We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A restaurant taking pride in the dishes they serve” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mad Hatters

Mad Hatters
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $42
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Hidden gem of a little restaurant, serving contemporary, fresh unique and inspiring cuisine.
London
Level Contributor
139 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A restaurant taking pride in the dishes they serve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

You definitely need to book to avoid being turned away hungry.
They provide a menu displaying an interesting range of dishes to suit all palates & then the waiter reels off a very comprehensive list of specials all of which sound delicious and tempting. Needless to say, you can't order all of them. What we eventually chose was exquisite - I had the jerk Wahoo, wife had scallops with chorizo. Even the accompanying vegetables were delicious. A fantastic taste - fresh, well prepared. Very reasonable too. Highly recommended.
If only they had a branch in London!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ian_the_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    116
    27
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Hard to get a reservation - Book Now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We tried last visit to get in and couldn't. On this visit, we did get in and were happy we did. Food is fresh and inventive. Many different sauces. Mark is world-class waiter, server, tour guide. Not too formal, but very gourmet. Prices reasonable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank David-on-the-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandys
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This restaurant never dissapoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Ben is a superb chef...This restaurant never dissapoints and is tremendous value for Beermuda! Suggest making reservations as it has a large following and is often full - for very good reason.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimSandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Level Contributor
190 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I don't know what it was but this restaurant just didn't sit very well with me. The food was OK and the ouside seating was OK but not comfortable for any length of time. Just can't put my finger on why it didn't really impress me.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“hats off to this teacup of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

once we actually found this restaurant we were pleasantly surprised. MH is located in a parking lot - so to speak. But with a courtyard atmosphere for dining outside, and a publike interior if weather doesn't permit outside. Luckily for us there were no nearby smokers - Bermuda being lax in prohibiting smokers from restaurant eating areas - especilaly outdoors,

The food was fresh and portions were well sized for the price. Much better food and service than we experienced in more upscale restaurants that week. The theme is Alice in Wonderland, and all kinds of hats were available for dining patrons to borrow and wear. Would have been more eclectic if servers wore tham and outfits, but we wnet there for the food and were very pleased.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Hatters also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Mad Hatters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing