We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Locals Spot”
Review of Hog Penny

Hog Penny
Reserve with OpenTable
Hog Penny is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 104 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Locals Spot”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We did not dine at the Hog Penny. We went after dinner for drinks and fun.

We were told that this was a locals spot, not a tourist spot and they were right. It is a bit off the beaten path although very centrally located. We met a number of friendly locals in this very authentic British style Pub.

There was a local singer, known to almost all the patrons, playing guitar and singing songs. The locals were friendly, fun and very helpful. We had a great time and did not want to leave.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccakristfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    431
    119
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food and Local Character”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just right to get off a cruise ship and experience the local pub for a pint of any of the English Beer and some good Fish and Chips
Great staff knows how to treat you

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still as good as it was in 1964”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

GREAT fish chowder. It's your normal friendly pub with pub food and Bermuda hospitality. Good beer selection. Classic Dark & Stormys.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
289 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“good place for lunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were told to go here by the locals in Hamilton. It is a nice place for lunch. Plus there is free internet available for an hour. We were pretty desparate for internet after being on a cruise ship for three days. The onion soup was to die for. Salad was good. Did not eat much since we were dining later on the ship. Good atmosphere and easy to find near front street.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bjthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Located conveniently right off of Front Street (where the ferry dock is), the Hog Penny provides a wonderful meal. Per an interesting fact on the menu, the Hog Penny was the inspiration for the hit show "Cheers"! It is a British style pub, but offers classic Bermudian cuisine. We enjoyed the fish chowder and Wahoo burgers. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Penny also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Hog Penny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing