We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute setting with great staff”
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosedon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Was here on business and was put at the Rosedon. At first I was slightly disapointed as I had been told that I would be at the Hamilton Princess, but I quickly changed by mind. The staff is wonderful. Everyone is extremely friendly and goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. They offer free cab rides to Elbow beach, which the woman at the front desk made a call to cab driver she knew who then gave me his cell phone number to call when I wanted to head back to the hotel. They also gave great directions the next day to the bus terminal so that I could get to Horseshoe Bay. The breakfast in the morning gets there right away and although not the best breakfast is quite enjoyable out on the patio outside your room. The housekeepers come in twice during the day opening the blinds for daytime and then closing them up at night, as well as turning down the beds and leaving a chocolate mint on your pillow. My room walked right out to the garden and pool area so I could easily take a swim at night and then head right back to my room. The English Tea was also a nice treat when returning from a day at the beach, although I did not get to enjoy it once I returned to work.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank JM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 544 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2006

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Rosedon Hotel. Staff were lovely, polite and friendly and looked after us very well especially during hurricane Florence which lashed the island three days after we arrived. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff especially where our two year old son was concerned. The cooked breakfasts were lovely as was all the food experienced in Bermuda, my husband and I have definitely put on weight in just a week. Will definitely return to Bermuda and this hotel but not in hurricane season!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank deborahlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2006

We had a very good overall experience at the Rosedon. The hotel's decor and ambience were charming. Everything was clean and well maintained. The gardens and pool are beautiful. The staff were helpful and courteous, and the environment there is very quiet and peaceful.

Upon arrival they were able to accomodate our check-in 2 hours early. They mentioned that they were giving us a free upgrade from a minimum to a deluxe room, though I'm not sure the room we ended up in had all the "deluxe" features, though it did have a nice king size bed. Since we paid for a minimum room, it was in any event more than we expected.

The afternoon tea is very nice, though you need to be quick if you want those sandwiches, because they get snapped up fast. My advice to you is be downstairs at 4 sharp if you're hungry. On a day that we got there at 5 there was still some cake left.

The only things in the room that weren't 100% were that one of the bedside lamps didn't work, the coffee maker didn't quite boil the water, and the bathroom has a strange smell. We didn't complain about the lamp or coffee maker so I guess nobody knew about that. The staff brought hot water up to us on request. As for the smell in the bathroom I think this is due to the smell of the Bermudian tap water, which I would recommend you avoid drinking.

There was maid service twice a day when we were out. They would quietly come in, clean, make the bed and leave chocolate mints out for us. We opted for breakfast on the porch each morning and it was really a lovely setting. The breakfast was good, though repetitive (4 days out of 5, the menu was eggs and bacon). On Tuesday nights they have a party for the guests which includes free rum swizzle drinks and lots of good finger food.

One other thing I should mention: the free transportation to the beach, which is included in the room rate, is a great idea but could be run a little better. The hotel is located in the City of Hamilton, which is approximately a 10 minute taxi ride from Elbow Beach. The hotel gives you vouchers for the taxi ride and free beach passes to Elbow Beach, and calls you a taxi to go to the beach. Sometimes your taxi will arrive very quickly, while at other times you may be stuck waiting for 1/2 an hour. The vouchers are honored by only a couple of the taxi companies - many of the other taxi companies will not accept it. When you want to come back to the hotel from the beach, you will need to find a phone, call a taxi and wait for it to show up, which is subject to the same time periods I mentioned above. However, in our experience it was worth the wait as Elbow Beach is, in our opinion, the best beach in Bermuda (it's the widest and the least crowded).

Overall our experience at the Rosedon was very positive and we feel that it was good value for the money, taking into account that Bermuda is a very expensive island.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank beachbum619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2006

Upon arrival to Bermuda, we were thrilled to be at the Rosedon. The airline arrangements to get there were awful. We were to arrive at 2:30 P.M. and it was nearly midnight. The front desk at the Rosedon made us very welcome and helped to get past the flight problems. The location cannot be beat. The breakfast each day was really nice outside our room which was on the back of the main house. The staff were very accomodating and made you feel at ease, just as if you were home. The ladies at the front desk went out of their way to arrange activites and dinner reservations. The swizzle party was a pure delight. I would suggest the Deluxe rooms or better. They were nice, clean and well decorated. All in all, I would say in simple words, the Rosedon is a really nice place to stay while on the beautiful island of Bermuda.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MLloydSalem,IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2006

We just got back yesterday from the Rosedon and we loved it! At first, I was hesitant as I am used to staying in bigger, more "hotel-like" accomodations- but this was a refreshing change. The manor was really quaint and beautiful - we stayed in one of the cotteges by the pool and the foliage and flowers were breathtaking. The staff were friendly and the service was extremely propmt. I did take issue with the bathroom which needed to be updated to the point of even looking a tad dirty, and the towels and robes looked worn. Aside from that, it was lovely and different and I would stay there again. PS the evening tea was a great touch as well!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank trippinmaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
342
Reviewed May 23, 2006

We spent a week at the Rosedon to celebrate our 10th anniversary and found it to be wonderful in every way. It is within a couple of minutes walk of Hamilton's shopping, restaurants and bars as well as the ferry dock and bus terminal, but is an oasis of calm when you want to get away from the hustle and bustle. All of the staff is friendly, professional and willing to help out with advice about the island. We will return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2006

We stayed at the Rosedon from May 11-14, 2006. We arrived and waited for our room while having lunch at the pool; lunch was not memorable and it would have been better to gone out to lunch, but having it at the pool was pleasant and convenient. Most of the rooms surround the pool, only a handful of rooms are located in the main house. Our room had everything we needed; view overlooking the pool, king size bed, TV, and a clean bathroom. Breakfast in the morning is lovely; you call room service between 7-10am and breakfast is in two minutes. You can have breakfast in your room, balcony, pool, or main building. We loved the afternoon tea that starts around 4pm: tea, small sandwiches, and cake. The staff exhibited consistently excellent service and accommodated a late check out. The hotel restaurant recommendations were overpriced and overrated; we found more desirable dinning locations on our own. We just found some dinner locations on our own. We loved the location from downtown Hamilton. It was only two blocks from the shops, restaurants, and ferry. Our transportation was walking, bus, and ferry. We didn’t rent mopeds because it looked dangerous on those small narrow roads. Rosedon was surrounded by lovely gardens with all sorts of plants and flowers. The hotel provides discounted cab rides and beach chairs at Elbow Beach. You can also use the Elbow beach changing rooms and grill. Rosedon has a serve-yourself-bar that was always stocked. If you like to be walking distance from downtown, shopping, and transportation this is the place to be. If you love the beach then you may be more content at an Oceanside resort. This historic mansion with it intimacy and local charm was a perfect fit for us.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank OldRedBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
830 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,015 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $398 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, Rosedon Hotel is a charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. The main house is surrounded by lush tropical gardens with heated swimming pool and fountains offers a quiet place to relax. Each room features it’s own covered porch and private sitting area to take in the view. Rosedon renovated the entire main house inside and out in early 2017 and introduced a new restaurant called ‘Huckleberry’; a nod to Mark Twain. Some of our Hotel amenities include ‘Triple Filtered’ in room drinking water, a heated outdoor swimming pool, traditional afternoon tea and a Bermuda Rum Swizzle party every Tuesday evening by the pool. Guests are also offered daily transportation and access to a pink sand beach located on the South Shore. Our Rooms are individually decorated with European fabrics and feature different furniture and bed sizes. Some of our rooms feature baths while others have showers. We are also committed to being environmentally conscious through solar hot water, LED lights inside and out, waste reduction and recycling. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is available in our new restaurant ‘Huckleberry’, located in the main house and front porch. Room service is also available, served to the room, patio / balcony or at Pool side. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing