We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosedon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Rosedon last week as part of my wife's 50th birthday celebrations. The management and staff were wonderful and went out of their way to make our stay a special one. We were new to Bermuda and Olga and the team really helped us. We were only booked in for 2 nights because we wanted to also spend some time on a beach, but Olga arranged for us to attend the Bermuda Day celebrations on Front Street as guests of theirs (even though we would be at our new hotel at this time) - a really nice thing to do. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 81, a Royal room, and this was very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoff1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for this good review. We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us as part of your special celebration in Bermuda.
So happy that Olga was able to make arrangements for you even after you had left the hotel. Our aim is to go 'over and beyond' for our guests.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back one day.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Rosedon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 543 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

I researched a large number of reviews about this hotel before I booked our stay. My wife really wanted to stay in a small, local hotel to better interact with the local people and culture. We wanted to close to town so we could walk there for dinner and shopping. The Rosedon provided us with the most relaxing and enjoyable experience we have had in a long time.

Imagine being served breakfast on the table outside your room (we were in #31), overlooking the pool and beautifully maintained botanical gardens while listening to the birds sing. Your neighbors are friendly but respectful of your privacy. Take a short walk to town for some shopping, then return to the Rosedon at 4 PM for formal tea served in the central hall. Ample seating on the beautifully furnished porch transports you to a previous era as you sip on tea and enjoy delicious baked goods. Enjoy Dinner in town, a nightcap in the living room, then it is time to retreat to your room. We spent a day at Elbow Beach, arriving there via the provided transportation. The hotel staff prepared a wonderful picnic meal and packed it in a cooler for us. Beach towels were provided.

I cannot say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They make the experience a special and personal one. If you are travelling with children or are looking for a full service resort with a large number of activities there are better choices in Bermuda. But if you are a couple looking for a romantic private getaway only step away from downtown and a full service resort, DO NOT come to Bermuda without stopping at the Rosedon. We will absolutely be back on our next trip to Bermuda!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the pool and garden.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich_C313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review. You have described what we aim to achieve perfectly.

We are particularly proud of the fact that most of our employees are Bermudian and hence can definitley add the local culture and feel for the people of Bermuda to your Rosedon experience. This is what helps to make us unique.

We can't wait to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Rosedon is a small hotel right across the street from the Princess Hamilton in Bermuda. The main hotel is approx. 108 year old with added rooms in the back area around the pool. It reminded me of a plantation type island home.

A full breakfast was included every morning and you just needed to call and let them know what time you wanted to be served and where you wanted to eat, be it outside your room or pool side or inside the main house or on their front veranda. We did not realize that they also serve light lunch and dinners for a nominal price, but were always away and did not use that service.

At first they put us in a small room with a smaller bed and we mentioned that we were told we would have a king-size bed. The next day they let us move our room into a much nicer one with the king bed. The hotel was very clean, the only thing I could complain about was there were stains on the rug, don't know why that would be like that esp. at those prices, but I just ignored that one issue and we enjoyed our stay there.

There were mostly an older group of people staying there and a lot of people were from England. Everyone was friendly, from the staff to the guests. It was extremely quite at night. There was tea served and small sandwiches and pastries every afternoon around 4:00 pm to 5:30 or so. All the food was very good. Also on Tuesday evening they have a rum swizzle party with unlimited drinks and small snacks. Unfortunately we made the mistake of going to Portofino's Restaurant to eat that night and wished we would have stayed at the hotel instead.

Rosedon is approx a 7 minute walk to the ferry and the downtown area. You need to cross the street when leaving the hotel because there are no sidewalks directly in front of the hotel, just be careful when crossing the streets because everyone drives on the left side of the road.

If you are looking for a smaller hotel that includes breakfast and is close to downtown Hamilton then this is a good place to stay; it has an out-door heated pool and free shuttle service to the beach, although when we were there it was very windy and we left the beach area after an hour. We stayed from April 28 thru May 3,2014.
Mary Zeis
Pittsburgh, PA

Room Tip: We were on the second floor overlooking the pool. Be sure to get a room with a king size bed or you...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marypgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for this positive review.
Our location really does make for easy access to most of what Bermuda has to offer.
You are right our Swizzle Party is loaded with so many hot and cold h'ourvres that many guests forego dinner.
I am pleased to share that we have replaced the rug that was stained in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The title not because the place is old fashioned , but because we stayed there many years ago and brings back great memories . We stayed in the house itself , breakfasts delivered to our rooms then . Afternoon tea an added bonus . When I go back for my 20th trip to Bermuda I will stay there if I can afford it !

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank 154976judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for this positive review. We are happy that your trip brought back special memories of the happy times you had before while staying here.

We have tried to retain the old world charm, but have kept abreast with all of the latest that one has come to expect like wifi, ipod docking stations and more.

We hope to welcome you back again one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My fiancé and I booked the Rosedon for both our wedding and honeymoon. To say it lived up to our expectations is an understatement. Lesiline arranged the wedding on the Rosedon's lovely front porch. She took care of all of the details. All my bride and I had to do was to show up. It was totally stress free and wonderful. The rest of our stay was wonderful the Rosedon is in easy walking distance to all of Hamilton including the bus depot which gave us access to the whole island. We were also given a taxi pass and a picnic lunch for an afternoon at Elbow beach and its famous pink sand. The room was wonderful a Royal room (#83) with a four poster bed. In hind site I think a Luxury room would have been just as nice and a few dollars cheaper. The way the Rosedon staff takes care of you is wonderful. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. It was the perfect vacation and honeymoon.

Room Tip: Choose a luxury room and save a few dollars over the Royal room and give up very little
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for this awesome review. We are honored that you choose Rosedon and Bermuda for your wedding and honeymoon. It continues to amaze me just how worry free a wedding can be, when one opts like the two of you for the simplicity and beauty of our location. So happy we lived up to your expectations.

Wishing you many years of marital bliss that hopefully include anniversary celebrations where it all began, here at Rosedon.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just got home today after sadly having concluded our seven day holiday in Bermuda at the Rosedon Hotel.
Now we are going to book again for next year, not sure whether I should share this as I really would be horrified if I couldn't get back in again as this place is just wonderful, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. The staff are welcoming , helpful in the extreme and joyful to be around. They stop and talk, like you are an old friend and this wonderful feeling of belonging lasts until the moment you leave, you feel like you are leaving friends and are sad to go. The hotel is ideally placed we found for a visit to Bermuda as it sits about a five minute walk to the Capital of Hamilton, where there are shops, boutiques and restaurants serving from the simplest fayre up to international cuisine so you take your pick. Its about the same distance from the Harbour where you can catch the ferries that run regularly to various places dotted around the island all of them a new surprise and a joy. Personally I could have sat in the shade on one of the benches dotted about the harbour all day and watched the world go by and all passers by are often ready to stop and chat, such a relaxing feel to the whole place, can't wait to go back.
The Rosedon is especially nice to return to after a day out and join other guests in an afternoon cuppa and cakes and sandwiches served on bone china very decadent. The breakfasts are varied and if there is something you want to change its not a problem. They are not always as warm as I would have liked but that's finding faults after looking for one as there are none that readily spring to mind. It must be the most relaxing place I have been and even though near their Capital City a paradise of tranquility and charm, not forgetting to say hello to 'Owen' the resident cat who bothers no-one but seems to get treats just by lying in the sun. We had a Royal Room with huge beds, even had steps to get into them, they were comfortable and we slept every night very well and found it too difficult to stay awake after eight as by then we were so relaxed we were horizontal. The only thing I would say is that the recorded tropical noises that all Hotels seem to feel we need at night would gain I think from ending at midnight as after that everything is so still it feels a little intrusive and I'm sure everyone is tucked up in the sumptuous beds so not necessary either. However if that's the worse thing I can find I'll overlook it to return at the earliest time possible, never been anywhere before where I didn't want to leave until the Rosedon Hotel and the beautiful island of Bermuda so thankyou to all the staff for our stay which was absolutely wonderful and see you all again extremely soon I hope. Thankyou Graeme and Susan Anderson

Room Tip: The Royal Rooms are secluded and there are ones at Ground Floor level and very near the pool so idea...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for this fantastic review! We are thrilled that your visit to Bermuda and Rosedon left you not wanting to leave.
Among the many attributes of Rosedon, you mentioned our staff . I want to share with you that the warmth and friendliness are uniquely Bermudian. Also most of the staff have been with us a very long time. The average length of service is twenty years. After so many years working in a hotel environment,one really cares about the guests and will go to any length to ensure they feel welcome and pampered.
We wish we could turn off the tiny tree frogs that 'serenade' at night. But nature keeps them chirping.What is so strange is that as Bermudians, we don't hear them until a guest ask what is the noise from.(:
We can't wait to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The staff at the Rosedon Hotel are trained to make your stay very special and indeed we had that experience. It is a classic old Bermuda hotel with manners to match. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable (LOVE the fluffy towels). We enjoyed the special hot complimentary breakfasts served on the verandah, in your room or at a table outside your room - all with five minutes notice. Plenty of towels and chaises are around the pristine, heated pool which i enjoyed every day. The gardens were very well maintained and blooming profusely during our stay. I contrast their garden setting with that of the very sad and tired Botanical Gardens which could take a pointer from the Rosedon. Afternoon tea was a pleasure to look forward to at the end of every afternoon. Served on vintage tea cups, there were also tea sandwiches, scones, cookies and breads. At the manager's party on Tuesday night, I enjoyed wonderful food, rum swizzles and calypso music with other guests until 8 pm on the verandah. I cannot think of a negative thing to say about the Rosedon. It was wonderful and I see why so many people come and stay for a month at a time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqueline35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for this fantastic review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so immensely.

I will be sure to pass on your compliments on our gardens. We have a wonderful team, who aim to make our gardens extra special. Clearly they have succeeded.

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
825 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,957 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $398 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, Rosedon Hotel is a charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. The main house is surrounded by lush tropical gardens with heated swimming pool and fountains offers a quiet place to relax. Each room features it’s own covered porch and private sitting area to take in the view. Rosedon renovated the entire main house inside and out in early 2017 and introduced a new restaurant called ‘Huckleberry’; a nod to Mark Twain. Some of our Hotel amenities include ‘Triple Filtered’ in room drinking water, a heated outdoor swimming pool, traditional afternoon tea and a Bermuda Rum Swizzle party every Tuesday evening by the pool. Guests are also offered daily transportation and access to a pink sand beach located on the South Shore. Our Rooms are individually decorated with European fabrics and feature different furniture and bed sizes. Some of our rooms feature baths while others have showers. We are also committed to being environmentally conscious through solar hot water, LED lights inside and out, waste reduction and recycling. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is available in our new restaurant ‘Huckleberry’, located in the main house and front porch. Room service is also available, served to the room, patio / balcony or at Pool side. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing