We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but let down by lack of attention to detail”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosedon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosedon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but let down by lack of attention to detail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

A good colonial style hotel with some rooms located over 2 floors with direct external access around lush and very well kept gardens and swimming pool.

This was our second stay at the Rosedon on holiday in Bermuda within the last year. We again enjoyed the stay but the hotel lets itself down with the lack of attention to some details. This is unfortunate, but what is a concern is that feedback provided at the time of the last stay (September 2007) had not been acted upon and similar problems existed. We stayed in the same room (Room 84)!

I have to question whether it is worth paying over $400 (+17.25%) per night for the Luxury Suites, comfortable as they are.

The good points:

Friendly staff, well furnished rooms, very lush and knowledgeably maintained gardens, an outside swimming pool which is a delight and is never crowded. The ability to have the inclusive breakfast on the verandah, around the pool, in room or at the good sized table on your balcolny. Clean rooms

The not so good points:

Royal Room (top category). Lots of electronics; TV, CD player, DVD etc...unfortunately the quality of the TV sound was so poor (even after maintenance assistance) it should be scrapped, the CD player was ok for radio but not the CD. The in room safe was broken; The coffee maker was broken (no glass pot) the shower was broken (but was mended during the stay). Please have room servicing quality control!!
Small points like the room advertised robes - there were no robes until we asked. The (replacement) coffee maker was not cleaned each morning. Reception are helpful in making dine around table reservations - but beware - make sure they provide you with a confirmatory voucher otherwise you have difficulties at the restaurants. Checkout process is friendly but painfully slow.

In summary, the Rosedon is a good choice, it is convenient and
friendly but be prepared for 'let downs'. Other reviewers have said the same. It is personal judgement whether even in expensive Bermuda, it is worth paying for the top rooms - there is no guarantee of the extras being provided or working.

Will we stay a third time in the Rosedon...probably not. Time to try the Royal Palms.

  • Liked — Short walking distance to the amenities of Hamilton
  • Disliked — Quality furnishing in room but a few facilities in roon were broken
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gr7base
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    80
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
75
284
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

Rosedon is one of those lovely little, 1st class, small hotels that Bermuda has been famous for for generations---a combination of pleasant accommodations, lushly landscaped gardens and grounds and all of the finer elements of '..traditional..' Bermudian charm and hospitality---from the General Manger, Ms. Muriel Richardson (who has been with the hotel in various capacities for many years) right on down the chain of efficient, helpful, friendly, attentive, hospitable staff, at every level and job description along the way. Comfortable and hospitable doesn't even begin to describe it.

The hotel is constituted as three interrelated spaces: the main house--and old '..colonial..' styled mansion--which serves as lobby, offices, public lounges & spaces, and also has several guest rooms; the lushly landscaped and manicured gardens and grounds (anywhere else but on Bermuda, the grounds would qualify as a '..botanic garden..' attraction all on their own); and the main, L-shaped guest-room '..wing..' at the back of the gardens & grounds.

Guest rooms run the gamut from basic, tastefully decorated 'Standards', through larger, better appointed 'Royal Garden' doubles. Almost all of the rooms (except for a few front-facing rooms--#42,43,44--on the upper floor of the main house) have views out into the lushly landscaped and manicured gardens and grounds, surrounding the pool area. Because the property sits well back frrom the road and nestled into the hillside, the grounds are quiet and sedate.

Our room for this visit (June/July, 2007) was one of the ‘Luxury Garden’ rooms (#62-Ground Level), which are somewhat larger than most (a couple/ few feet this way and that) very tastefully decorated and appointed (see photos). Of the several other room categories we were shown or looked into during our ten(10) day visit, all were impeccably clean, tastefully (if just a bit 'dated') decorated and quite pleasant. But if you are looking for '..glitz & glamour..' this is not the place for you. Rosedon is in every other respect, a lovely, rock-solid, traditional, '..Bermudian..' small hotel. What you see in hotel and other web site photos and TA candid guest photos is pretty much what you get.

Though there is no on-premises restaurant, a limited-menu, full-breakfast is provided within the room rate, that may be taken on the broad front porch of the main house, or promptly delivered to your room or a poolside table in the gardens. Also included in the rate is a pleasant afternoon, light Tea, served in the main house at 4 PM. Rosedon also offers (at moderate extra cost) a limited light-luncheon menu (sandwiches & sides) as well as a very limited light- supper (soup, salad, sandwich dessert) that may be taken on the porch, your room or poolside.It is also situated a short, very pleasant stroll from all of the many other varied dining options of downtown Hamilton. There is also a MILES MARKET, with an excellent prepared-foods take-out department, located a short strolling distance away, where you can pick-up and return with a picnic lunch or supper to be taken at a table just outside your room or poolside.

It's also well worth noting that ROSEDON has an especially high rate of loyal, multi-repeat-visit clientele (even by Bermuda standards). Several other guest that we met and chatted with during our visit had stayed at Rosedon frequently/numerous times before—some 'generational'...coming first with parents, then for honeymoons, then again for anniversaries,...each '..voting with their wallets..' time and again.

  • Liked — The traditional Bermudian charm and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank KDKSAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Rosedon. It is an intimate hotel, small...no hassles.
Check in is a breeze..staff is friendly. Hotel has lots of charm.
Rooms are basic but very clean. Beds are comfy. The grounds are lush and beautiful.
Heated pool is a bonus.
Breakfast was great...so nice to order it and they will deliver where ever you want it..by the pool, in your room, on the verandah.
Excellent location just minutes away from Hamilton.

I will go back for sure.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Roznovascotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2008

After 6 nights at the glorious Cambridge Beaches resort on the west side of Bermuda we wanted to move to a more central location in Hamilton to explore the capital and the eastern side of the island. We chose the Rosedon because of its supposed reputation, but what a mistake. We paid top-dollar for the Royal Suite, 4-poster bed et al, only to discover that it was a small, dark, damp and dank room in a motel-like extension in the hotel's garden, accessed through the carpark, rather than being contained in the main colonial house. The Receptionist was surly, the porter was lazy (we had to retrieve our luggage ourselves), the afternoon tea was abysmal. The following morning's breakfast was delivered, as exalted, to our room but the scrambled eggs were cold and congealed. That was the final straw. However, salvation was close at hand; we used the Rosedon's own internet service to find the Royal Palms Hotel quite literally just around the corner. A quick inspection of their rooms provided by their delightfully welcoming staff was enough to convince us to move there straight away, especially as their rate was $66 cheaper for an infinitely superior mini-suite. The remainder of the holiday was thereby saved - thank goodness that our abiding memory of the lovely island of Bermuda and its people was not forever tainted by this unfortunate Rosedon experience.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying there
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank smiffy2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2008

The hotel is beautiful. Gorgeous, quiet pool area. Every day we had DELICIOUS breakfast on the patio or you can have it by the pool. Rooms were nice, spacious, very comfy beds, Lovely staff. Great location in the capital city. 5 STAR. I've booked it again for this October already!

  • Liked — breakfasts, location and pool
  • Disliked — i loved everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BethMaclennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

I have just returned from a weekend in Bermuda and stayed at the Rosedon Hotel. I had a beautiful deluxe room in the main house. They carried my luggage to my room both arriving and leaving. The service and staff were excellent and spoiled me. I was travelling on my own and they could not have been more helpful with arranging taxis and restaurant suggestions. They organized the same taxi driver who picked me up at he airport and was my driver for the 3 days I was there. He was very informative and dependable. They organized trips to the Beach and took me by cab. The breakfast was excellent and the high tea was fantastic. I felt like I was in a private home. I will definately return and stay at this hotel. This was my 6th trip to Bermuda and this hotel made me feel like I was at home and looked after all of my needs. It was very personal, unlike the larger hotels.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
8 Thank Glover2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great White North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2007

We stayed at the Rosedon for 10 days and had the opportunity to see why there are good and bad reviews. When we arrived we were disappointed with our room - it had a funny smell and we had to carry our luggage and golf bags down two flights of concrete stairs while the Bell Hop carried one of our carry-on bags. However, things changed and most days the staff was very friendly and helpful. The property is beautiful and well located and the room was spotlessly cleaned 8 out of ten days. The day we left was terrible with check out taking forever. We had booked a taxi to the airport, through the front desk the day before we left. They forgot to call so we asked again at checkout and waited for another half hour then we found out that they still had not called so I was forced to walk across the street to hail a taxi.
All in all it was a very nice hotel for 8 out of 10 days and I might go back but for some reason when they have a bad day you can understand the bad reviews.

  • Liked — Very good location.
  • Disliked — Overpriced for what you get.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank trailerparkricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,682 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Property: Rosedon Hotel
Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens, the private pool offers a quiet place to relax and gives one the feel of being in a country estate. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! Breakfast, lunch or dinner can also be served to you by the pool, in your room or front porch. Traditional English afternoon tea is available in the main house between 4 p.m. and 5 p.m. Dinner service will be available from our new restaurant opening April 15. 2017. Every Tuesday we host a Bermuda Rum Swizzle Party featuring calypso music. Our guests are offered daily complimentary round trip transportation to a popular south shore public beach. Rosedon also offers many packages year-round including Wedding, Romance & Spa, Anniversary, and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing