We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bermuda vacation”
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosedon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bermuda vacation”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

after reading all the reviews on all the hotels in Bermuda, I decided to choose the Rosedon for our vacation this fall. The hotel is really more of an inn or a very large B&B. I liked the idea that there was a pool at the property, shuttle service to the beach, and was walking distance to town and to the ferry and bus terminal (which we made full use of to explore the island).
The rooms are not luxurious but are nice, same for the bathrooms- no luxury, you are provided with robes and slippers and reasonably thick towels, but the toiletries are basic, and the bar is not top shelf. Breakfast is very good, and you can customize your food if you need to, but Tea time is a little busy and if you do not arrive "early enough" you might find yourself without a tea cup or without some cake.
With that said, it is a homey place. Everyone is extremely friendly and nice.- Many of the patrons are regulars, returning every year.
My husband and I found the Rosedon very peaceful, and enjoyed the fact that we were not at the big hotel across the street or any other large facility. We liked the quiet of this property and the fact that you could sit on the balcony all day and read or at the pool and read your email with the free wifi.
We would return to the Rosedon if/when we visited Bermuda again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelbyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We have noted areas for improvement. We are pleased to share that we have recently upgraded our bar offerings and are about to roll out a new amenity line for our bathrooms. So sorry to learn that our tea offerings were not adequate during your stay. Some days we literally have trays of goodies left over. So we will have to look at managing this bettter. We sure appreciate your honesty. We will be working on improving the Hotel services to ensure your next visit is an even better experience.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    84
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
79
296
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a long weekend at the Rosedon. Really more an inn than a hotel (think private, but not anonymous/ friendly and personal service, but not perfect). We were very comfortable and would return to the Rosedon in a minute (especially if they run a special again). We were in one of the "Luxury Rooms" which meant we had a king size four poster bed and a modern bathroom. The room was a bit dark, as the windows look out onto the buildings behind, but we are not travelers who spend much time in our room anyway expect to sleep. As for sleeping, the room was quiet and appropriately dark. We spent most of our time exploring the beautiful island and when at the hotel, in the pool, on the front porch or on our balcony. Typically hotels look better online than in person. For the Rosedon, the actual grounds are more beautiful and spacious than online. The pool is lovely, warm and clean, the front porch is a perfect gathering spot and the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help. The rooms are clean, the breakfast ample and quick to arrive at your room or wherever your choose to have it and the beds are very comfortable. Indicative of the atmosphere is that upon check in the staff apologizes that there is no full service dining room and instead they bring your breakfast to you. A stuffier place might play up the room service/"breakfast in bed" perk, but not the Rosedon. While service is not 5 star, especially on Sunday when the whole island slows down, (yes, you may have to carry some of your own bags to your room, you may have to ask for more towels at the pool, you will have to fetch your own drink at the pool - horrors!, they may run out of an item at the complimentary tea), no request is greeted with a grumble or denied. Respect the people who work here and work hard, and you too will have a smile on your face at the Rosedon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aselco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for this good review! Delighted to learn that you would return 'in a minute'. We would sure love to have you back. Our gardens are a wonderful oasis and we are glad they looked better than on line. So sorry to learn about our lack of services on the Sunday you were with us. One should never have to carry bags or look for towels. We have reviewed our staffing levels to ensure this does not happen again. What a good report to know our staff handled all requests with warmth and professionalism.
We will definitely have a few specials this year and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Rosedon six times for from 8 to 10 days each time. It is a lovely experience. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. It is not an inexpensive stay but we always come home feeling that we have had a relaxing ,civil ,charming and quality vacation. We really look forward to the daily breakfasts and the daily afternoon teas --they are quite special.The hotel is very central-- less then a 10 minute walk from downtown Hamilton.Usually we arrive on a Tuesday and leave 8 days later on a Wednesday. We do this purposely in order to attend 2 Swizzle parties which are held every Tuesday night at the hotel.
The Rosedon staff are welcoming,helpful and extremely professional.

Room Tip: Bermuda is a very beautiful destination with many scenic sites worth visiting. A visitor can not ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It is an honour for us to have been able to welcome you back for your 6th visit with us. What a recommendation! Our aim is to always maintain a very high quality standard and your continued return assures us we are doing just that.
How clever to ensure you get two Swizzle parties. We love having you with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your seventh visit to Rosedon.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sandwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have never stayed at a place like the Rosedon. From the wonderful breakfasts, high tea, rum swizzle party, and the friendliest staff on earth, The Rosedon is a place everyone should have the opportunity to experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeannePacheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are so happy you got to experience all of what we have to offer. Our aim is to be unique and hence we loved your comment regarding ' no place like it'. We also feel that everyone should have the opportunity to experience Rosedon.

We are sure glad you did and sincerely thank you for this good review.

We look forward to wecloming you back to 'the friendliest place under the sun'.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife treated me to five nights here during September and we loved every minute from the Champagne and fruit in our room to the charming and expert help from the Front Office to the free Swizzle Party on Tuesday!

Many thanks to Lesiline and all concerned (including Richard) for helping this to be a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HenryRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks for this good review! You have a special wife who ensured you had a wonderful time while visiting Bermuda. We were happy to be a part of making this happen! I will be sure to share your compliments with Lesiline and our office team. Glad you got to enjoy our Tuesday Swizzle Party also. We will continue to strive to be a fantastic boutique Hotel.

Please come back and visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Really friendly little place, very personal, and much nicer than the large pink monstrosity over the road ! It's in an excellent location, just a few minutes from the centre of Hamilton, and the ferry dock. Rooms are comfy and clean, there is a pretty and secluded little garden with a nice pool, the atmosphere is very relaxed, you can wander into the kitchens and help yourself on an honours basis, and they do a mean afternoon tea.

This was my first visit to Bermuda, and I would stay there again

Room Tip: We had a room at the back with a communal verandah overlooking the garden and pool, and I would cert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanSamways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for this good review and positive comparison! We do enjoy a good following of corporate clients also. Our intimate, personal setting ensures all guests are made to feel special. We love the fact you got to wonder into our kitchen and help yourself on an honour basis.
Your first trip to Bermuda sounds like you had a good time. Can't wait to welcome you back to Rosedon.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Rosedon is a lovely family-run hotel just off central Hamilton and behind the Hamilton Princess. Its location makes it good for sampling the delights of Hamilton and has easy access to buses and the ferries which leave from Front Street.

Standard rooms were comfortable with a verandah. There is a lovely garden and pool with pool towels and loungers. A tasty breakfast is served on your verandah, by the pool or on the front porch of the hotel. There's a complimentary afternoon tea (sandwiches, cakes and tea) served in the entrance hall and also a weekly swizzle night on a Tuesday with canapés.

All in all a great little find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank isobelb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for this positive review. We are happy to learn that you found our services and location to be a good find.
Our aim is to be Uniquely Bermudian!

Looking forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
816 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,885 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Property: Rosedon Hotel
Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, Rosedon Hotel is a charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. The main house is surrounded by lush tropical gardens with heated swimming pool and fountains offers a quiet place to relax. Each room features it’s own covered porch and private sitting area to take in the view. Rosedon renovated the entire main house inside and out in early 2017 and introduced a new restaurant called ‘Huckleberry’; a nod to Mark Twain. Some of our Hotel amenities include ‘Triple Filtered’ in room drinking water, a heated outdoor swimming pool, traditional afternoon tea and a Bermuda Rum Swizzle party every Tuesday evening by the pool. Guests are also offered daily transportation and access to a pink sand beach located on the South Shore. Our Rooms are individually decorated with European fabrics and feature different furniture and bed sizes. Some of our rooms feature baths while others have showers. We are also committed to being environmentally conscious through solar hot water, LED lights inside and out, waste reduction and recycling. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is available in our new restaurant ‘Huckleberry’, located in the main house and front porch. Room service is also available, served to the room, patio / balcony or at Pool side. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing