We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pickled Onion

Pickled Onion
Ranked #9 of 101 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were greeted by the DJ welcoming, "two pretty ladies" -- a little embarrassing but hey, it could be worse! Try the fish and ships -- excellent! Not too much batter. Light and clean tasting! Yum! Great pina colada too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fallbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    546
    172
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We asked a local to recommend a nice place for lunch. He directed us to the Pickeled Onion. The service was very efficient and the food delicious. The Asian Salad was exceptional with oriental noodles and a great sauce.

Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We sat on the balcony overlooking Front Street. It was a warm day and the balcony walls are closed so that no air can come through. The food was very good. We just had sandwiches. The atmosphere is nice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fritzala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good value food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent establishment and easy to find on Front Street. Had a quick bite to eat at lunch time - the famous Bermuda Chowder.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HenryRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Late dinner with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Met us with some old friends for dinner and drinks. Food was excellent. We had the calamari, fried snapper and tiger shrimps apps...all delicious. For entrees we ordered the beef satay and pork chops. Pork chops were awesome as we're the mashed potatoes. They had a few sauces with the satay, though none of them were spicy, which we were hoping for.

Nightlife...fantastic band set up during dinner and played for most of the evening. They did some great covers of oldies and new stuff...very impressed. At times I had to look up from the bar and remember I was not at their concert. Very good band. Nice wide bar with friendly bartenders. Would definitely come back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wxchic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickled Onion also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Pickled Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing