We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cottage convenient to all St. George's...”
other travelers have booked this property
Kitchen/Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/Dining Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Kitchen/Dining Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Bathroom
Deck
Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
St Peters Royal Chapel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
St. George, St. George's Parish, Bermuda

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1234faste...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Julian should be ashamed”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
9
people found this review helpful

Shame on you Julian! Your behavior was totally unacceptable and of all Cottage amenities, only electricity and running water were accurate. You showed NO concern for your renters!

Anyone planning to rent this property, please beware.

Julian did not respond at all or on a timely basis to all critical questions:
No response to my 2 emails requesting information about transportation to the cottage. My call to his phone number led to a a message that the phone number was not available.

I contacted Trip Advisor who had the same problems!

Three days before arrival, Julian finally emailed, saying that he’d arrange for a driver to pick us up as the Cottage is difficult to find. I gave him our flight number/arrival information. I asked for a local phone number, no response.

The driver did NOT show! We had no local phone number, no address for the house, and no name for the driver. I had to email Julian since his phone did not work.

1st email response: “He should be outside arrivals with a sign, I have not heard back from him so I have to assume he has forgot.”

2nd email response: “If you do not hear back from me in the next 10 mins we have to assume something has gone awry. In that case please jump in a taxi.” Julian then proceeded to give the detailed instructions I asked for in the first place!

I missed these because we were leaving the now closing airport. Phone calls from him came from an unrecognizable phone number — not his. And no message was left. We had found a driver and, using the Trip-advisor map, managed to find the cottage.

The couple there to let us in was leaving, assuming we were not coming. They told us the Julian’s driver had not been as reliable as of late, and Julian WAS IN ENGLAND!

The Cottage had none of the information/services promised.
The couple had no advice re: things to do/see, responding vaguely “Oh, there are lots of things here.” The only thing they did know was how to turn off the cooker (oven). After they left, we found:

No map of the town (a junk drawer full of tourist information)
No cell phone for local calls
No directions to an ATM or grocery store
No emergency information — police, fire, hospital, ambulance, etc.
No smoke detector
No basic information about the house — air conditioner, dishwasher, cistern, technology, etc.

What we did find: non-working ceiling fan, broken wall switch, struggling AC.

Technology was not working, slow or non-existent.
WiFi was slow or did not connect at all: The couple confessed they were technologically inept and could not help. I sent an email to Julian — his response the next day:

“Try to reset the router by unplugging and reporting it up. I assume you are receiving a signal? Also confirm you are using the correct network, written on a piece of paper inside the media cabinet... I believe there are two networks, threadneedle and Threadneedle, one of which is a ghost network.”

Which one is the ghost? No response.

No television reception. There were 5 different remotes, but none for the TV. The couple said we were to use the DVD player instead and, yet again, no instructions.

No cell phone for local calls. The couple expressed surprise that there was ever a phone. Julian’s response:

“If the phone is not in the drawer and is not anywhere obvious (perhaps in the media cabinet) then I can only assume it has been accidentally removed by a previous guest which has happened a couple of times. I will ask Mike (a friend) to look into it, though unfortunately that will not help you much.”

He followed up by saying that he had discontinued service as it had been abused in the past and suggested that we purchase a sim card!

The Cottage was dirty: A filthy tower fan for supplementing the AC, spider webs in the bathroom over the bed, spider eggs next to the bathroom door; TV cabinet so dusty it took my breath away,

My parting words to Julian:
After the driver debacle, Julian responded “I’m glad you are settled now and hope it does not detract from your time in Bermuda.”

Julian, It not only detracted, it foreshadowed the entire experience with your property: dismal, deficient & disappointing.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riwandere...
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice cottage convenient to all St. George's charms.”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Cottage is located close to everything to do in St. George's, as well as bus to Hamilton. End of April ferry service to the Dockyard begins. Nice bathroom (fun shower) and great kitchen that meets all your needs if you choose to cook breakfast or other meals. Nice garden area with high top table and 2 stools. Two lounge chairs too old to use so needed a couple new chairs or chaises. Great to have washer and dryer. Very enjoyable stay and will definitely go back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JClark77
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really is a Cute Cottage”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband & I spent 4 nights in this cute cottage. It had everything we needed including umbrellas for a rainy afternoon. The bed was comfortable and the shower very nice. The washer and dryer allowed us to pack light. Everything from a grocery store, restaurants, ferries, busses, & beaches are just a few minutes walk away. There were only a few problems: the tank ran out of water one night and we needed to wait for Julian (the very personable owner) to drive over and switch to the other and the AC is some what chilly if you sit on the sofa-sleeper in the living room to watch TV . However, neither of these things would prevent us from renting this cottage again as we really enjoyed the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: some areas could have been a bit cleaner
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2015
Thank you, it was a pleasure to meet you and have you stay. You are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage in a quaint town”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and I spent 3 nights in Threadneedle Cottage. The cottage is exactly as you see it in the photographs and everything you could possibly need or want is provided. The location is perfect, about 3 minutes from the square. We explored the town, enjoyed early morning walks round the headland, joined the walking tour and watched the sunset out on a sailing yacht. Julian organised a taxi for us and a cell phone was provided for our use.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene_th...
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice cottage, centrally located in St. George”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Threadneedle Cottage for 2 weeks. Overall, we really enjoyed the stay. The cottage is well located, within walking distance of all of St. George, including Somer's Market for grocery, Tobacco, Achilles and St. Catherine's beaches. Needle and Thread Lane is located in a quiet residential area.

Arrival and departure was seemless, in fact Julian arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport entrance. Further, our flight leaving Bermuda didn't depart til the evening, and because there were no tenants arriving the day of our departure, Julian graciously allowed us to stay in the cottage til late afternoon. The provision of a cell phone was great, and we used it to sort out minor issues with Julian during our stay, scooter issues with Oleander cycles and arrange for a taxi ride to the airport. It allowed us to forego buying local sim cards for our smart phones. The internet service was consistent and fast. It allowed us to stay connected with home. Julian addressed minor issues promptly.

We cooked the high majority of our meals in the kitchen, which is very well appointed and stocked with cooking utensils. We enjoyed having afternoon drinks on the deck. It is well oriented to receive the afternoon sun. The only thing we can think of that would have improved it would be a propane barbecue, as we really like to grill. The washer and dryer were very useful, allowing us to travel with minimal clothes.

Overall, we would stay at the Threadneedle Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethebarn...
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Charm in a great location”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
5
people found this review helpful

My mother and I stayed here over Thanksgiving. She had the bedroom, I slept on the daybed in the living room. While the cottage is small, it's very livable. The bathroom is quite modern (great shower!) and the kitchen has everything you could want or need. I found the daybed quite comfortable.
The best thing about this cottage is the location. You're about a five minute walk, at most, from the town square and harbor at St. George's. The Bermuda Perfume Factory is just around the corner; the unfinished church is five minutes the other direction; Tobacco Bay is 10 minutes or so at most. If you're a history buff, St. George's is definitely the place to stay and this cottage is a great choice.
Julian was very good to work with -- questions promptly answered, both ahead of time and when we were there. He helped with airport transport as well. Very good experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location -- convenient to everything.
Liked least: Couldn't figure out the TV; not an issue for me, but it was for my mother.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2014
So glad you had a good time and the place looked absolutely fabulous when you left!!
Many thanks and please come again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo W
Poole
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the best locations on Bermuda”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed a week in the little cottage and it is in one of the best locations on Bermuda. St George is a gem of a place full of history and most picturesque. St George definitely deserves its UNESCO accreditation. The buses, shops and restaurants are a short walk through the meandering alleys. The beautiful Tobacco Bay is a 15 minute walk over the hill and this really is snorkeling heaven. We were there in the off season so the beach cafe's were all closed but this did have the added benefit of deserted beaches. The water temperature was still warm enough to swim comfortably. There are about 5 different bus routes from St George which is on the east side of the island to Hamilton and access to the west side and south beaches. The buses are cheap if you buy a pack of tokens - about $2 single. A $4 token will take you all the way to Dockyard including a trip on the water ferry. We don't recommend a bike or moped as the roads are very twisty and narrow. We are keen walkers and one of the down sides was the lack of pavements on the island - so you are safer on the buses which run to time. We crammed a lot into our week and 3 days were spent exploring St George - they organise a re-enactment of a 17th century trial and ducking of the nagging woman, plus town walks which are well worth doing. They organise a lot of free activities on different days across the island so a visit to the Visitor's centre is a must. One of our memorable walks was round the eastern headland and taking in Gates Fort, Fort William, Gates Bay (where the Sea Venture went aground) and Fort St Catherine. A visit on the number 6 bus to Clearwater bay, Turtle Beach and Cooper island is also recommended.
The cottage is well equipped with all mod cons including washing machine, tumble drier, dishwasher, large cooker, microwave etc. The provision of a cell phone to maintain contact with owner was a good idea as we did have a few plumbing problems that were dealt with. It is in a very quiet location with the main noise coming from the tree frogs! We did have similar problems to those reported by another visitor with leaking bedroom roof when it rained hard. So make sure you move clothes away from the hanging area if it does rain hard as they are likely to get wet (but you do have the tumble drier if that happens). After the hurricane and storms we did have a few visitations from the local rodent/insect community which the owner is currently sorting out.

Altogether a very memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The walks around the town
Liked least: Lack of pavements
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing