We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect "in town" location for exploring Bermuda”
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect "in town" location for exploring Bermuda”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you want to be in "town" as a base for exploring Bermuda, you can't do any better than this lovely small property. The people are warm and helpful, property well maintained, clean and comfortable, and overall ambiance delightful. Within ten minutes to several excellent restaurants and bars, and close to scooter rentals and bus stops when you want to explore. In town but quiet; located in a lovely residential neighborhood - great access and tree frogs to boot. Plus, an excellent bar & restaurant for when you don't want to go out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlebeachclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    83
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
477
36
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Royal Palms is a relaxing and attractive property. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
We booked a room with kitchen and it was nice to be able to prepare our own coffee & snacks.
The bathroom was very spacious although I think they could have offered more high end bathing products like Molten Brown or something. The rooms had a sort of B&B feeling.. very cozy like you were in a guest room of a dear friends house. The breakfast was nice. Very simple in a nice open cafe. We dined at their restaurant the first night. It was quite formal feeling. But, the food was good and well prepared. Not much vegetarian but, plenty of good choices.
It was relatively quiet in the evening. There was a nice area just outside the lobby to sit and stare at the stars and listen to the tree frogs.. It was very tranquil.
The hotel is near enough to Hamilton so it's very accessible. We went to Mad Hatter restaurant. Very Nice, Lobster Pot.. Great fish, Juice & Beans was great for a snack!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind review, and hopefully we will get to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We wanted to get away for some good distraction and had a few requirements.
Not too far. We didn't want to spend days of a precious week traveling: Bermuda is a short trip from the Newark Airport.

We wanted some place warm and hospitable: Bermuda hosts some of the most civilized resorts there are.

We wanted to eat well: plenty of wonderful restaurants on this island, including sports bars where we could watch the Red Sox games.

We looked for a place that is homey but with readily available food and drink on the premises.
We enjoy walking, and Hamilton, Bermuda is walker firendly.
Art is a great way to get to know a place, and Bermuda has some charming art galleries with local scenes and paintings.

We hit the jackpot with the Royal Palms.

Beautifully appointed in tropical ferns and colors, this small hotel, (32 rooms) is a cross between a bed and breakfast and a hotel. There are lush gardens surrounding the premises and a lovely pool. The walk to Hamilton is an easy ten minutes.

Royal Palms has two restaurants on site: Ascots is their high end version, expensive but worth the treat. Twenty Four is lighter bar food, but equally delicious. Between these two restaurants is a handsome bar. The management offers a complimentary wine tasting every evening from 5:30 to 6:30. In the morning, a generous buffet breakfast awaits. The pace is leisurely, and Jack is there to make sure you have everything.

Consierges Kate and Teresa couldn’t have been more kind and helpful; it was a pleasure just chatting with them. And Felix, with the everlasting smile, was ready to fix anything we could come up with.

We had a wonderful, restful, happy time at the Royal Palms and heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms we saw were all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollypond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so grateful for your lovely review and thank you for recommending us. We're so pleased you enjoyed everything we had to offer and our staff appreciate you mentioning them by name. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband stayed at the Royal Palms for a month while transitioning to move here and I joined him for two weeks. We have stayed at four other hotels over the years and by far give the Royal Palms top ratings for friendliest staff,clean rooms and property and best location for walking to and from Hamilton. The breakfast food was always fresh and plentiful in a very beautiful inside but felt outside seating area. We also enjoys visiting with other guests over a complimentary glass of wine in the evenings. The pool is very refreshing after a day of exploring the Island. We will recommend the Palms to anyone looking for the perfect travel experience in Bermuda!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your kind review, and thank you for the top ratings! Our complimentary wine hour each evening is most definitely a popular time for our guests and we're so glad you enjoyed it.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I made our third stay at the Royal Palms. We spent ten glorious days enjoying the beautiful surroundings, gardens, Koi pond and well appointed rooms. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating, you felt like family. The breakfast included in you room consisted of fresh fruit, eggs, waffles and many other delicious items. I would encourage everyone looking for a no stress vacation with all your needs attended to stay at the Royal Palms Hotel.

Room Tip: We always stay in a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. It's great to know we must be doing something right! It certainly makes us happy to hear that you felt like you were staying with family. We look forward to seeing you on your 4th stay.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

- Pro's -

1.) Staff - The staff in general at the Royal Palms could not have been a nicer group of people. All were friendly, warm and accommodating, and every single individual who worked there went out of they're way to provide directions, give us tips on great restaurants, shopping and bars in the area; they made reservations for us and even went to the Red Cross to provide my mother with a wheel chair. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed getting to know the staff at the Royal Palms.

2.) Location - the RP is just about a 10 minute walk to all the restaurants and shopping of downtown Hamilton. We always felt very safe walking around, even at night...and there were sidewalks the whole way (which actually is not necessarily a standard throughout Bermuda). We felt it was a rather convenient location.

3.) Rooms - The rooms were nice and well appointed. They had an iphone docking station, flat screen tv, fridge and a nice kitchenette area. The rooms were very clean.

4.) Facilities - The grounds themselves were very nice - there were avocado pear trees and banana trees on the property, and they do a very nice job landscaping. The pool itself and pool area is small, but private. My only knock was that I would have preferred that the pool was heated, it was rather cold and I normally like to take some time in a pool, and I only took a quick dip.

5.) Restaurants - We only ate at the more laid back of the two restaurants, but we all enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. The bartender makes a mean cucumber gimlet.

- Cons -

1.) The pool. As I said above, the pool would have been a heck of a lot better if it were heated. It was October, and the weather was great the whole time - anywhere between 75-85 - but the pool is fairly secluded and doesn't get a heck of a lot of sunlight, so it was colder than it probably would have been had it gotten a decent amount of sun.

2.) Breakfasts - Don't get me wrong, the breakfasts aren't bad. They have waffles you can make which is kindof fun, hardboiled eggs to heat up, assorted fruits, croissants & breads, meats and cheeses, etc., and John is there to help and he is so friendly and accommodating. But I really would have liked some eggs, bacon and sausage. It is not cheap to stay at this hotel, and the breakfasts are included, but I do like more than a continental breakfast.

3.) Cost - I think this is more a point about Bermuda hotels in general and less about the Royal Palms specifically, but when you get to your final price, the additional taxes, gratuities and fees add quite a bit to your bill at the end. Not the hotels fault, it was that way with every place we looked at. It's just unfortunately a pricey destination in general.

- Overall -

We really enjoyed our stay, loved the staff, the food, the drinks, the restaurants in downtown Hamilton and just Bermuda in general. Its a beautiful island, and I can't think of a better group of people to spend it with. We would gladly stay here again and visit Bermuda in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjakes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback on your stay! We really appreciate your kind review. We're so pleased to hear that our colleagues took such wonderful care of you during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bermuda.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Royal Palms hotel for 3 days in October. It was wonderful. The room I had was spacious and beautifully decorated with a lovely view - from what I could tell all the rooms are!!. Each room is named for an island flower. Breakfast was self-serve and great- All you can eat of waffles, fruit, yogurt, breads, quite a variety and there was an attendant to help if needed. He is also very firendly but not intrusive and had lots of information about the history of the hotel. There are two outstanding restaurants- Ascots and Just 24. Ascots is a 5Star restaurant and prices are higher than in Just 24. Food is great in both! As for the staff, I do not think that "no" or "can't" are in their vocabulary. When I heard visitors ask for assistance I never head anything except - Oh, no problem- we can do that! I have also stayed at the large hotels on the island which were also nice but fell in love with the Royal Palm. I highly highly recommend it and I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pcurtistweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We truly appreciate your kind compliments about the hotel and our employees. We are proud of our hotel services and take great care in the selection and training of our employees. Your favourable comments will certainly be shared with them. We're so glad you fell in love with our hotel and hope to welcome you back soon for another wonderful stay.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
539 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
663 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,097 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Hotel
Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing