We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The customer service here is personalized and fantastic, and the rooms continue to be some of the best we've stayed in anywhere. The wine reception in the afternoon is a great perk, and the nearness to Hamilton is a definite selling point.

Room Tip: The remote building (not part of the main building) was very quiet and relaxing. There are no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Travis C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We hope to continue to be your hotel of choice when traveling to Bermuda. Thanks so much for your kind review.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 844 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We held a family gathering/Holiday/Anniversary celebration with 14 in our group. We were all more than satisfied. The rooms were lovely, the staff very friendly and try to do everything to meet your needs, the breakfast buffet and afternoon wine/tea/snacks was delightful. Free wifi is also provided throughout the hotel. Downtown Hamilton is a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. The staff will help you with good recommendations for restaurants and sights to visit. I would rate this as a 4+ star boutique hotel. The restaurant attached to the Hotel,Ascots is excellent. It is pricey, but worth it, if your budget allows. Conclusion, we definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jclaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear jclaman,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your special occasion. We were delighted to host you and your family for your 50th anniversary. We wish you many more years of love and happiness.

We appreciate you recommending us to others, and hope to have you celebrate another anniversary with us!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Royal Palms is a beautiful hotel in a tranquil setting. We arrived on Boxing Day and stayed for 4 nights. Since we arrived on a Bermudian holiday, the staff contacted us weeks in advance, and provided a list of restaurants that would be opened that evening, and made our reservations for us. The hotel and grounds were beautifully decorated for Christmas, and we felt at home as soon as we arrived.

We stayed in the "Longtail" mini-suite, one of the garden cottages. There was a lovely sitting area with a koi pond outside our door. Breakfast was satisfying with waffles, pastries, breads, fruit, cereals, and more. The staff was friendly, and always happy to see us, and gladly answered any questions we had. Downtown Hamilton is an easy short walk from the hotel.

We dined at Ascots, the on-site restaurant one evening, and we highly recommend it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Royal Palms, and look forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKandRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear KKandRK,

We're so pleased to know you felt right at home when you arrived. It's rewarding to know our efforts to provide an atmosphere where our guests feel welcome and special is working.

We're so happy to know your stay has left you wanting to return for a longer vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back at that time.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a 3 star boutique hotel and reasonably priced for Bermuda. It exceeded our expectations. I had several questions/issues before arriving and each one was responded to within a few hours with very helpful specific information and suggestions. We stayed in the main building in the BIRD OF PARADISE room. Each room is named for a local flower, each door has a lovely ceramic plaque depicting the flower, and each room interior is decorated with fabrics representing the colors of the flower and in some rooms even pillows with fabric depicting the flower itself. This attention to detail is very unusual. Every room had a small bowl of fresh flowers that could have been refreshed for those of us staying for more than 5 days. Another small and inexpensive touch might be to update the the shower heads to water conserving, spray options.

The hotel is an easy walk to downtown Hamilton. By "easy" I mean both a short walk with
the entire distance having excellent sidewalks. The roads in Bermuda are winding and narrow , often without even a shoulder and many of them do not have sidewalks making it a challenge for walkers to stay out of the way of local drivers and scooter novices.. We were very happy to have had the hotel staff lend their helpful guidance so that we could enjoy safe modes of transit be it by foot, bus, cab or ferry.

The breakfasts included fresh waffles, boiled eggs, lovely and TASTY fresh fruit, flavorful yoghurt, crunchy bread and pastries accompanied by selections of meat and cheese. The two glitches at breakfast seemed to be that some guests had difficulty figuring out how to make the waffles and how to make soft, medium, and/or hard boiled eggs in a crockpot. While instructions were available these two procedures were clunky and awkward. The breakfast area itself is lovely in a breezy glassed in space where on sunny days the doors can be open and it feels like breakfast in a magic garden. I would mention that the overhead fans were a lovely touch BUT as with all humid climates the dust and dirt on the top of the blades should be removed.

There are two restaurants on the premises, ASCOTS, excellent food, well presented but a bit formal, and the JUST 24, a less formal alternative in a casual setting advertised as "...an option open to ROYAL PALMS guests..." that was not open during our stay. We very much enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the ASCOTS menu and would have appreciated having the opportunity to also have had the JUST 24 option on late evenings when we did not wish to eat at the ASCOTS or walk to and from Hamilton after dark.

The special touches including the name tags on extraordinary flora, the brilliantly well displayed paintings by local artists, photographs of local history, amazing table books about Bermuda, local artifacts all indicate a pride of place that is often not found in the modern, sleek hotels of today. We have learned to appreciate these nuances of a proud and culturally insightful aesthetic demonstrated at THE ROYAL PALMS management and staff.

Room Tip: The corner rooms in the main building provide more sound proof windows, vistas, and light. These wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear MKayes,

Thank you for your in depth review of our hotel. We're so pleased to know your expectations were exceeded starting with the prompt response to your questions prior to your arrival.

We appreciate your suggestion regarding the water conserving shower heads.

How awesome that you noticed and appreciated our attention to details and special touches throughout the hotel and gardens. It makes everything we do worthwhile.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back one day not too far away.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Royal Palms Hotel lived up to my expectations completely. If you read any negative reviews, I really don't understand what the issues could be. The room was superb, the TV options were extensive and although I only used the restaurant on one night, it also was good. The wine hour was as it is made out to be, a bottle of white and a bottle of red with new bottles opened as required right up until the end of the wine hour - at the very least it allows you to sit done with other guests and get to know them over a pleasant glass of wine. The breakfast was also plentiful with the food options being regularly re-stocked right up until the end of the breakfast time. But, most important of all, the staff deserve a special mention due to their genuine friendliness and willingness to do as much as possible to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. I will be coming back to stay again in late December over Christmas, again one day. This place is a real jewel in the middle of a big ocean!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank PeteSyd_Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Pete_SydAu,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We just love your description of our property as a 'jewel in the middle of the ocean'.
We feel our wine hour offers an intimate and friendly setting where one feels free to chat with other guests who end up becoming friends. We're so glad you appreciated it.
Our staff truly enjoy their jobs which translates into great service to our guests. Your mention of them will make their day!
We look forward to your return one Christmas not too far away!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I think the best way to review this place is to list the pros and cons so future travelers can make up their own mind whether this is the place for them or not. We stayed in the main building.
Pros:
1. Lovely rooms - spacious, neat and well maintained.
2. Beautiful grounds and decor.
3. Extremely friendly staff - they really seem to want to work with you and we totally appreciated it.

Cons:
1. So they offer morning breakfast and evening wine hour - but the offerings are really more like a 2 star hotel.
Morning breakfast has a small selection of scones, croissants, other breads etc. You can make your own waffles - if the mix is fresh they taste ok - or they can be sour. Eggs - you have to boil yourself and depending on how many other guests want to eat eggs (this is the only form you can eat them unless you fancy raw eggs) - it can take anywhere from 12 to 40 mts to get them done.
The selection in general is rather limited. If it is a weekend and there are more guests - then if you are not down within the first hour of breakfast - chances are pretty good they will run out of most stuff!
Now this is not such a big deal if you were in a big city and had lots of other options around plus if you don't mind the fact that you have to eat breakfast elsewhere even though you paid for it here. But Hamilton is a small place and there are not really too many breakfast options around.
For wine hour - one bottle of red and one white and some cheap pretzel mix for snacks. One of the most miserable offerings I've ever seen.
For me the food selection was a big big con - simply because it is a convenience we count on especially as we travel with kids.
2. The pool. In all fairness we never used the pool - but it was cold, the pool is outdoors and does not have heated water. Plus it looked tiny and just not very welcoming.
So overall - it felt a bit like a 3 star hotel that charged higher prices.
3. There is a very nice restaurant attached at the back of the hotel that you can enter from within - but apparently it is not affiliated with the hotel in the sense that it does not provide room service etc. However due to the fact that the hotel rooms are directly above the restaurant, late night parties at the restaurant can lead to loud noises and disrupt your sleep if you like to sleep with open windows for fresh air.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chicago_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Chicago traveller,

Thank you for expressing your balanced views on your experience at Royal Palms in November. We are so pleased that you enjoyed much of your overall experience with us but are of course concerned that not everything was to your satisfaction.

Accordingly, I would like to address the concerns you have expressed about our inclusive continental breakfast and our complimentary wine hour in particular.

As you correctly point out, we do not offer a full cooked breakfast; our complimentary breakfast offering is a ‘buffet continental breakfast’. I am sure you would agree that waffles, eggs, cheese, and ham are not normally associated with a continental breakfast but we offer these as an additional courtesy to our guests who choose to enjoy them. I understand that on one day we ran out of the raisin scones you had previously enjoyed, and we apologize for this. All our baked goods are fresh each day and although we do our best not to run out of a particular pastry, we do occasionally find that a number of guests will choose the same item and on one particular day an unusually large number of guests chose the raisin scones first. It is our hope that our breadth of offering would have tempted you with something equally tasty. Thank you for drawing it to our attention at the time as that gave us the opportunity to make a more material apology which we hope went some way to alleviate your disappointment.

With reference to the simplicity of our complimentary wine offering, it isn’t our intent to have a cocktail party each evening. The wine hour is our informal thank you to our guests and a chance to mingle in a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. The choice of Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir seem to be popular choices. The fact that we display a single bottle of each is simply a matter of keeping the wines at a proper temperature. We do not know of another hotel in Bermuda that offers this complimentary service to all their guests every evening. For those guests who would prefer a wider range of beverages and snacks then we do of course have our Ascots bar.

As you say, both Ascots and Just 24 are technically independent of the hotel. For almost 20 years our restaurants have been owned and operated by the Chef and Maître de, an arrangement that has worked well as this approach offers our guests the best of both worlds; multiple in-house dining options together with the quality and value normally associated with independent owner operated restaurants. We really wish you had had the opportunity to see for yourself. You are correct in your assumption that we don’t offer an in-room service menu; this is a conscious decision on our part as we don’t believe the size and layout of the property is conducive to being able to deliver quality in-room service at a reasonable price. As an alternative we do offer all menu items on a tray service at standard menu prices.

For a small, boutique hotel on the edge of the capital, Hamilton, our pool serves us well and it is as shown on our website. We agree with you that it is cool in the winter!

We agree with your observation that Royal Palm is indeed in the 3 star range and are concerned that you may have had a different impression from somewhere. To be a 4 star or higher one would normally offer room service, 24 hour front desk and an elevator which as a two story property isn't particularly relevant. Most of our industry partners, for example Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels .com position us as a 3 ½ star property and AAA rate us as a 3 diamond hotel.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I found this property to be excellent with great staff and service. We were unfortunately on the island for a funeral and are so glad we decided to treat ourselves to a great place to retreat and regroup. Beautiful gardens, lovely, clean and cool rooms and great food. The access to the Internet, printing and phone service was also the best. Thanks to the management for the best of Bermuda hospitality.

Room Tip: Privacy best in one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Roxanne33,

Thank your for your kind words regarding our hotel, we do appreciate your review.

We're sorry that the circumstances bringing you to Bermuda were not ideal. We are glad however that you chose to stay with us and enjoy our amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
889 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,144 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,088 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $308 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing