We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hog Penny

Hog Penny
Reserve with OpenTable
Hog Penny is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 104 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Attentive service, fun drink menu, authentic atmosphere, and bangin' bangers and mash! And a great selection of desserts.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terese333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    431
    119
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small but not to be missed”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Give this a try its fairly small but the food is great and the fish chowder soup is not to be missed

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrsn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun pub experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a drink before dinner. You are immediately made to feel welcome. Sat at the end of the bar and were warmly greeted by Andy. He made sure we were taken care of at all times and gave us tips for our three night stay. He was a great storyteller as well. We meant to come in for one and stayed for several. Great local experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ccdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went for lunch -- the food was great! Try the bison burger! Staff was also very nice. We'd definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D_Dubbs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surly bartender”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We love a good authentic English pub and had high hopes for the Hog Penny but were sorely disappointed. In fact, our experience flat out left a bad taste in our mouths. We had a much better experience at sister restaurant, The Frog and Onion, which has more of a "chain" feel but was more accommodating and welcoming.

We intended to spend a couple of hours at Hog Penny, having drinks and dinner. We liked the atmosphere when we walked in but were immediately turned off by the bartender's terrible attitude. He was unfriendly if not downright surly...we were immediately uncomfortable. We asked some questions about their various beers and, not only were they running low on inventory (which he told us with a very abrupt tone of voice), but the bartender had difficulty answering our questions. We must have looked perplexed, as he offered a rather flippant explanation that he hates beer. A personal preference is fine, but as a professional bartender, it doesn't excuse his lack of knowledge about his product.

He did allow us to taste before ordering, which was appreciated. But once we ordered, he disappeared, not to be seen again until he asked us to pay for our drinks since his shift was ending. While we had originally intended to stay for the evening, we agreed the establishment didn't warrant our business and decided to leave. We ate dinner at the Barracuda Grille, also a sister restaurant, which was wonderful, and helped us shake off our negative service at Hog Penny.

We recognize these restaurants are all related so the money essentially ends up in the same till, but we won't contribute via the Hog Penny route again in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRGPresident, Owner at Hog Penny, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Needless to say I am very dissapointed after reading your TA posting, especially considering how complimentary you were on two of our other establishments. I extend my personal apology for your experience, and I can assure you that is not our standard.
Please be confident that we will be reviewing your posting in full at our upcoming management meeting and will certainly be addressing it.

Thank you for your honest feedback.

Philip Barnett, President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Penny also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Hog Penny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing