretty inside and out. Our room seemed a bit dated/standard-issue vs. what I would expect at a B&B -- this jumped out at us because the rest of the hotel, from the gardens to the hallway was so beautifully done.

Breakfast: Okay, but not great. Selection was more than sufficient for continental breakfast, but the quality was somewhat disappointing. Think Costco.

Supper: Had delicious Sunday night supper (they serve a light menu at the bar as the restaurant is officially closed). Wish the breakfast was same quality!

Service: Lovely, friendly staff from check-in to check-out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KaterinaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear KatherinaSM,

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to hear you found your guest room to be dated/standard issue. What makes Royal Palms so unique is that each room is individually decorated. If we had known that you were unhappy with your room we would have been more than happy to show you some others.

Thank you for highlighting our colleagues, we are very proud of them and the service they provide.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Currently we are only on our second day of a whistle stop trip to Bermuda and still at the hotel as I write this review.
The Royal Palms is one of the finest places my family have ever stayed at and we are lucky enough to travel in style very often through my work. The staff have been extremely helpful and welcoming, having also made sure we got the most out of every minute we have been here.
It is a boutique hotel and this is a very positive thing as the rooms are stunning, all being a bit different and decorated beautifully. Some very nice touches such as free coffee and tea all day, along with wine hour with good quality wine and a very pleasant breakfast which was of a high standard. The hotel is immaculately clean.
The island and it's people have been stunning and we have felt very fortunate to be able to visit Bermuda. It's not cheap, but it is very definitely worth it. We are already planning another trip here and will be staying at the Royal Palms.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights around New Year's. We had a great stay. Our room was very spacious and even had a kitchenette. Everyone was so helpful in getting us taxis and reservations for dinner. The daily breakfast was good, although the boiling your own egg was a little odd. Since we were there during a holiday week, they had a Holiday Party one night with wine and appetizers - which was fun and had a big turnout.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk into Hamilton. You're in a good location, so you never felt unsafe at night. Although you aren't near a beach, the gardens surrounding the rooms create a relaxing feel and getting around the island (including beaches) was easy by walking 10 mins to the Hamilton bus station.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelislifegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We're happy to hear you appreciated your spacious suite and hopefully were able to take advantage of the well equipped kitchenette.
Our Christmas get together is certainly a fun time for all our guests and I'm glad you enjoyed it.
As some guests prefer soft boiled eggs and some like hard boiled, we like to give our guests the option to boil their own eggs to their desired consistency. We have however, added a bowl of already boiled eggs to our buffet for those guests whom prefer the cooking already done for them.
We're pleased you found our location ideal for getting around the island and yes, although we aren't right on the beach we're just a 10 minute bus or taxi ride away.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we certainly hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This small hotel is absolutely charming, very comfortable, and very convenient. It's a short walk to downtown. The rooms have every convenience (including a kitchenette, a DVD player, wifi, and more). The breakfasts and evening wine hour were terrific. The gardens are beautiful. The staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noni1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed everything we had to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Hotel
Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing