We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Christmas Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Royal Palms is a beautiful hotel in a tranquil setting. We arrived on Boxing Day and stayed for 4 nights. Since we arrived on a Bermudian holiday, the staff contacted us weeks in advance, and provided a list of restaurants that would be opened that evening, and made our reservations for us. The hotel and grounds were beautifully decorated for Christmas, and we felt at home as soon as we arrived.

We stayed in the "Longtail" mini-suite, one of the garden cottages. There was a lovely sitting area with a koi pond outside our door. Breakfast was satisfying with waffles, pastries, breads, fruit, cereals, and more. The staff was friendly, and always happy to see us, and gladly answered any questions we had. Downtown Hamilton is an easy short walk from the hotel.

We dined at Ascots, the on-site restaurant one evening, and we highly recommend it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Royal Palms, and look forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKandRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear KKandRK,

We're so pleased to know you felt right at home when you arrived. It's rewarding to know our efforts to provide an atmosphere where our guests feel welcome and special is working.

We're so happy to know your stay has left you wanting to return for a longer vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back at that time.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    77
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
104
461
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a 3 star boutique hotel and reasonably priced for Bermuda. It exceeded our expectations. I had several questions/issues before arriving and each one was responded to within a few hours with very helpful specific information and suggestions. We stayed in the main building in the BIRD OF PARADISE room. Each room is named for a local flower, each door has a lovely ceramic plaque depicting the flower, and each room interior is decorated with fabrics representing the colors of the flower and in some rooms even pillows with fabric depicting the flower itself. This attention to detail is very unusual. Every room had a small bowl of fresh flowers that could have been refreshed for those of us staying for more than 5 days. Another small and inexpensive touch might be to update the the shower heads to water conserving, spray options.

The hotel is an easy walk to downtown Hamilton. By "easy" I mean both a short walk with
the entire distance having excellent sidewalks. The roads in Bermuda are winding and narrow , often without even a shoulder and many of them do not have sidewalks making it a challenge for walkers to stay out of the way of local drivers and scooter novices.. We were very happy to have had the hotel staff lend their helpful guidance so that we could enjoy safe modes of transit be it by foot, bus, cab or ferry.

The breakfasts included fresh waffles, boiled eggs, lovely and TASTY fresh fruit, flavorful yoghurt, crunchy bread and pastries accompanied by selections of meat and cheese. The two glitches at breakfast seemed to be that some guests had difficulty figuring out how to make the waffles and how to make soft, medium, and/or hard boiled eggs in a crockpot. While instructions were available these two procedures were clunky and awkward. The breakfast area itself is lovely in a breezy glassed in space where on sunny days the doors can be open and it feels like breakfast in a magic garden. I would mention that the overhead fans were a lovely touch BUT as with all humid climates the dust and dirt on the top of the blades should be removed.

There are two restaurants on the premises, ASCOTS, excellent food, well presented but a bit formal, and the JUST 24, a less formal alternative in a casual setting advertised as "...an option open to ROYAL PALMS guests..." that was not open during our stay. We very much enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the ASCOTS menu and would have appreciated having the opportunity to also have had the JUST 24 option on late evenings when we did not wish to eat at the ASCOTS or walk to and from Hamilton after dark.

The special touches including the name tags on extraordinary flora, the brilliantly well displayed paintings by local artists, photographs of local history, amazing table books about Bermuda, local artifacts all indicate a pride of place that is often not found in the modern, sleek hotels of today. We have learned to appreciate these nuances of a proud and culturally insightful aesthetic demonstrated at THE ROYAL PALMS management and staff.

Room Tip: The corner rooms in the main building provide more sound proof windows, vistas, and light. These wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear MKayes,

Thank you for your in depth review of our hotel. We're so pleased to know your expectations were exceeded starting with the prompt response to your questions prior to your arrival.

We appreciate your suggestion regarding the water conserving shower heads.

How awesome that you noticed and appreciated our attention to details and special touches throughout the hotel and gardens. It makes everything we do worthwhile.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back one day not too far away.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The Royal Palms Hotel lived up to my expectations completely. If you read any negative reviews, I really don't understand what the issues could be. The room was superb, the TV options were extensive and although I only used the restaurant on one night, it also was good. The wine hour was as it is made out to be, a bottle of white and a bottle of red with new bottles opened as required right up until the end of the wine hour - at the very least it allows you to sit done with other guests and get to know them over a pleasant glass of wine. The breakfast was also plentiful with the food options being regularly re-stocked right up until the end of the breakfast time. But, most important of all, the staff deserve a special mention due to their genuine friendliness and willingness to do as much as possible to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. I will be coming back to stay again in late December over Christmas, again one day. This place is a real jewel in the middle of a big ocean!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteSyd_Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Pete_SydAu,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We just love your description of our property as a 'jewel in the middle of the ocean'.
We feel our wine hour offers an intimate and friendly setting where one feels free to chat with other guests who end up becoming friends. We're so glad you appreciated it.
Our staff truly enjoy their jobs which translates into great service to our guests. Your mention of them will make their day!
We look forward to your return one Christmas not too far away!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I think the best way to review this place is to list the pros and cons so future travelers can make up their own mind whether this is the place for them or not. We stayed in the main building.
Pros:
1. Lovely rooms - spacious, neat and well maintained.
2. Beautiful grounds and decor.
3. Extremely friendly staff - they really seem to want to work with you and we totally appreciated it.

Cons:
1. So they offer morning breakfast and evening wine hour - but the offerings are really more like a 2 star hotel.
Morning breakfast has a small selection of scones, croissants, other breads etc. You can make your own waffles - if the mix is fresh they taste ok - or they can be sour. Eggs - you have to boil yourself and depending on how many other guests want to eat eggs (this is the only form you can eat them unless you fancy raw eggs) - it can take anywhere from 12 to 40 mts to get them done.
The selection in general is rather limited. If it is a weekend and there are more guests - then if you are not down within the first hour of breakfast - chances are pretty good they will run out of most stuff!
Now this is not such a big deal if you were in a big city and had lots of other options around plus if you don't mind the fact that you have to eat breakfast elsewhere even though you paid for it here. But Hamilton is a small place and there are not really too many breakfast options around.
For wine hour - one bottle of red and one white and some cheap pretzel mix for snacks. One of the most miserable offerings I've ever seen.
For me the food selection was a big big con - simply because it is a convenience we count on especially as we travel with kids.
2. The pool. In all fairness we never used the pool - but it was cold, the pool is outdoors and does not have heated water. Plus it looked tiny and just not very welcoming.
So overall - it felt a bit like a 3 star hotel that charged higher prices.
3. There is a very nice restaurant attached at the back of the hotel that you can enter from within - but apparently it is not affiliated with the hotel in the sense that it does not provide room service etc. However due to the fact that the hotel rooms are directly above the restaurant, late night parties at the restaurant can lead to loud noises and disrupt your sleep if you like to sleep with open windows for fresh air.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chicago_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Chicago traveller,

Thank you for expressing your balanced views on your experience at Royal Palms in November. We are so pleased that you enjoyed much of your overall experience with us but are of course concerned that not everything was to your satisfaction.

Accordingly, I would like to address the concerns you have expressed about our inclusive continental breakfast and our complimentary wine hour in particular.

As you correctly point out, we do not offer a full cooked breakfast; our complimentary breakfast offering is a ‘buffet continental breakfast’. I am sure you would agree that waffles, eggs, cheese, and ham are not normally associated with a continental breakfast but we offer these as an additional courtesy to our guests who choose to enjoy them. I understand that on one day we ran out of the raisin scones you had previously enjoyed, and we apologize for this. All our baked goods are fresh each day and although we do our best not to run out of a particular pastry, we do occasionally find that a number of guests will choose the same item and on one particular day an unusually large number of guests chose the raisin scones first. It is our hope that our breadth of offering would have tempted you with something equally tasty. Thank you for drawing it to our attention at the time as that gave us the opportunity to make a more material apology which we hope went some way to alleviate your disappointment.

With reference to the simplicity of our complimentary wine offering, it isn’t our intent to have a cocktail party each evening. The wine hour is our informal thank you to our guests and a chance to mingle in a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. The choice of Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir seem to be popular choices. The fact that we display a single bottle of each is simply a matter of keeping the wines at a proper temperature. We do not know of another hotel in Bermuda that offers this complimentary service to all their guests every evening. For those guests who would prefer a wider range of beverages and snacks then we do of course have our Ascots bar.

As you say, both Ascots and Just 24 are technically independent of the hotel. For almost 20 years our restaurants have been owned and operated by the Chef and Maître de, an arrangement that has worked well as this approach offers our guests the best of both worlds; multiple in-house dining options together with the quality and value normally associated with independent owner operated restaurants. We really wish you had had the opportunity to see for yourself. You are correct in your assumption that we don’t offer an in-room service menu; this is a conscious decision on our part as we don’t believe the size and layout of the property is conducive to being able to deliver quality in-room service at a reasonable price. As an alternative we do offer all menu items on a tray service at standard menu prices.

For a small, boutique hotel on the edge of the capital, Hamilton, our pool serves us well and it is as shown on our website. We agree with you that it is cool in the winter!

We agree with your observation that Royal Palm is indeed in the 3 star range and are concerned that you may have had a different impression from somewhere. To be a 4 star or higher one would normally offer room service, 24 hour front desk and an elevator which as a two story property isn't particularly relevant. Most of our industry partners, for example Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels .com position us as a 3 ½ star property and AAA rate us as a 3 diamond hotel.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I found this property to be excellent with great staff and service. We were unfortunately on the island for a funeral and are so glad we decided to treat ourselves to a great place to retreat and regroup. Beautiful gardens, lovely, clean and cool rooms and great food. The access to the Internet, printing and phone service was also the best. Thanks to the management for the best of Bermuda hospitality.

Room Tip: Privacy best in one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Roxanne33,

Thank your for your kind words regarding our hotel, we do appreciate your review.

We're sorry that the circumstances bringing you to Bermuda were not ideal. We are glad however that you chose to stay with us and enjoy our amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at Royal Palms and are enjoying every minute. The inn is beautiful, the room fantastic and everyone is so kind and helpful.
We are leaving and staying at Grotto Bay for the last days of our vacation. I hope this is a good idea. It will be hard to top this wonderful place!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Catherine H,

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is conveniently situated for easy access around the island via buses and ferries. Our kitchenettes in the mini suites allow for light in room meals to be enjoyed if you prefer a quiet evening in. We're pleased you thought your suite was fantastic.

I hope you enjoyed your experience at the other hotel but hope you will be back to see us again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many nice places, but I think this is the nicest property we have ever stayed in. The facilities are beautiful, everything is lovingly maintained, our room was great and perhaps best of all the staff are the most friendly and responsive that we have ever encountered. If you are looking for a warm and friendly small hotel rather than an all-inclusive resort, then we can't recommend it highly enough. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountyOmnivore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear County Omnivore,

We're very proud to hear that you consider us the nicest property you have stayed in. We have a great team of employees that love what they do. From the gardeners to the housekeepers to the front desk ladies, our aim is to ensure each one of our guests feels welcome and special throughout their stay.

We're delighted to know that you want to return and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,682 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Hotel
Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing