We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Business Trip Ever”
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Business Trip Ever”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spent two nights, three days here, a very relaxing and pleasant stay. Room / mini suite well equiped and very good, WiFi everywhere including rooms is excellent. Breakfast very good, the place just oosed "service" all the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you, when my taxi was late to take me to a business meeting the maid ran me into town! Also the restaurant was amazing one of the top restaurants in Hamilton and very much the talk of the town, make sure you try it especially the fish (any fish it will be exceptional).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    81
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
108
468
36
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Room 26. The staff is SO hospitable and the grounds were beautiful. If you plan to rent a scooter it is ideally located near Hamilton and can daytrip to all island spots. The value was exceptional as it included breakfast and all gratuities for $250/night! The only minor criticisms are the room had a slightly musty odor that improved with air conditioning, I do not think this is unusual after a particularly humid week on the island. Also, the restaurant attached Ascots has delicious food but is very expensive and you basically have to plan on lunch out. There is a slightly smaller restaurant that is more casual but we didn't try it. There was some outside noise that was disruptive but it was off property. Overall we were really happy with the large room with kitchenette and private patio, the lovely staff and great value. We would definitely stay there again if we returned to Bermuda.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shara222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at the Royal Palm Hotel and we were most impressed with our mini suite, the overall facilities and service. Its close proximity to the city made it very easy for us to walk to the major sights in Hamilton. The dining experience at the hotel restaurant, ‘Ascots’, was amazing. The ambience was pleasant , the staff very attentive and friendly and the food was excellent every morsel was savored. We will look forward to visiting the Royal Palm Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_L_BDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We spent 7 nights at the Royal Palms .... my wife had stayed there on a number of occasions a few years ago with work ....but this was the first time I had stayed there ...... the level of service and the quality of all the staff was first class. This is a boutique hotel that may not have all the facilities that other Bermudian top hotels have but this one has character and class. It is surrounded by beautiful gardens and has a lovely enclosed outdoor pool. It is within 10 minutes walk front the town centre and its bars and restaurants ... but Ascots, based in the hotel, is one of the top restaurants in Bermuda for fine dining,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PsychoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

What makes the Royal Palm so special is everyone cares, from the porter you meet when you arrive, to the front desk, to the breakfast manager who knows you need coffee desperately, to the first class restaurant where the food is the best on the island, they all care. We like being able to walk though local neighborhoods into the downtown. I wish I had nerve enough to stop at the local high school we passed and ask to see a class in progress. No, I didn't do, too shy. Every passer by says hello and expects a hello in response. It isn't fake, they are polite and cordial. It is lovely to get a warm feeling in a foreign place. Yes, it is a bit expensive, but how often is one visiting a heavenly place. Bermuda deserves the terrific reputation it has.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk. They want to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have been fortunate enough to travel to many places in the world, and - in terms of places to stay - the Royal Palms is one I have and will return to again and again. Sure, Bermuda is an amazingly wonderful and relaxing place to visit, but the hotel multiplies those beneficial effects many-fold. The hotel combines great comfort with the unbelievable warmth and kindness of its staff, so that - regardless of what state you arrive in - within a few minutes you are smiling and relaxed. Whether sitting on one of the swings in the grounds, having a great meal at the hotel, on walking the 5 minutes down streets lined with palms and bougainvilleas to Hamilton town centre, this was a fabulous find.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankie_Briton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerbusch, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Royal Palms is certainly a an excellent destination for travelers to Bermuda. Hamilton offers numerous options for eating out at night, and is the best spot on the island for catching buses and ferries to explore the island. Royal Palms is an easy 10 minute walk away from the center of town - fortunately on a curbed sidewalk - a great rarity in Bermuda.
We loved our comfortable and spacious room in the original house, including excellent beds and linens, clean modern bathroom, and easy access Wifi. The property has very much the boutique hotel feel we were looking for, and Sonia and Theresa make the stay all the more comfortable through their helpful tips for the day.
Our only issue with the room was some noise coming up at night from the in-house restaurant. In the future, I would ask for a room that lies somewhat away from that part of the main building. The restaurant itself must be very nice - although high priced and requires proper dress.
All in all, we enjoyed a very comfortable stay.
A few more tips for first time visitors: the only real way to get around the island is to buy a bus/ferry pass - service runs often, is convenient and scenic; do realize that taxes are low but service charges are relatively high on the island, including on the rooms. So ask for the final price when booking. We loved Bermuda and highly recommend Royal Palms.

Room Tip: The main building has charm and wonderful rooms, but be aware that there will be some noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadshow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
526 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
643 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,063 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,503 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Hotel
Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing