We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It tries very hard”
Review of Barracuda Grill

Barracuda Grill
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It tries very hard”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Trying very hard to be an upscale, trendt Top Chef like restaurant but the food doesn't quite make it. Lovely decor, lively bar. Fish chowder was best I had. Rockfish was average, girlfriends inner was OK but not spectacular. Skipped dessert. Would eat here again and recommend checking it out; unlike every other dinner we had in Bermuda the service was quick with little wait times between courses here, maybe even a little to quick on a night that wasn't that busy. Made reservations via email and was done with little difficulty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCDevsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    190
    58
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal of the trip”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

During our three nights, my wife and I ate dinner at Barracuda Grill, Mad Hatters and Victoria Grill and Barracuda was the best by far. The creativity of the menu, taste, presentation, service, and ambiance just made it a perfect experience. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, intimate oasis offering superb food and highly knowledgeable and welcoming staff.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been vacationing in Bermuda each April for a number of consecutive years, and have eaten at Barracuda several times. Though always excellent, it seems it just keeps surpassing itself. We look forward to arriving, settling in, then reserving a spot for one of our first dinners in Bermuda at Barracuda. We have found some very good wines there, and Colin, who has been our server, has been very helpful describing various wines. He has struck exactly the right point/counterpoint by way of offering intelligent, relaxed and friendly service while allowing just enough privacy. He "knows his food," and is probably a superb cook himself. When we raved about certain dishes, and asked about prep and ingredients, he even offered to write some things down for us. Great sense of humor, too.
Mike is a very competent and efficient manager, and we had great fun chatting with Jo and Colin one night after things slowed down a bit. Jo is friendly and a great server. Both she and Colin are Pro's.
This a small, botique-ish place with pretty appointments, and a touch of romance. The little bar at the top of the stairs has a nice swank-factor, too.
Consider the chicken dish seasoned with tandoori, the marscapone "cheesecake," and the exceptional grilled fig salad. Servers will typically bring a complimentary taste of something while you sip a wine or cocktail before the meal. We loved the baked, philo beggar's purse filled with a treat of Gorgonzola, roasted garlic and walnuts. A good one.
The food here is creative without being pretentious or overly ambitious. All the right and interesting pairings. Enjoy your time there, each time, as you will surely return, and soon. Bon Appetite!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasonone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic and Delicious!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing dinner at the Barracuda Grill on our recent trip to Bermuda. We would recommend this place 100x over. I had the snapper which was cooked perfectly and so flavorful and my husband had the Rib-Eye, which was amazing. We were very impressed with the attentive server. I'm so glad we came here because it made up for the mediocre meal we had our first night on the island (at the lobster pot-not recommended). Its pricey but not too bad and well worth it! We told the server we wanted to enjoy our meal and not have things come out quickly and they respected that. We will return here on our next trip to Bermuda! Thank you!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 809GHKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have eaten at Barracuda twice and can not sing its praises highly enough. I ate there in January 2013 the last time and it was a busy Saturday night, the staff had had a long shift but were still friendly and attentive.

The restaurant has a modern art deco feel to it, with a lively bar in the middle the lighting is dim and atmospheric, and the art work is sublime. The menu changes regularly and is full of fresh wholesome fish dishes which is what you want on an island renowed for its local fish. There are also some lovely steaks and meat dishes and alwyas a selection of specials. The staff really understand the food, and they know how to inform the customer.

I am always surprised that on such a small vibrant island where there is a lot of money there are so few good places to eat . But his is the best of them, if you are lucky enough to be on the island definitley make a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nolongerreviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Grill also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Barracuda Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing