We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The Royal Palms Hotel lived up to my expectations completely. If you read any negative reviews, I really don't understand what the issues could be. The room was superb, the TV options were extensive and although I only used the restaurant on one night, it also was good. The wine hour was as it is made out to be, a bottle of white and a bottle of red with new bottles opened as required right up until the end of the wine hour - at the very least it allows you to sit done with other guests and get to know them over a pleasant glass of wine. The breakfast was also plentiful with the food options being regularly re-stocked right up until the end of the breakfast time. But, most important of all, the staff deserve a special mention due to their genuine friendliness and willingness to do as much as possible to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. I will be coming back to stay again in late December over Christmas, again one day. This place is a real jewel in the middle of a big ocean!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteSyd_Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Pete_SydAu,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We just love your description of our property as a 'jewel in the middle of the ocean'.
We feel our wine hour offers an intimate and friendly setting where one feels free to chat with other guests who end up becoming friends. We're so glad you appreciated it.
Our staff truly enjoy their jobs which translates into great service to our guests. Your mention of them will make their day!
We look forward to your return one Christmas not too far away!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    77
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
105
462
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I think the best way to review this place is to list the pros and cons so future travelers can make up their own mind whether this is the place for them or not. We stayed in the main building.
Pros:
1. Lovely rooms - spacious, neat and well maintained.
2. Beautiful grounds and decor.
3. Extremely friendly staff - they really seem to want to work with you and we totally appreciated it.

Cons:
1. So they offer morning breakfast and evening wine hour - but the offerings are really more like a 2 star hotel.
Morning breakfast has a small selection of scones, croissants, other breads etc. You can make your own waffles - if the mix is fresh they taste ok - or they can be sour. Eggs - you have to boil yourself and depending on how many other guests want to eat eggs (this is the only form you can eat them unless you fancy raw eggs) - it can take anywhere from 12 to 40 mts to get them done.
The selection in general is rather limited. If it is a weekend and there are more guests - then if you are not down within the first hour of breakfast - chances are pretty good they will run out of most stuff!
Now this is not such a big deal if you were in a big city and had lots of other options around plus if you don't mind the fact that you have to eat breakfast elsewhere even though you paid for it here. But Hamilton is a small place and there are not really too many breakfast options around.
For wine hour - one bottle of red and one white and some cheap pretzel mix for snacks. One of the most miserable offerings I've ever seen.
For me the food selection was a big big con - simply because it is a convenience we count on especially as we travel with kids.
2. The pool. In all fairness we never used the pool - but it was cold, the pool is outdoors and does not have heated water. Plus it looked tiny and just not very welcoming.
So overall - it felt a bit like a 3 star hotel that charged higher prices.
3. There is a very nice restaurant attached at the back of the hotel that you can enter from within - but apparently it is not affiliated with the hotel in the sense that it does not provide room service etc. However due to the fact that the hotel rooms are directly above the restaurant, late night parties at the restaurant can lead to loud noises and disrupt your sleep if you like to sleep with open windows for fresh air.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chicago_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Chicago traveller,

Thank you for expressing your balanced views on your experience at Royal Palms in November. We are so pleased that you enjoyed much of your overall experience with us but are of course concerned that not everything was to your satisfaction.

Accordingly, I would like to address the concerns you have expressed about our inclusive continental breakfast and our complimentary wine hour in particular.

As you correctly point out, we do not offer a full cooked breakfast; our complimentary breakfast offering is a ‘buffet continental breakfast’. I am sure you would agree that waffles, eggs, cheese, and ham are not normally associated with a continental breakfast but we offer these as an additional courtesy to our guests who choose to enjoy them. I understand that on one day we ran out of the raisin scones you had previously enjoyed, and we apologize for this. All our baked goods are fresh each day and although we do our best not to run out of a particular pastry, we do occasionally find that a number of guests will choose the same item and on one particular day an unusually large number of guests chose the raisin scones first. It is our hope that our breadth of offering would have tempted you with something equally tasty. Thank you for drawing it to our attention at the time as that gave us the opportunity to make a more material apology which we hope went some way to alleviate your disappointment.

With reference to the simplicity of our complimentary wine offering, it isn’t our intent to have a cocktail party each evening. The wine hour is our informal thank you to our guests and a chance to mingle in a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. The choice of Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir seem to be popular choices. The fact that we display a single bottle of each is simply a matter of keeping the wines at a proper temperature. We do not know of another hotel in Bermuda that offers this complimentary service to all their guests every evening. For those guests who would prefer a wider range of beverages and snacks then we do of course have our Ascots bar.

As you say, both Ascots and Just 24 are technically independent of the hotel. For almost 20 years our restaurants have been owned and operated by the Chef and Maître de, an arrangement that has worked well as this approach offers our guests the best of both worlds; multiple in-house dining options together with the quality and value normally associated with independent owner operated restaurants. We really wish you had had the opportunity to see for yourself. You are correct in your assumption that we don’t offer an in-room service menu; this is a conscious decision on our part as we don’t believe the size and layout of the property is conducive to being able to deliver quality in-room service at a reasonable price. As an alternative we do offer all menu items on a tray service at standard menu prices.

For a small, boutique hotel on the edge of the capital, Hamilton, our pool serves us well and it is as shown on our website. We agree with you that it is cool in the winter!

We agree with your observation that Royal Palm is indeed in the 3 star range and are concerned that you may have had a different impression from somewhere. To be a 4 star or higher one would normally offer room service, 24 hour front desk and an elevator which as a two story property isn't particularly relevant. Most of our industry partners, for example Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels .com position us as a 3 ½ star property and AAA rate us as a 3 diamond hotel.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I found this property to be excellent with great staff and service. We were unfortunately on the island for a funeral and are so glad we decided to treat ourselves to a great place to retreat and regroup. Beautiful gardens, lovely, clean and cool rooms and great food. The access to the Internet, printing and phone service was also the best. Thanks to the management for the best of Bermuda hospitality.

Room Tip: Privacy best in one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Roxanne33,

Thank your for your kind words regarding our hotel, we do appreciate your review.

We're sorry that the circumstances bringing you to Bermuda were not ideal. We are glad however that you chose to stay with us and enjoy our amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at Royal Palms and are enjoying every minute. The inn is beautiful, the room fantastic and everyone is so kind and helpful.
We are leaving and staying at Grotto Bay for the last days of our vacation. I hope this is a good idea. It will be hard to top this wonderful place!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Catherine H,

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is conveniently situated for easy access around the island via buses and ferries. Our kitchenettes in the mini suites allow for light in room meals to be enjoyed if you prefer a quiet evening in. We're pleased you thought your suite was fantastic.

I hope you enjoyed your experience at the other hotel but hope you will be back to see us again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many nice places, but I think this is the nicest property we have ever stayed in. The facilities are beautiful, everything is lovingly maintained, our room was great and perhaps best of all the staff are the most friendly and responsive that we have ever encountered. If you are looking for a warm and friendly small hotel rather than an all-inclusive resort, then we can't recommend it highly enough. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountyOmnivore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear County Omnivore,

We're very proud to hear that you consider us the nicest property you have stayed in. We have a great team of employees that love what they do. From the gardeners to the housekeepers to the front desk ladies, our aim is to ensure each one of our guests feels welcome and special throughout their stay.

We're delighted to know that you want to return and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Royal Palms is a perfect place to stay whether visiting for business or personal reasons! My husband and I were in Bermuda for our delayed honeymoon and then stayed on for a few days of Board meetings. The location is perfect for those wanting to explore Hamilton or the rest of the Island as the short walk to Hamilton allowed you to explore the city and it's history or jump on the public transit system or ferry system to explore just about any other part of the Island. If you are making a quick trip somewhere and want a cab the staff are always available to call a taxi who arrives early and will wait patiently until you are ready to go - what a welcome change and attitude. Our room, a short walk through a garden area to the main house, was large with a sitting area, kitchen area, king size bed, very functional bathroom and enough AC to keep the heat and humidity away! The continental breakfast was more than the basics and everyday there was something different to try. Staff were always there to answer any questions and/or make suggestions as to what you might want to do for the day based on weather and length of time you have available - they know things you won't find in your travel planning research as they are locals. As an added bonus, DVDs are available for borrowing should you decide to stay in and watch a movie. We certainly would go again and the feedback from the other Board members that arrived partway through our extended stay was also very favourable. Well done and thank you for the top notch hospitality (they knew we were there on our honeymoon and welcomed us accordingly!) .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan-Lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Susan-Lance,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our property. We're so glad you enjoyed the close proximity to Hamilton as it does make it ideal for the easy stroll to the public transportation and restaurants.

We’re so happy that you found your guestroom to be spacious and well-appointed. Thank you for recognizing our employees . We are proud of our staff and take great care in the selection and training of them.

We're so pleased that you and your colleagues appreciated our services and hope to see all of you again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Perfection! My wife and I have been to Bermuda several times, always opting for a beachside, luxury resort. This time, however, we decided to stay at this gem of a boutique hotel, located within easy walking distance of Hamilton. Tucked into a pretty, residential neighborhood, Royal Palms feels like an oasis in the middle of a Bermuda suburb.

Royal Palms is quiet and pristine, with lovely flowered grounds, pretty outdoor pool, and beautiful main house that rings of Bermuda. Our Deluxe Mini Suite was large, with plenty of closet and drawer space, a very nice modern bathroom, and cute outdoor patio. The AC and big, flat screen TV was a nice complement to the charming Bermudian motif.

Although billed as a Continental Breakfast, served in the main house each morning, we were also treated to scrambled eggs and waffles, in addition to fresh fruits, hot & cold cereals, delicious scones, Danish, and biscuits. A definite Continental Breakfast “Plus.” Need your eggs hardboiled, just ask.

But what really made the stay special was the hotel staff. Headed up by property manager, Theresa, her team is professional, warm, friendly, helpful, and imaginative. If you need directions, lunch & dinner reservations, day-trip planning, transportation, shopping suggestions, room improvements, all you have to do is ask and you will be rewarded with a smile and quick and accurate results. I made a passing comment that our showerhead might need some “attention” and by that afternoon it has been replaced. It was our anniversary during that week and, after some collaboration, the staff recommended and booked a romantic dinner at another seaside hotel and then favored us with special treatment, as a result. It was one of the best meals and experiences we have ever had while traveling.

We would definitely recommend Royal Palms to anyone visiting to this beautiful island.

Room Tip: Worth the extra few dollars for the deluxe mini suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Larry S,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our property. We’re so happy that you found your guestroom to be spacious and well-appointed.

I'm very pleased to hear that our colleagues took such wonderful care of you during your stay. They are very eager to please and will be grateful for your kind words. Thank you for highlighting the excellent service you received and the enjoyable breakfast each morning!

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,691 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Hotel
Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing