We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Museum”

Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute
Ranked #10 of 63 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the wonders of the ocean without getting wet! Interactive exhibits for both young and old including The America's Cup exhibit, our new simulated dive into the Bermuda Triangle, our 'Living with the Ocean' exhibit which examines the human impact on the marine environment, one of the largest private shell collections in the world, the famous Teddy Tucker Shipwreck Gallery and so much more!
Southampton, Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I go here often with visitors and am never disappointed! The shell collection is amazing and the staff are always so kind and helpful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    96
    23
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hopedale, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“good place for a rainy day”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The BUEI is right in Hamilton. It has a lot of history in it. It rained out pretty hard one day and we just happened to be passing by it and decided to go in. The price is reasonable. It's not the most exciting place to be in BDA, but it's worth the trip if you can't spend the day outside.... It has one of the most extensive shell collections in the world......

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very informative and well done.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We both enjoyed the science. I thought the exhibits were very well done. My husband really enjoyed the sea shell exhibit and I like the dive ride.
This is probably better for adults and older children.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank swelgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Fantastic Shell Collection at the BUEI”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a great place for kids, families, grandparents with kids. And a great place for me as a solo traveler to hang out for a few hours during a nasty wind/rain storm. The shell collection alone is pretty amazing. There are many interactive exhibits, a wealth of information about shipwrecks and underwater dives. The "ride" is rather lame, especially in comparison to major theme parks, but the younger kids may get a kick out of it. There's a small gift shop on site, all museum docents were friendly and helpful. It's about a 10 minute walk to the core downtown Hamilton area. There wasn't food available for purchase the day that I was there, but I was also there off-season.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdventureLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lots of underwater history”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visit often, just went today again. Great for kids 8 and up but I've been taking mine since they were babies as not many indoor options in Bermuda. Lots of great things about Bermuda and shipwrecks. My kids like the "ride" which is really an elevator but you sit down and watch a 7 minute movie while the elevator moves. I wish they had more for little kids, more interactive stuff, but the place is every educational and there is a tiny carousel downstairs.
If you want to know more about the Bermuda triangle, then visit the BUEI!!! Lots of parking and also a great restaurant next door.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pinksailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute also viewed

 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing