We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional English Fare”
Review of Hog Penny

Hog Penny
Reserve with OpenTable
Hog Penny is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 102 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional English Fare”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went at a friend's suggestion and had a wonderful traditional lunch. It made us feel like we were really in England. The history of the name fascinated us also.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueGuppyFarnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    421
    118
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“English Pub in Hamilton”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from Bermuda on the NCL Breakaway. We docked on Wednesday, 8/28 and took the ferry to Hamilton, Bermuda. After a little sightseeing and souvenir shopping we decide lunch was in order. Saw the Hog Penny on a side street and decided to give it a try. Service was friendly. Food was excellent. Ambiance was perfect. However, prices for lunch were a "tad" high. Our bill came to $73.00 with NO alcohol for two people. This did include an 15% gratuity that is already added to your bill. You have no choice. As this was just one lunch, "oh well". But had we had to buy lunch every day we would not have returned to the Hog Penny.

My daughter had a pulled pork sandwich and I had a blackened shrimp cobb salad. We also had the tower of onion rings and shared a piece of nutella cheese cake. As we are originally from New York City, while the price was high, it wasn't unusual. Someone coming from the midwest or somewhere equally less pricey might find the prices hard to swallow.

We would go back for the food and ambiance for one meal, but could not afford to make it a regular eating place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
593 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Wonderful SERVICE, scrummy food, good early-evening atmosphere”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

our first experience (in the death throes of winter) were not good. despite this 'false start' we stopped in again last night and had a DELIGHTFUL meal, served by a great young man, Raj, who was very attentive to seeing that we all 'got what we wanted ".
Ever so sleepy now....but I would definitely return here! Nice food, fab service, nice organization of dining room. glAD we gave it a second look; raj's service was noteworthy, what with all the 'cruisies' in the place. as several tables left, they told him, 'great food' , 'nice job', etc. ; another good sign they've got their restaurant act together to please the 'masses' (i.e. the place was VERY BUSY. Harbor night & Wednesday = as packed as down town places get w/ cruise boats in).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Pub Food”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have rated this as excellent because of its value. It is certainly not fine dining, but at their prices you could not expect this. My wife and I had two good pub meals, a few drinks and got out for under $100, which for Bermuda is a steal. We also had the pleasure of listening to Will Black the resident singer who is very good and worth waiting for - he does not start until about 10pm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmPFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great pub food if you don't want a burger”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Actually had the chance to visit the Hog Penny twice during our stay (side note, finding lunch on Sunday afternoon is a bear!) Our first visit on Saturday was pretty satisfying - both the grilled cheese with it's hidden stash of pot roast, and the turkey paninni were great sandwiches, and we were easily able to trade halves and both get the best of both worlds. That Sunday, we ordered burgers and quickly made a pact to never order burgers from any of the Queen's conquests, current or past. It seems all of them simply have a bad burger. We should have known, we hoped otherwise. Our server for both days was the same, and he did an excellent job for us. Hog Penny will be revisited. The burgers will never ever be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Penny also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Hog Penny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing