We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restauarant Week”
Review of Bistro J

Bistro J
Ranked #27 of 105 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
St. George, Bermuda
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Restauarant Week”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

3 course meal for $29.95 plus grats and drinks. Choice of 4 starters, 4 main courses and 4 desserts! ine come in 4 different price categories. too. Good selection and the food was excellent. Service was very good and friendly. Nice ambiance too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere and excellent food”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I think this is my favourite restaurant in Bermuda. They do a fixed price menu which is very reasonable. The wines are at a good price point. I've had several delicious meals here - the menu changes daily, they do blackboard specials, usually 4 apps and 4 entrees. One of the most memorable was the eggplant parmigiana. Definitely get the cheesecake, its the best in Bermuda and made in house. I really like the atmosphere, its small and cozy and kind of off the beaten track. Its usually not too busy but if the restaurant is full I suppose it could get noisy but it's never been an issue for me. Service has always been prompt and polite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy on the salt puhlease!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Loud but cozy bistro. Unfortunately the food was mediocre at best. The chef is heavy handed on the salt which has probably ushered in high blood pressure for those who could stomach mouthfuls of sodium. I could not eat my meal even when it was brought back a second time and neither could a colleague eat theirs. Below average desserts except for cheesecake which I am guessing is bought from the outside. The fish tender appetizer was the only redeeming part of the entire meal. Nothing was done by management to make up for the dismal food. We will not be back to suffer again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDRS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inedible, oversalted dishes”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

2 fish dishes served to 2 different people were so over-salted they were inedible. Another dish, not described as being spicy was so spicy one bite would send a sensitive stomach to the bathroom for 3 days and would burn a spice lovers mouth for the entire meal. Cheesecake was great. No consideration or compensation or discounts given for meals that could not be eaten. Guess what? they share a kitchen with Port-O-Call, enough said.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hardtospankthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fine, But Nothing Spectacular”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Did the fixed price 3 course menu for $35.50 per person. Both had calamari with BBQ sauce starter. Calamari was bland and needed lemon or some seasoning. Portion was a good size, though.

I had flounder for main, which was delicious. Portion was small. Wife had steak and fries in a red wine sauce; steak was great, but fries were drenched in the red wine sauce, which made them very rich and not hugely enjoyable.

Dessert was very good. I had vanilla cheesecake and wife had chocolate brownie sundae, both of which were spot on.

Service was okay. We were not drinking and so just had water, but were asked if we wanted to buy drinks from the bar about five times, which became a little tiresome. Waiter was very serious and didn't try to engage us in any conversation. Haven't found waiting staff to be very friendly in Bermuda so maybe it's the way it is over here.

Total bill was just over $80 including tip. It represented fair value, but no more. Won't return as the starter and wife's main weren't too good.

Helpful?
Thank TwoRoflers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro J also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Bistro J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing