We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Very Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location, Very Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 4 days/3 nights and had a great experience.

Pros:This hotel has the feel of a bed & breakfast, with very kind staff who know the details of your stay and check in with you on how things are going each day. As you approach the hotel, you see the beautiful gardens, with benches, a swing, pathways through the plants, etc and you know you're going to feel at home. Our room was one of the ones with an outdoor entrance (about half the rooms seem to be in the main structure, the others have entrances along a quaint little path). We could see the pool from our little patio (with chairs and a table). Our room was very comfortable- 2 single beds, a plush sofa,a kitchen area with a toaster oven, small fridge, microwave, sink, and full set of china, wine glasses (which we used!), a coffee pot, and our favorite -a tea set. The bathroom was clean, no problems there.

We also appreciated the complimentary breakfast - and loaded up so we wouldn't have to spend tons on the expensive(!) restaurants for lunch and dinner. There was always coffee and tea out, and the breakfast also included various baked goods (croissants, muffins, scones, sliced bread), fruit (melon w/ grapes & strawberries, canned peaches, prunes?), cheddar cheese, ham slices, yogurt. There was a waffle maker and eggs that could be boiled to taste in a crock pot. There were both a toaster and a toaster oven (tip: make a ham and cheese croissant by toasting one half of a croissant with the cheddar and one half with the ham, them smoosh together!). The breakfast room is nicely decorated and glassed in (the windows and doors open to let breezes in) so one can see the gardens. There are also a few tables so one can eat outside.

There were a few nice sitting areas in the main house and a laptop(& printer) w/ internet access that was complimentary to use. The office had dvds to borrow and the rooms had dvd players.

The location is about a 10 minute walk from Hamilton, and they tell you the best route to go, aka the one with the most sidewalks (Bermuda doesn't seem to have that many except in the main towns). It's a pleasant walk, pretty flat, and you pass pretty homes, greenery, and a few eating options.

Cons: Not close to a beach. Not directly in town, if that's what you're looking for. Pool is small and unheated.

Room Tip: We used Orbitz & then emailed to follow up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isparkle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    77
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
104
461
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

It was our first time to Bermuda and we wanted a boutique hotel/villa that was walking distance to everything for 3 days before spending the remainder of the week in a typical can-be-anywhere type of beach resort. Everyone at the Royal Palms was AMAZING from my first phone call to our departure! A big hug to Sonia, Theresa, Johnny and Nick for giving my family such a warm welcome. It was a wonderful surprise. My kids (11 & 13) loved their separate room, the garden and veranda, and tropical dining room. My husband and I appreciated the breakfast, cocktail hour and free wi-fi. Our villa was spacious, clean and private. The short walk to the city center gave us a nice glimpse of some of the colorful Bermudian houses but the roads are quite narrow so provided a nice adventure. I'd definitely stay there again for either business or leisure just for the outstanding service. While we were there, a tourist couple who had married 20+ yrs ago at the hotel dropped by for a nostalgic visit and to take pictures. It's that kind of a hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for villa #25 if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singcatfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 46th with a four night stay at the Royal Palms. Beautiful gardens and facility, immaculate and elegantly decorated cottage, large and delicious buffet breakfast in a gorgeous indoor/oudoor dining area, staff on call 24/7 who treat you like family, bottle of wine with flowers and a congratulatory card in our room one evening, truly only a 10 minute walk from town, but in a quiet, upscale area. You haven't lived 'till you've been pampered at the Royal Palms. We couldn't haved asked for more.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Pro's include excellent service and comfortable atmosphere. The only real con is that it is not a beach front property and getting around in Bermuda is a challenge since there are no car rentals. This hotel is not far from the bus terminal or restaurants but getting around still presents a problem in bad weather. Also difficult to walk around with children since the streets are very narrow and many do not have sidewalks. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was all great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerTrumbull_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

The stay at the Royal was VERY pleasant despite the fact my daughter and I got sick (No relations to the hotel - only a local virus that cauight us off gaurd...)
The staff there was freindly, patiant and simply lovely. It felt like family and we got spolit.
Not too much to do with the kids and the location is not the best, but it is not too bad and the food, atmosphere and comfort worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kereni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

My girlfriend and I took advantage of a sunny January weekend to spend a night here, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms were large and tastefully decorated, the gardens were immaculate and cheerful (they must be even more incredible outside of the heart of winter!), and the staff were helpful and friendly from check-in to check-out. There were so many nice touches as well, such as a complimentary wine hour and a fantastic, fresh breakfast (in a gorgeous atrium), newspapers, a flat screen TV and DVD player in the room, and spacious balconies from which you can hear chirping birds and rustling leaves. The whole experience left us feeling refreshed and well-vacationed even though we are local residents who just live a few miles away! It was a pleasant oasis near the heart of Hamilton, and surely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StingerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

The Royal Palms Hotel was very clean, very nicely decorated and conveniently located.  We would walk to the central bus terminal (about a 10-minute walk) in the morning and get anywhere we wanted by bus.  We could also walk to many restaurants and shops in Hamilton, Botanical Garden and Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art.
 
People who want to spend their whole time in Bermuda on the beach may want to stay at one of the hotels by the beach, but since we were there in December and wanted to explore the entire island, staying at this hotel made very good sense.

People working there were extremely friendly and helpful and they created such a warm atmosphere in this wonderful guesthouse.  Unlike a chain hotel, it felt like I was coming home every night.  I normally stay away from B&B as rooms tend to be small and there is not much privacy, but this hotel came with both the cozy atmosphere and personable service of a B&B and the big rooms and privacy of a hotel.  The complimentary breakfast was very good, too.  

Bottom line: I would highly recommend it to anyone who travels to Bermuda.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,682 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Hotel
Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing