We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our second visit to Bermuda and this time we decided to look for somewhere to stay in Hamilton. We are so pleased that we found The Royal Palms Hotel. It is a short, interesting 10 minute walk into town either to catch the ferries or buses or for shopping, restaurants etc. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor in the main part of the hotel and was lovely and clean and the bathroom spotless. The air conditioning was extremely efficient and quiet. The staff were very prompt to respond when we reported that the battery was low in the safe. There were some very nice touches in that there were ground coffee sachets in the room, not instant, and there was freshly brewed coffee available around the clock in one of the lounge areas. All the food items at breakfast were lovely and fresh. We had one meal in Just 24 at the hotel and our desserts were amazing and looked almost too beautiful to eat! The gardens were lovely to sit in. We were very sorry to leave and will certainly stay here again on our next visit to Bermuda and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Sue H,

Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad that you chose to stay with us on your 2nd visit to Bermuda.

We're pleased you appreciated the coffee!

We hope to see you on your 3rd trip to the island.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    67
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
95
424
35
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
389 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We recently spent four nights at the Royal Palm. We could not have found a more perfect hotel. We were looking for a small hotel with beautiful gardens and the Royal Palm was everything we wanted and more. Theresa and the rest of the staff made our Bermuda holiday so much more enjoyable with their advice and recommendations. We will return to the Royal Palm!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear liveoak33,

We're so glad that you found us and offered everything you were looking for. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The first time we vacationed on the beautiful island of Bermuda we stayed in at the Southhampton Princess which was inclusive of meals because we were told that you couldn't go to Bermuda without a meal plan, food was much too expensive. We really were not happy with our experience in such a large hotel so we began to look for a small boutique hotel. We found the Royal Palms and have returned every year since for the past 15 years. First, we love that the Royal Palms is just a short walk into town where there are many opportunities for dining (both more and less expensive) although our very favorite restaurant "Ascots" is located right inside the Royal Palms. The owners Angelo and Eddie along with their staff provide top notch food and service. This year they have even added a second restaurant "Just 24" which is more casual and very convenient for hotel guests. Royal Palms is owned by Susan and years ago, along with her brother Richard, they began to treat us not just as guests but as friends. Over the years the hotel has expanded a bit and they have a larger staff now that is managed by Theresa who treats us like family. Theresa and her staff cannot do enough for us, they're very accommodating and fun as well. We always stay in a mini suite and over the years we have been in many different rooms which are all tastefully decorated with comfortable bedding and all are extremely clean. The grounds are beautiful and well manicured and there are plenty of chairs throughout the property if you just want to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine and the gardens. Breakfast is provided outside the main building on a lovely patio and we often times bring our coffee and sit on the patio outside our own room. After a day out and about exploring different beaches on the island I love to relax for an hour or two poolside to read a good book. The pool area is nice and peaceful. We travel quite a bit and this is the only place that we return to year after year, its really like our Bermuda home away from home.

Room Tip: We love the mini suites away from the main building where it feels a bit more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GMA1495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear GMA 1495,

Thank you for the awesome review. We always look forward to seeing our repeat guests each year. We hope we will see you returning for the next 15.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Palms Hotel in late May; my daughter was on a business trip.

This hotel was excellent; the staff was wonderful to me and my daughter; helping us with transportation; making sure the room was comfortable; as well as suggestions for site seeing.
The hotel was so clean; I don't think you could find a piece of dust if you looked.

The outside gardens are delightful; it is a very calming and quiet place.

I didn't want to leave

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandmasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear grandmasis,

Thank you so much for your review. We are very proud of our housekeepers and agree that they do an awesome job. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old bride
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I want to start by saying this experience was wonderful. We were on a cruise, and after many days on the boat, we needed a break and some quiet time away from the ship. We docked in Bermuda and decided to stay overnight. This one night at the Royal Palm was way more than my husband and I expected. This place is amazing and the service and staff were great. The breakfast was good, and we just overall enjoyed everything about the Royal Palm. This place is so clean and the grounds are beautiful. We will definitely come back and stay here.

Crystal Howell

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Crystal H,

Thank you for your kind review. We're thrilled that you found us to be more than you expected. Hopefully your one night visit has enticed you enough to return for a longer stay and to enjoy everything Royal Palms has to offer.

We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was thinking about going back to Bermuda this year and realized I had never written a review about our experience at the Royal Palms last year. When we went, it was our first trip to Bermuda and we were looking for a small hotel. The Royal Palms was perfect for us. As guests, we were treated as guests - not just one of the hundreds of people in a big hotel. The staff worked hard to help with island information, taxi arrangements, dinner reservations, directions, etc. This is more of a B&B than a hotel because it is small (by hotel standards) yet it is large enough to provide a full-time staff, bar, restaurant, and pool. The Royal Palms is clean and quiet with an air of distinction and a keen attention to detail. When you leave this renovated Victorian home, you will feel like you had been staying with a favorite relative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear EENG,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you were able to enjoy all our amenities. We are proud of our staff who do their best to ensure each guest leaves feeling like they can't wait to come back. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived our stay at Royal Palms was everything we hoped for and more. Gorgeous setting and a short easy walk to town (to get our moped!), amazing service, kind people, beautiful rooms, and more. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour were both a bonus, as was relaxing by the pool. We can't wait to go back to Bermuda and stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a mini kitchenette which made it easy to store waters, wine, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MereDitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear MereDitty,

Thank you for your kind review. It's good to hear we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 3,250 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Hotel
Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing