We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit - did not disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pickled Onion

Pickled Onion
Ranked #9 of 101 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our second visit - did not disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a good experience at this restaurant two years ago, so we made a point to go back again on this trip. It was a hot day, and when we arrived we could be seated immediately outside, or wait 25 minutes for inside. Despite the heat, we didn't want to wait so we chose outside. It was fine - there was a nice breeze and the covered area provided shade. Our server was attentive, and was even able to make a substitution for me (corn tortilla instead of wheat) and so I had a delicious quesadilla. Others in my group had pizza and a salad, which were also very good. We will go back again, next time we get to Bermuda.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieDS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    547
    172
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
291 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Food with Bermudian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A great restaurant in Hamilton, Bermuda, on Front Street, just a block or so from where the ferries dock about every 30 minutes from the Royal Navy Dockyard, where cruise ships dock. The restaurant has a large assortment of foods, even with the Bermudian cuisine to taste. We had there pizza, which was thin crust and delicious. An additional item on the table is their Sherry/Rum Pepper Sauce, which you can actually buy to take home. It's great in soups and a variety of other dishes, especially seafood chowder, which was delicious at this restaurant. The staff was very cordial and even gave us a copy of their seafood chowder recipe. The restaurant has a full bar menu, featuring Bermudian specialty drinks, beers, wine, etc. The restaurant is located upstairs off Front Street, but the signage is well displayed on the street. Try the restaurant, it's clean, convenient, friendly, and the food is excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gdt655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
217 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“"The best place in town"...are you sure??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

After a long day of swimming(at Horseshoe Bay..nice) and of shopping and sightseeing,hunger pains started to be felt in my gangs bellies...so according to a local,we tried The Pickled Onion.
Sorta of a mix of pub food and local recipes mixed with a touch of europe and west indies and french and asian fusion...what a mix..I guess the meat eater in me enjoyed the food much more then my wife and daughter did and like they said.."the view and the atmosphere make up for the ordinary food...anyways..we are here..right Pops..??"
So,on my next cruise to Bermuda,i'll try another place,but if you enjoy a mix of every popular food then this place is for you and in bonus,from the terrace, you get a great view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontrealDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You gotta go to P.O!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Living in Bermuda, and visiting previously, P.O is a staple. I must say that we haven't eaten there, we tend to come for the nightlife and bartenders.

My boyfriend has been on the island quite some time and knows all of the bartenders, and they're very personable. Especially Rudy and John.

I would have to say that the best thing about P.O is Graffiti Park. Suzi & Kojo & Rob simply light up the stage. If you're dancing or singing and doing open mic, they make it work.

It does get very busy at times, and there is sometimes a wait for drinks, but for the majority of the time the service is stellar.

Suzi etc. made me feel very special on my birthday and they are genuinely good people, and great musicians and I look forward to seeing them everytime we go!

If you're visiting BDA this is a definite place to go regardless of the season.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmichellegriffit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pickled FunYun.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We're taking a long weekend for our first trip to Bermuda.

The Pickled Onion is right on Front Street in Hamilton, a short walk from our hotel, The Fairmont, Hamilton Princess. The reviews seemed mostly positive so we decided to give it a shot.

There are indoor and outdoor seating areas. The outdoor seating area has a great view of the harbor but it was a bit hot and humid without much of a breeze. We decided to sit indoors. There's still a view and we do love our air conditioning.

They serve rolls. We started with the fish tacos which were okay. For main courses we had the cheese pizza and the seared rockfish. The cheese pizza was simply that. The seared rockfish is described as macadamia crusted with a side of banana chutney and basmati rice (around $30.00). The macadamia crust was way too salty. For dessert we shared the brownie banana split. Nothing to write home about. I had a "Dark and Stormy" from the bar because it's Bermuda and that's what they drink here.

The service was pretty weak. They appeared to forget our drink order. The restaurant décor is kind of schizophrenic with some sort of "Tron-type" designs around the bar and accenting the booths set against a pub type atmosphere with quotes about drinking from the likes of Picasso, Henny Youngman and Earnest [sic] Hemingway. The clientele seemed to be a mix of families, nice locals and kids who had just disembarked from a booze cruise.

Our meal cost just under $100.00 including the included 17% gratuity.

Overall: About as special and as salty as a bag of FunYuns but much, much more, expensive. Keep moving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank csd02476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRGPresident, Owner at Pickled Onion, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear CSD2476,

Thanks for the honest feedback and which we will carefully review at our upcoming management meeting. We appreciate you candor and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickled Onion also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Pickled Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing