We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place to Stay, the Best Staff & The Best Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay, the Best Staff & The Best Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

It's really not difficult to write a review of a place that has been so close to "Perfection" for the past 15 visits! The Royal Palms in Bermuda has been our destination of choice in July for 13 straight years. It has, in many ways, become our summertime home-away-from-home.
Bermuda is a wonderful place, The Royal Palms - the best "boutique-style" hotel on the Island - makes it even better.

If you're looking for a big, all-inclusive, 3 swimming pools, walk a half-a-mile to the hotel lobby type of place - go somewhere else. This isn't for you! But, if you want to really experience Bermuda - this is the place to stay.

The Royal Palms is a small and very charming, expertly-managed Victorian-style boutique hotel set over an acre of incredible gardens, flowers, palm trees & secluded sitting areas where all types of colorful birds pass through to feed during the day and frogs sing throughout the night. The rooms are clustered over 3 sections on the property - the main house, walkway cottages and the garden area. We've stayed in all three - each possesses its own particular charm and offers a slightly different feel. All rooms are well-appointed - English style with sitting areas, a small kitchen, refrigerator & flat screen TV. The bathrooms are spacious & extremely clean with all the amenities

They have a great breakfast - buffet style with more things than you could eat - ranging from eggs to waffles to fresh fruit, ham and cheese. We enjoy eating on the veranda and reading The Royal Gazette in a relaxed "get your own" setting.

Now, what really separates The Royal Palms is the attention to detail in everything that they do and that starts with the superb staff. Theresa, Sonia, Leroy and owner Susan are professionals. They are wonderful - so nice and helpful - from making arrangements or reservations to an early morning conversation about what's been going on around the Island since our last visit. Anything you need - they deliver!

One other tip for the Bermuda visitor - if you want a great location to serve as your island base - The Royal Palms offers the best location. We ride around on a scooter all day and at night, we sometimes don't feel like a taxi ride to the other side of the island to have dinner or grab a quick bit. There are 20 wonderful restaurants within walking distance from the Royal Palms including one of the best Ascots that is right on the property. Just ask The Royal Palms staff for a recommendation - they'll help you out.

Needless to say, we'll be returning to here on our next trip. And, the one after that!

Room Tip: The Garden area rooms - in most cases - offer a larger balcony to relax at the end of a day in the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalaPorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    77
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
104
462
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

There were many positive reviews of this hotel so we decided to go with it. It is definitely outdated! We booked one of the best rooms but we should have gone elsewhere. When we wanted to go to bed at night the bed sheets were filthy, the blanket was dirty and so were the pillows. We called the reception but we were told there was not house keeping is not working. We insisted of new room or new sheets and blanket. They brought it to us and let us change everything ourselves. Our room was on the second floor and even thought we had no food there were still ants in the room. The bath tub was blocked and we had to call to snake it. The actual breakfast was very limited and boring. I would not make the same mistake of going there again.

Room Tip: If you really, really have to stay there choose higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MilakdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear MilakdM,

We at Royal Palms would like to thank you for your review and say how very sorry we are that you had such an experience. We have attempted to reach out to you in order that we could better understand how your experience could take place without us knowing about it. We have written to every guest who stayed on the second floor in June that broadly fit your description and also sent a Trip Advisor message through the review system but to no avail. With this in mind we would like to use this medium to assure you that had we known about your experiences we would have done everything in our power to alleviate the problems including assisting you to find an alternative hotel that better suited your needs. We recognize that to take valuable vacation time and the expense of travel etc. to arrive at a hotel that isn’t what one visualized is disappointing to say the least. Royal Palms is a 100 year old boutique hotel so I am not surprised that we might be described as ‘dated’ and if that was not what you were looking for then we were the wrong hotel for you.

Although we are over 100 years old, I would like to assure any reader that our facilities and services are fully up to date. Every room is equipped with a flat screen television with movie channels on cable, a DVD player, iPod dock, bathrobes, complimentary tea and coffee, complimentary wired and wireless internet which can also be enjoyed from anywhere around the hotel grounds, and pool. Guests also have the ability to print from any handheld device with E-print and Air print Each room has a dedicated split system heat pump air conditioner for minimum noise and maximum efficiency. We also offer a complimentary wine hour each evening and have one of the finest restaurants in Bermuda, Ascots, along with the more casual restaurant, Just 24.

While we fully understand your disappointment at the hotel not being what you expected and we realize this can cast a pall on other elements of one’s stay we must respectfully disagree with the suggestion that our blankets, pillows and sheets were all ‘filthy’. I assure you this comment has got our attention as it is counter to everything Royal Palms strive to achieve. All our laundry is done in house by our laundry staff, and although we don’t starch our bed linen, every item is ironed by hand. I cannot imagine any circumstance in which all bed linens were found to be soiled. On a more positive note, since reading your review we have examined every piece of bed linen and replaced any that showed any sign of aging. We have also examined our blanket stock and although all were found to be clean and unworn, we do feel that the dark tan colour of some blankets may not have been the best choice and are currently changing to a softer shade. Some time ago we made the decision to replace all our bedcovers with bright white plain covers so that any marks would be clearly evident.

We take note of your comment regarding the presence of ants. We are as vigilant as possible to ensure that any food left out in guest rooms is put in the fridge. As with any sub-tropical destination ants are around and will take any opportunity to forage. In especially dry conditions they come in looking for water. We take measures on a daily basis to keep them from the premises but as with any hotel in Bermuda it is a constant challenge.

We are sorry that you found our complimentary continental breakfast limited and boring. We work hard to offer a wide range of choices for breakfast and we would be happy to hear of any additional items that would enhance our offering. As you know, our current offering is as follows:
Coffee – regular and decaffeinated
Tea – 6 choices including herbal varieties
Juices – 4 choices usually including tomato, orange, grapefruit, and apple
Whole fresh fruit – apples, oranges, bananas, and kiwi etc.
Cut fresh fruit – seasonal selection usually including melons, strawberries, and blueberries
Breads – 3 choices
Cereals – choice of 4 usually Muesli, Raisin Bran, Special K and Rice Krispies.
Pastries - Selection of scones, croissants, muffins and danishes
Yoghurt selection
Waffles
Boiled eggs
Ham
Cheese

We are sincerely sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Royal Palms and had you felt able to share your concerns with us at the time it would have been our hope to have been able rectify matters.

Kind Regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We just returned from 5 nights in Bermuda and stayed at The Royal Palms. It was wonderful! Our room was great, very clean and quiet with a fridge, microwave, etc. We had plenty of hot water and A/C. The staff there does an amazing job. Every single one of them was friendly, helpful, and did a wonderful job of keeping the hotel beautiful and efficient. Leroy (a manager) is great and bends over backwards to help you. We relied on him several times for restaurant recommendations and were never disappointed. Also Jen gave us a very nice tour as soon as we arrived so that we would know where everything was.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It’s close enough to downtown Hamilton to walk pretty much everywhere (a 10-15 minute walk or so), and far enough away to be nice and quiet. And the walk itself is very nice. The garden and grounds surrounding the hotel were perfectly kept and gorgeous. There are benches, swings and chairs tucked away throughout where you can sit and read or just enjoy the scenery.

The pool is awesome as well. We mostly spent our days going to various beaches and exploring the island, but it was nice to return at the end of the day and enjoy a swim in the pool. There are at least a couple “honor bars” placed throughout the hotel where you can buy a soda/water. That is also were the ice machines are. There was always plenty of ice (if you want to pack a cooler or something), and they also have pool & beach towels for you to use. You simply place them in the dirty towel basket when you are done with them.

Breakfast is continental-style…coffee/tea, lots of juices, cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries, cheeses, biscuits, deli meat, hard boiled eggs, as well as a make your own waffle area. I like a “hot” breakfast, so I would simply make a ham and cheese biscuit and go heat it in the toaster oven (which is right there with everything). It’s nice to just go have a relaxing breakfast right there, without having to leave. You can eat in the breakfast area, or in the beautiful little courtyard right beside it. Besides all that, they have a wine hour every night! A free glass of wine is a nice way to start your evening before heading out for supper. This was nice, we would take our glass out to the garden area and find a swing to relax on.

Aside from the hotel, Bermuda is absolutely gorgeous, small enough to see a lot of the island in a few days, but large enough that there was always something fun going on. We were there for July 4th, and they had a big street festival with a nice fireworks show. But the point is, there seemed to be something fun like that going on a good bit downtown.

We did not eat at Ascot's, so I can't comment on that. But I would definitely stay at The Royal Palms again--and plan to!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PalmettoGirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was our first time in Bermuda. I went with my husband and two year old daughter. Every person on staff was super friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was good, it was what you would expect from an included continental breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool was nice and refreshing if you didn't want to make the trip to a beach. The location is fairly close to the city of Hamilton, the bus station and the ferry. About a 10-15 minute walk. An overall great experience. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I love Bermuda and we visit whenever possible. We have stayed at the Royal Palms multiple times (every single trip to Bermuda) and we absolutely love it. Sonia and Theresa treat us like family and they always make it a wonderful stay. The hotel itself is beautiful and the grounds are a magnificent secret garden. There are lots of lovely places to sit, enjoy tea, dine, and just relax and appreciate the amazing Bermudian weather and vibe. We love sitting outside in the mornings and the evenings just enjoying the grounds. The rooms are nicely decorated, the beds are extremely comfy, and there is even a small fridge and kitchenette -- it's like a home away from home. The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful; their first goal is to make your stay comfortable, relaxing and and fun. We always appreciate the extra time they spend to suggest activities, restaurants, new places to visit, etc. Another benefit to the hotel is that it is a 5 minute walk into Hamilton, so it's easy to pop around there for dinner, to take the bus to anywhere that you might want to go on the island and to enjoy all the city has to offer. Every trip to Bermuda is always too short! We will continue to stay at the Royal Palms on future visits, as we absolutely love it. Many, many thanks to Sonia, Theresa and all of the staff -- your efforts truly make a positive difference and we LOVE the Royal Palms!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingtaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Charming old English style, lovely rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, plus Ascots, probably the best restaurant on the island. Easy 10 min. walk to shops at Hamilton. Beautiful grounds and pool area.

Room Tip: All rooms are different in 3 separate building, have never had one I did not like. The suite rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigdog313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We just completed our stay at Royal Palms for the second consecutive year. Bottom line is that we will never stay anyplace else when we go to Bermuda. And we hope to continue to make it an annual trip. The managers, Theresa and Sonia, seemed genuinely happy to see us upon our arrival and came out to greet us with hugs. Our room was lovely and perfect in every way. Everyone we met on staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. These wonderful people all seem to enjoy making sure our every need is met. We also ate dinner 3 nights in the incredible Ascot's Restaurant on premises. This lovely hotel is located within a short walk from downtown Hamilton but comfortably away from the hustle and bustle of downtown and the tourists. We are already counting the days until we can return to Royal Palms and see our friends there. Thank you and big hugs to Theresa, Sonia, Felix, Johnny, LeRoy, Kennita, John, Myra, Angelo, Mary Joanna, and Tess.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eltut66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,684 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Hotel
Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing