We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming apartment in a lovely vedanta home”

Review of Crooked Elbow

Front entrance and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance and garden
Sitting room/dining room Bedroom with queen bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Front entrance and garden
Sitting room/dining room
Bedroom with queen bed
Kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave etc
Living room with cable TV
Achilles Bay in St George's
St Catherines Beach in St George's
Tobacco Bay in St George's
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St. George, St. George's Parish, Bermuda

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
HappySalt...
Salt Lake City, UT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming apartment in a lovely vedanta home”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were amazing at the roomy apartment. We celebrated our 50th anniversary there. The owners were very gracious and friendly. The kitchen had enough applicances and cooking supplies avaiable to make cooking there very convenient. We cooked mostly all our meals. The grocery store, which was just a few minute walk, had adequate supplies. Loved their steaks and chocolate biscuits. At our age, we really appreciated their very comfortable furniture. It was nice to relax in the evening to watch the cable TV in a beautifully decorated living room. We had pleasant walks to a couple beaches nearby and with free bus tickets, we were off to the other parts of the island enjoying various outings. They even had free for laundry service down the street which was another plus. Over all, we must say that Crooked Elbow is a great place to stay. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole property was so inviting. I like the little lady who lived there. She was delightful!
Liked least: Since we live in semi-arid Utah, the humidity was a big change for me.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan D
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You could not do better than Crooked Elbow”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We had the great delight of spending two weeks at Crooked Elbow in late March this year. It could not have been better. The apartment is ideal for a couple and very comfortable. The location can't be beaten. You have a walk of 100 yards to the bus stop to connect to the whole island, you have a Laundromat at the corner of your street, and a nifty grocery store is just around the corner. On top of that, you're in St. George, a beautiful historic area where everyone is friendly. The owners were gracious and accommodating and could not have been nicer. We love Bermuda and loved this apartment and would unqualifiedly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: bedsheets
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonYaY...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming and comes with island bus pass”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed a month at Crooked Elbow. It is a charming one bedroom apartment in an excellent location in St George.
We used the small kitchen for cooking many suppers and having breakfasts and some lunches. There are ample dishes and some pots and pans - could use a new large frying pan as theirs is quite warped.
Apartment has great space - we especially enjoyed eating in the sun room and having wine or coffee on the lovely small patio/porch. Living room has a couch and two wingback chairs plus TV. Apartment has good wifi connection.
Location is excellent: the laundromat is about a three minute walk; bus stops to get all over the island are a 5 minute walk as is the local grocery store which can easily supply your needs. For larger selection, we took a 15 minute bus ride to the Market Place at Shelly Bay. Best thing about this rental? It comes with 2 free transportation passes good on all busses and ferries. The bus system is excellent, scenic, and you can explore the entire island this way. Highly recommend it over renting scooters!
Mrs. Rowe is an absolute delight! If you're looking for a Holiday Inn/hotel experience and must have a dishwasher and the most modern of everything - this is not for you. But if you want the experience of living in a charming rehabbed historical home in a World UNESCO Site, at a very reasonable price, Crooked Elbow is the place!
For those renting in the summer, the bedroom is air conditioned and the owners had folks come in to measure and look at air conditioning units for the living room and kitchen - don't know if or when that will happen. Obviously no need for them in February. And by the way, a Bermuda winter is perfect for hiking, walking, exploring the island - no crowds, no cruise ships, and many winter specials in terms of activities. We loved it! We'd much rather walk the beaches and be a part of the community than deal with the crowds of high season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, free transportation passes, charming rehabbed historical home.
Liked least: would have liked a dishwasher and a newer large fry pan. But this is really minor in comparison to how much we liked this place and living in St George.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riwandere...
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost like living in Bermuda vs. vacationing as a tourist!”
Reviewed October 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We've visited Bermuda numerous times since getting married there 20 years ago but really felt like we were living there and not just vacationing. Crooked Elbow was exactly as described. It was quaint and comfortable and very clean. It was unusually humid during our stay so lack of air conditioning (except in the bedroom, thankfully) was uncomfortable. During the steamy periods, we enjoyed the lovely patio and a cool drink or used the fans provided. Our hostess, Ann Rowe, was very friendly and considerate in meeting our needs. A great place for breakfast was the CV Cafe and we enjoyed some excellent pizza at Tavern by the Sea. We had a memorable seafood dinner at the Beach House near Fort St. Catherine at sunset. Transportation was very easy and convenient with bus and ferry. We will definitely enjoy returning to Crooked Elbow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: An affordable way to have a longer stay in Bermuda.
Liked least: Lack of total air conditioning (thankfully, bedroom was air conditioned)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene_th...
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice apartment, centrally located in St. George's”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment is in an excellent location in St. George's. It is a 15 minute walk to Tobacco Bay, Achilles Bay and St. Catherine's (Gates) Bay beaches. The waterfront, with all amenities including a well stocked supermarket, is 5-10 minutes walk. The bus stop is one block away. The accommodations were clean. During our stay, the weather was unusually warm and humid; the small air conditioner in our apartment could not keep up with the midday heat, meaning it was difficult to cool down at times. Multiple fans are available to help move the air around. That is the only downside that we could see. In cooler weather, obviously this wouldn't be an issue. Sleeping was not a problem, as the air conditioner is located in the bedroom. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. The two complimentary transit passes for bus and ferry travel were a great addition and saved us a good deal of money. Communications and dealings with the owner during the booking and arrival processes were excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoKayake...
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best way to stay in Bermuda”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This was our 4th trip to Bermuda and probably our favorite visit. St Georges is a wonderful part of Bermuda and staying at the Crooked Elbow made it even more special. We felt like we were staying in "old world" Bermuda just steps away from all that the town of St. Georges offers- shops, restaurants, beaches, nice hiking trails and easy access to the rest of Bermuda by bus or ferry. On previous trips we had always stayed at resorts, but on this trip we decided to spend a few days in a private rental apartment. We chose the Crooked Elbow based on its location and the previous reviews and we were quite pleased with our stay. The Crooked Elbow met all of our needs - plus. We had plenty of space, a nicely equipped kitchen, Wi-Fi, a wonderful outdoor patio where we could sit for breakfast and in the evening to hear the tree frogs sing, and a helpful, onsite owner who respected our privacy but made sure that we had what we needed to enjoy our stay. In addition, one of the nicest features about the Crooked Elbow for us was the use of kayaks for a very reasonable fee. We went kayaking twice during our stay and loved it. We were really able to explore the "natural" side of Bermuda this trip by kayaking and hiking a number of trails in the St. Georges area. If you are looking to stay in the town of St Georges, we would recommend the Crooked Elbow. Everyone who has stayed there seems to have loved it, and so did we. We are already considering our next trip to Bermuda and will plan to stay at the Crooked Elbow again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, outdoor space, kayaks
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandK2014
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable, convenient, private and spacious accommodations in St. Georges.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
7
people found this review helpful

We totally enjoyed Crooked Elbow. It was convenient to downtown St. Georges, a great snorkeling beach, restaurants and the Railway Trail. We highly recommend a bus pass (ferries are included) as bus is by far the best way to get around. Make sure you tell the drivers where you are headed and they'll take care of you. The best restaurant we found in St. Georges was the Wahoo on Water Street. The Pickled Onion on Front Street in Hamilton is also outstanding. Do not miss Hidden Gem Tours. The owner and primary guide, Ashley, is extremely knowledgeable and a sweetheart. We saw places only locals would know to access and learned an incredible amount of history and local flora and fauna. Be advised that food in Bermuda is very expensive. The beauty of Crooked Elbow was that we could fix a breakfast each day, walk to the market to get fixins and do a meal in the evening, if we chose; so nice to sit in the garden over a muffin and coffee or a simple dinner with wine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the privacy, walking distance to downtown and bus stop and the private garden.
Liked least: Property could use some updating.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing