We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good little museum with some interesting items”

Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute
Ranked #10 of 63 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the wonders of the ocean without getting wet! Interactive exhibits for both young and old including The America's Cup exhibit, our new simulated dive into the Bermuda Triangle, our 'Living with the Ocean' exhibit which examines the human impact on the marine environment, one of the largest private shell collections in the world, the famous Teddy Tucker Shipwreck Gallery and so much more!
sherwood park, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“good little museum with some interesting items”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

there are a few interesting items in this small museum. the museum is well curated (although it seems like the displays are not rotated frequently). i tend to dwell at museums and yet i was able to go through this place in under an hour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    97
    23
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The history & adventures of Bermuda”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

After many years of planning to go to BUEI and never quite making it, today the pleasant walk along Front Street & into Crow Lane was well worth it. It's very quiet this time of year so it was wonderful to go around all the exhibits without being rushed or having screaming kids disturb the experience. It has now filled in many gaps in my knowledge of the island & more. Well worth a trip.

Helpful?
Thank liamrotoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Educational and Fun Experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a nice way to spend several hours in Hamilton, Bermuda. We went in mid-October and were the only guests in the museum. The invasive species exhibit was excellent. We also enjoyed the "submersible" trip bottom of the sea - fun!

Bus stops are nearby if you are using public transportation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a morning”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited the Institute on a recommendation from Heidi Cowan. It is well designed and very informative. The displays are interactive and very easy to use.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FCW116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lovely shell collection, fun time in the shark cage (kids would love it), fun in the simulated bathyscape. I wished my grandkids were there with us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandma_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute also viewed

 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing