We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard To Beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cary NC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hard To Beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Bermuda is an island that exudes old world charm and grace, not showy or glossy like some vacation destinations----this also would be a good description of The Royal Palms ----quietly classy, beautifully coiffed, and welcoming to all! Great service and attitude from everyone you interact with--nicely appointed comfortable rooms,and the feeling of warmth and family spirit that befits a manor house style hotel. Wonderful restaurant on the property rounds out a First Class Experience

Room Tip: 107 and 112 are great for 2 couples travelling together that enjoy a drink on the patio!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyDonTrishPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear KathyDonTrishPhil,

Thank you for your awesome description of our property. It captures the spirit of Royal Palms - excellent service, great location, and friendly staff.

It was lovely having you all stay with us, and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    77
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
104
461
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fratta, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have stayed in 100 hotels in the past 5 years, and the Royal Palms was the best "value for price" of anyplace i have stayed. Close to town, and close to bus and ferry terminal. The nicest staff i have ever met.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear david m,

Thank you for your review. We try hard to create value when staying with us so I'm pleased that your recognized that. The convenience of our location so close to the city yet far enough away to enjoy the tranquility of our gardens is unmatched in Bermuda. Thank you for recognizing our staff they will be very happy to be mentioned.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The customer service here is personalized and fantastic, and the rooms continue to be some of the best we've stayed in anywhere. The wine reception in the afternoon is a great perk, and the nearness to Hamilton is a definite selling point.

Room Tip: The remote building (not part of the main building) was very quiet and relaxing. There are no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Travis C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We hope to continue to be your hotel of choice when traveling to Bermuda. Thanks so much for your kind review.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We held a family gathering/Holiday/Anniversary celebration with 14 in our group. We were all more than satisfied. The rooms were lovely, the staff very friendly and try to do everything to meet your needs, the breakfast buffet and afternoon wine/tea/snacks was delightful. Free wifi is also provided throughout the hotel. Downtown Hamilton is a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. The staff will help you with good recommendations for restaurants and sights to visit. I would rate this as a 4+ star boutique hotel. The restaurant attached to the Hotel,Ascots is excellent. It is pricey, but worth it, if your budget allows. Conclusion, we definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jclaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear jclaman,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your special occasion. We were delighted to host you and your family for your 50th anniversary. We wish you many more years of love and happiness.

We appreciate you recommending us to others, and hope to have you celebrate another anniversary with us!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Royal Palms is a beautiful hotel in a tranquil setting. We arrived on Boxing Day and stayed for 4 nights. Since we arrived on a Bermudian holiday, the staff contacted us weeks in advance, and provided a list of restaurants that would be opened that evening, and made our reservations for us. The hotel and grounds were beautifully decorated for Christmas, and we felt at home as soon as we arrived.

We stayed in the "Longtail" mini-suite, one of the garden cottages. There was a lovely sitting area with a koi pond outside our door. Breakfast was satisfying with waffles, pastries, breads, fruit, cereals, and more. The staff was friendly, and always happy to see us, and gladly answered any questions we had. Downtown Hamilton is an easy short walk from the hotel.

We dined at Ascots, the on-site restaurant one evening, and we highly recommend it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Royal Palms, and look forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKandRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear KKandRK,

We're so pleased to know you felt right at home when you arrived. It's rewarding to know our efforts to provide an atmosphere where our guests feel welcome and special is working.

We're so happy to know your stay has left you wanting to return for a longer vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back at that time.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a 3 star boutique hotel and reasonably priced for Bermuda. It exceeded our expectations. I had several questions/issues before arriving and each one was responded to within a few hours with very helpful specific information and suggestions. We stayed in the main building in the BIRD OF PARADISE room. Each room is named for a local flower, each door has a lovely ceramic plaque depicting the flower, and each room interior is decorated with fabrics representing the colors of the flower and in some rooms even pillows with fabric depicting the flower itself. This attention to detail is very unusual. Every room had a small bowl of fresh flowers that could have been refreshed for those of us staying for more than 5 days. Another small and inexpensive touch might be to update the the shower heads to water conserving, spray options.

The hotel is an easy walk to downtown Hamilton. By "easy" I mean both a short walk with
the entire distance having excellent sidewalks. The roads in Bermuda are winding and narrow , often without even a shoulder and many of them do not have sidewalks making it a challenge for walkers to stay out of the way of local drivers and scooter novices.. We were very happy to have had the hotel staff lend their helpful guidance so that we could enjoy safe modes of transit be it by foot, bus, cab or ferry.

The breakfasts included fresh waffles, boiled eggs, lovely and TASTY fresh fruit, flavorful yoghurt, crunchy bread and pastries accompanied by selections of meat and cheese. The two glitches at breakfast seemed to be that some guests had difficulty figuring out how to make the waffles and how to make soft, medium, and/or hard boiled eggs in a crockpot. While instructions were available these two procedures were clunky and awkward. The breakfast area itself is lovely in a breezy glassed in space where on sunny days the doors can be open and it feels like breakfast in a magic garden. I would mention that the overhead fans were a lovely touch BUT as with all humid climates the dust and dirt on the top of the blades should be removed.

There are two restaurants on the premises, ASCOTS, excellent food, well presented but a bit formal, and the JUST 24, a less formal alternative in a casual setting advertised as "...an option open to ROYAL PALMS guests..." that was not open during our stay. We very much enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the ASCOTS menu and would have appreciated having the opportunity to also have had the JUST 24 option on late evenings when we did not wish to eat at the ASCOTS or walk to and from Hamilton after dark.

The special touches including the name tags on extraordinary flora, the brilliantly well displayed paintings by local artists, photographs of local history, amazing table books about Bermuda, local artifacts all indicate a pride of place that is often not found in the modern, sleek hotels of today. We have learned to appreciate these nuances of a proud and culturally insightful aesthetic demonstrated at THE ROYAL PALMS management and staff.

Room Tip: The corner rooms in the main building provide more sound proof windows, vistas, and light. These wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear MKayes,

Thank you for your in depth review of our hotel. We're so pleased to know your expectations were exceeded starting with the prompt response to your questions prior to your arrival.

We appreciate your suggestion regarding the water conserving shower heads.

How awesome that you noticed and appreciated our attention to details and special touches throughout the hotel and gardens. It makes everything we do worthwhile.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back one day not too far away.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The Royal Palms Hotel lived up to my expectations completely. If you read any negative reviews, I really don't understand what the issues could be. The room was superb, the TV options were extensive and although I only used the restaurant on one night, it also was good. The wine hour was as it is made out to be, a bottle of white and a bottle of red with new bottles opened as required right up until the end of the wine hour - at the very least it allows you to sit done with other guests and get to know them over a pleasant glass of wine. The breakfast was also plentiful with the food options being regularly re-stocked right up until the end of the breakfast time. But, most important of all, the staff deserve a special mention due to their genuine friendliness and willingness to do as much as possible to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. I will be coming back to stay again in late December over Christmas, again one day. This place is a real jewel in the middle of a big ocean!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteSyd_Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Pete_SydAu,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We just love your description of our property as a 'jewel in the middle of the ocean'.
We feel our wine hour offers an intimate and friendly setting where one feels free to chat with other guests who end up becoming friends. We're so glad you appreciated it.
Our staff truly enjoy their jobs which translates into great service to our guests. Your mention of them will make their day!
We look forward to your return one Christmas not too far away!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,682 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Hotel
Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing